We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional - Think about the best elements of all the hotels and B & B's that you have stayed in, all the things that you thoug”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hazel Manor

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hazel Manor
Ranked #1 of 100 Harrogate B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Exceptional - Think about the best elements of all the hotels and B & B's that you have stayed in, all the things that you thoug”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2013

We stayed as a family for four nights, taking the two rooms in April. We have stayed in many hotels and B & B's and this was certainly the best ever stay we have had by any measure. Paul and Janet are the perfect hosts (and children) and as soon as you arrive the experience begins with homemade scones and tea in the sitting room. The children were made to feel very welcome and appreciated the personalised cookies that greeted them in our room. The rooms are of the highest quality from the beds, the pillows to the toiletries and furnishings. It is the little things which Paul and Janet have thought of which whilst others could do it, they don't and it makes such a difference. This included a jar of homemade flapjacks in each room, water and a soft drink and fresh milk daily in a thermos flask.

It is no surprise that the breakfasts have won awards and there is no doubt in our mind that as others come to visit, including critics, more awards will surely follow. The presentation, quality and cooking was exceptional. The fresh smoothie each morning was great for the children who each morning peered over the balcony in the hall upstairs to the table below to try and guess the smoothies flavour! We will never be able to buy shop bought pastries again as we have now experienced what they can taste like.

We are already thinking about when we can next visit Yorkshire and stay at Hazel Manor.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SuffolkFive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hazelmanor, Owner at Hazel Manor, responded to this review, April 14, 2013
We are speechless; thank you for such kind words and such a comprehensive and positive review.

We really do look forward to welcoming you back to Hazel Manor again in the future ! ( my son has found a new online friend)

Sincerely Paul and Janet
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

304 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    299
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
22
229
8
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Derby, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2013

We have visited Harrogate on many occasions and have stayed in some lovely accommodation over the years but have never before received such a warm and friendly welcome as we did at Hazel Manor. On arrival we were treated to tea and homemade scones which were delicious as was the breakfast the following morning with an extensive choice available. Room 1 was such a beautiful spacious room, extremely comfortable combined with a lovely compact ensuite shower room. Really loved all the little extras too - homemade biscuits, good choice of teas/coffee and especially the chocolates left on the pillow together with a weather report for the next day - attention to detail first class. We had a really lovely time. Many thanks Janet and Paul for looking after us so well - hope to be back again with you soon.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LynnP553
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hazelmanor, Owner at Hazel Manor, responded to this review, April 11, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write such a glowing review of your stay at Hazel Manor.
It was a pleasure to have you stay with us, your comments on the "fine detail" are greatly apreciated; it's so rewarding when our guests notice and furthermore comment on our efforts.

Thank you, Janet and Paul .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2013

My husband and I spent two nights at Hazel Manor just before Easter. It was a perfect place to stay and suited our tastes to perfection. The room was comfortable and beautifully decorated with a hand drawn piece of art that was so individual and unusual. Janet has many talents, as an artist, sculptor and of course chef. The breakfast was wonderful and we enjoyed the lazy afternoon teas with warm freshly baked scones in front of the log fire. The weather was cold and it snowed and we hoped to be snowed in! We followed Janet and Paul's recommendations for food and had some lovely meals. An experience I would like to repeat before not too long, thank you Janet and Paul! x

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarieS840
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hazelmanor, Owner at Hazel Manor, responded to this review, April 3, 2013
Thank you for such a positive review of your Easter break . We are so glad that your *special* birthday was well ,special. We are so pleased that you would consider us for a future stay too and look forward to welcoming you again in the future. Janet and Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lytham St Anne's, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2013

Stayed for one night at Hazel Manor. Was a real treat, beautiful property which had been lovingly renovated by our hosts. Tea and home-made cake on arrival, very pretty room (room 2) with a view over the garden. Comfortable bed, fluffy towels, great shower, home-made biscuits by the bed - what more could you ask for! Had an meal in the local pub which was 10 mins walk away and returned to find the front of the house lit by fairy lights and tea-lights - very pretty and welcoming on a dark rainy night. Also, an ice bucket and glasses were provided for the wine we brought and we had a little chocolate left on our pillow which was a lovely touch. The breakfast was amazing, my husband had the full cooked breakfast and I had American Pancakes and Maple Syrup which were delicious, there were also, croissants, pastries and cereal on offer and some lovely fresh fruit.
Lovely location in the countryside but only a short trip to the shops in Harrogate.
We would definitely stay here again and are planning a trip back in the summer with our young daughter. Thank you to hour hosts for a lovely stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hazelmanor, Owner at Hazel Manor, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Thank you for such kind words in your review.

It was a pleasure to have you stay here with us here at Hazel Manor. Given the weather was quite poor during your stay we are glad that this didn't spoil your stay and we look forward to seeing you again in the summer .

Janet and Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Letchworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
227 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I stayed here for one night on the way to Scotland. On arrival, home made lemon drizzle cake and tea. Very welcome! Janet and Paul told us about local places to eat. Lovingly restored house with large size well equipped and tastefully decorated rooms. Excellent shower and good quality toiletries. Slept very well on very comfortable bed. Excellent breakfast with plenty of choice including a choice of bacon! Definitely recommended!

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank billobe1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hazelmanor, Owner at Hazel Manor, responded to this review, March 20, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write such positive reviews both on here and booking.com . We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and as a result of your stay and feedback we have decided to permanently provide a wine cooler with glasses in each of our rooms and have an ice bucket available should our guests bring their own champagne with them.

We'd love you to consider Hazel Manor should you be in the area again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013

We stayed at Hazel Manor one night in March 2013, we was welcomed with tea and home made cake on arrival which made us feel very welcome. Excellent location (Close to Harrogate) The Manor was definitely impressive with the lovely views surrounded gardens, We stayed in Room one which was very spacious, to a very high standard, with all the little finishing touches to make you feel at home, all in all fantatic room. Paul and Janet was helpful in providing any information we required regarding local places to visit and where to eat. (providing us with torches to walk into the village). The breadkfast was awesome and presented to a very high standard. Hazel Manor was welcoming, relaxing and a pleasant enviroment, we would like to thank Paul and Janet for there hospitality and would recomend Hazel Manor to our friends and family.
Thank You Paul & Janet - Roy A

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Roy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hazelmanor, Owner at Hazel Manor, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Thank you for your very kind words and despite the poor weather overall such a positive review. It really is our pleasure to have guests stay with us at Hazel Manor who embrace it , nuances and all . We are so pleased that you enjoyed your short stay with us and hope that you do think of us for a return visit in the summer to stay and for a leisurely afternoon drink in the garden by the pond. Finally many thanks for your kind gift , it came as a surprise and whilst not expected was very gratefully received.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston upon Thames, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2013

When you look at the reviews of a venue and they are all excellent, at the back of your mind is the thought "surely it can't be that good". I booked for a 3 day sculpture course with Janet, and over the nect 3 days I became convinced that the other reviewers were all correct and Hazel Manor was as exceptional as I had hoped. The attention to detail in the accommodation was amazing, and the quality of Janet's breakfasts (using only the very best locally sourced ingredients) was amazing along with the wonderful cakes and soups served.
Despite trying to watch my waistline I managed to gain a couple of pounds during my visit, and I dont regret an ounce of it!
The welcome that I recieved from Paul, and Janet and their family, made me feel very much at home, and I am delighted with the stone sculpture that I took home with me.
I have been so inspired by Janets tuition, that I have already purchased a large block of marble and a set of stone sculpturing chisels for my next piece.
I will definitely be returning to Hazel Manor, but next time I will be taking my wife with me.
Go on and treat yourself, Hazel Manor is worth every penny.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adrian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hazelmanor, Owner at Hazel Manor, responded to this review, March 6, 2013
Thank you for such kind words.

We are so pleased when guests tell us we get it right. It was a delight having you stay at Hazel Manor and enjoy three days of sculpture to boot. We both look forward to you visiting us again for some leisure time in the future.

Without any doubt you have a natural artistic talent which emerged in your sculpture and it was a pleasure to meet you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Harrogate hotels
4.5 mi away
Rudding Park Hotel
Rudding Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Follifoot
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4,452 reviews
1.9 mi away
Ascot House Hotel Harrogate
2.7 mi away
The West Park Hotel
The West Park Hotel
#2 of 30 in Harrogate
4.5 of 5 bubbles 568 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Acorn Lodge Harrogate
Acorn Lodge Harrogate
#2 of 100 in Harrogate
5.0 of 5 bubbles 429 reviews
2.0 mi away
The Grafton
The Grafton
#4 of 100 in Harrogate
4.5 of 5 bubbles 533 reviews
2.1 mi away
Arden House
Arden House
#5 of 100 in Harrogate
4.5 of 5 bubbles 515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hazel Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hazel Manor

Property: Hazel Manor
Address: Hazel Manor Ripon Road | Killinghall, Harrogate HG3 2AY, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Harrogate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 100 B&Bs / Inns in Harrogate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hazel Manor 5*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1857 and located just north of Harrogate in the village of Killinghall, lower Nidderdale, Hazel Manor offers a luxurious Five Star Bed and Breakfast experience. Hazel Manor is perfectly situated for those visiting the Harrogate conference centre for business, those tempted to sample the delights of the Yorkshire dales or for those just planning a slow and lazy weekend in the countryside. The owners Janet and Paul look forward to welcoming you to their home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hazel Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hazel Manor Harrogate, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing