We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“pamper and relaxation”
Review of Hazel Manor

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hazel Manor
Ranked #1 of 83 Harrogate B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 10, 2013

A warm welcome, tea/coffee and home made scones, fresh cream and I think homemade jam, yum! just what we needed. Stayed for 4 nights, loved the thick squishy, lemon scented towels, and soft bath robes. The room was perfect, even I slept well, so quiet and calm. Breakfast was perfect, kicking off with homemade smoothie (different flavour every day. Impressive) and then what ever we requested from the menu, perfectly executed by Janet the chef. My particular favourite being the mushrooms! totaly magic. We attended a wedding at Ripley Castle during our stay, that was a lovelly day. we also explored the local area on our bikes. Janets home made cookies on our return were second to none. Totaly enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: the small room was extremely quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank susan g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janet H, Owner at Hazel Manor, responded to this reviewResponded September 10, 2013

Many thanks for taking the time and trouble to write such a glowing review of your stay with us at Hazel Manor. Many of our guests stay here because its close proximity to Ripley Castle and all that it offers , for events or just a lovely place to visit. We also do our very best to accommodate cyclists , as I am sure you will attest there are numerous picturesque cycle rides in the environs (which is probably why the Tour De France opening stage will be here next year. Both Janet and I enjoyed having you stay and would love to welcome you back in the future. With our Best wishes Paul and Janet

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (330)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

243 - 249 of 330 reviews

Reviewed September 8, 2013

The Cricket may have been a washout, but our stay at Hazel Manor certainly wasn't. Janet and Paul were the perfect hosts from the moment we arrived. HM has been lovingly restored and now the old sits very well with the new and contemporary. The rooms are very comfortable and beautifully decorated.
Janet's breakfast is not to be missed, the Eggs Benedict were quite possibly the best I have had.
A fantastic find, we will be back next year for Eng vs India lets hope the sun shines next time.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chigley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janet H, Owner at Hazel Manor, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2013

We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us despite the cricket at Headingly being cancelled due to the inclement weather. We would of course be delighted if you chose to stay with us for next years test match with India (we might even come along with you) . With our best wishes Janet and Paul.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights with our teenage daughter for our 20th Wedding Anniversary. It was our second visit and once again it did not disappoint. We stayed in the spacious larger room with our daughter and everything was lovely. The breakfasts were amazing, my daughter and I thoroughly recommend the pancakes and maple syrup! Janet and Paul's hospitality is second to none, we had a lovely cream tea on arrival and home baked cookies in the room. We had a really lovely weekend and will definitely be returning!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janet H, Owner at Hazel Manor, responded to this reviewResponded September 9, 2013

Thank you again for your kind words and the very positive review of your stay with us at Hazel Manor. We would love to welcome you back again . With our best wishes Janet and Paul

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2013

We had a 4-day-stay here with our child. (12y). It was so brilliant!!! We are travelling in GB since 10 years for our summer holiday. We had a lovely warm welcome with excellent homemade brownies and tea. The room is fabulous, there is everything you need (tea, homemade cookies, excellent organic drinks, the best designed weather forecast with organic chocolat, ...very good hints for hiking and what's on in the area). We slept in the very best beds available in GB and had the very best breakfast available in GB with the very best available service in GB. Janet is an excellent 10 star-chef and Paul is an excellent 10 star server. We enjoyed our stay, we had great days out in the Yorkshiredales. In summary it was a perfect, fantastic, brilliant, extraordinary stay with Janet and Paul!!! We definitely will come back
Thank you Janet and Paul for the great time
Eva, Holger and Amadeus from Germany, Nuernberg

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amadeuserl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janet H, Owner at Hazel Manor, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2013

Thank you for the "very best " review . We are somewhat overwhelmed by the kindness of your words and the glowing review of your stay with us. It was a pleasure having you stay with us and we must thank you very much for the kind gift of our favorite cheese the day you left .We do hope that you come to visit next time you are here again in the United kingdom. With our best wishes Janet and Paul

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2013

My husband and I booked a one night stay here for our 10th Wedding Anniversary, we like Harrogate and the Tripadvisor reviews sounded perfect.
I have to say we were not in the least bit disappointed! This is a recently restored original manor house, and both the grounds and the quality of the inside are fantastic. With only 2 rooms on a B & B basis we chose room 1 , the larger of their rooms and were really very pleased with it. It was a spacious room with a large window seat overlooking the surrounding countryside. The attention to detail in the room was second to none, with home made cookies in a jar, Betty's hot chocolate sachets and a tin of spare toiletries and bits and bobs in case you were to forget them.
The owners Paul and Janet made us feel so very welcome from the moment we arrived. We arrived earlier than usual check in so didnt expect to do anything other than leave our car and head off into town for some lunch, but our room was ready ahead of schedule, and we were offered tea and home made scones for later in the afternoon should we want them. When we did return from Harrogate we decided to take advantage of their beautiful garden, and sat for over an hour with a bottle of wine on their decking next to the pond. It was so relaxing.
after heading back into Harrogate for a meal in the evening (at a pub recommended by Paul & Janet), we returned to find the bed had been turned back, blinds and curtains drawn, and a chocolate and weather forecast on our pillows! Oh, and an Anniversary card from them. Very thoughtful indeed. Breakfast the next morning was also 5 star! Janet is a trained chef, and we were given a fresh fruit smoothie followed by an amazing full English breakfast, absolutely delicious! The manor house is not signposted from the main road, so you do need to download the directions they send through to you, however the fact it is tucked away down a track means you feel as though you are in another world...I cannot rate this highly enough, and only wish we could have stayed longer!! A must for stays in the Harrogate area

Room Tip: Room one is lovely and spacious!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jill N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janet H, Owner at Hazel Manor, responded to this reviewResponded September 2, 2013

Thank you for the lovely review of your stay with us at Hazel Manor. To sit out in the garden by the pond early evening is a real treat and a bit later we have the show by the bats swooping down to catch the pond surface flies. We do hope that you might wish to stay again the future should you be in the area . With our best wishes Janet and Paul

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 18, 2013

We stayed here for four nights in early August and really must agree with everybody else. Janet and Paul's welcome was sincere and friendly, the room (we had the smaller of the two) very comfortable with a fantastic bed. The breakfasts were superb with top-notch ingredients - I think we let the side down by not eating quite enough!

What we liked about Hazel Manor was the fact that it is only a couple of miles from Harrogate but feels as if it is right out in the country. You turn off the busy main road and are immediately in another world (thank you, by the way, for the excellent directions including a photograph of where to turn in at the gate!)

We were given every kind of advice e.g. about local places to eat, train times and the like. It's worth mentioning that Hazel Manor is very accessible even for those without a car as there is an excellent bus service from the centre of Harrogate almost to the gate.

Janet's scones were wonderful - a very indulgent cream tea (not on arrival, as we were a bit late in the day, but a couple of days later when we got back from the Turkish Baths).

We'd certainly return if we come back to the area - highly recommended!

Room Tip: Both rooms are very good although the larger room is obviously more spacious(and has a nice bay wind...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank The_Baptist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janet H, Owner at Hazel Manor, responded to this reviewResponded August 27, 2013

Thank you for writing such a lovely review of your stay with us at Hazel Manor. We enjoyed your company and would love to welcome you back in the future. With Best wishes Janet and Paul

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2013

Having stayed here last year (see our previous review) Hazel Manor will always be our first and only choice when visiting the Harrogate area. We booked at the last minute as a birthday treat and were very lucky they had a room available due to a cancellation. This place is very special and stands head and shoulders above all of the competition.

Hazel Manor is no doubt one of the best B&Bs not just in Harrogate but the whole country! Janet and Paul have added a few extra flourishes and new furnishings since our last visit and nothing is too much trouble for them. Tea and Janet's home-made scones on arrival was a lovely touch and the breakfasts are exceptional - better than most 5-star hotels we have stayed in. Wished we could have stayed longer and can't wait to return.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JillandPaul38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Janet H, Owner at Hazel Manor, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2013

Thank you for choosing to stay with us for a second time and for writing such a positive review of your stay. We know that you love staying in Harrogate and it was a pleasure having you here again. We do hope that the plant survived the perils of the journey back to the Midlands and we look forward to a progress report on your next visit. With our best wishes Janet and Paul

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Harrogate
1.9 mi away
Ascot House Hotel Harrogate
2 mi away
Kimberley Hotel
Kimberley Hotel
#8 of 28 in Harrogate
1,774 reviews
2.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Harrogate
Crowne Plaza Harrogate
#6 of 28 in Harrogate
292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2 mi away
Acorn Lodge Harrogate
Acorn Lodge Harrogate
#2 of 83 in Harrogate
461 reviews
1.9 mi away
The Bijou
The Bijou
#5 of 83 in Harrogate
553 reviews
6.1 mi away
Goldsborough Hall
Goldsborough Hall
#1 of 15 in Knaresborough
410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hazel Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hazel Manor

Address: Hazel Manor Ripon Road | Killinghall, Harrogate HG3 2AY, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Harrogate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 83 B&Bs / Inns in Harrogate
Price Range: $146 - $198 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hazel Manor 5*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1857 and located just north of Harrogate in the village of Killinghall, lower Nidderdale, Hazel Manor offers a luxurious Five Star Bed and Breakfast experience. Hazel Manor is perfectly situated for those visiting the Harrogate conference centre for business, those tempted to sample the delights of the Yorkshire dales or for those just planning a slow and lazy weekend in the countryside. The owners Janet and Paul look forward to welcoming you to their home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hazel Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hazel Manor Harrogate, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing