We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Guest House”

Shannon Court Guesthouse
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Shannon Court Guesthouse
Ranked #21 of 98 Harrogate B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 4, 2012

Very well located for parking and access to town centre. Friendly atmosphere with excellent breakfasts and lots of options. Do ask for their fried bread, Really yummy! We will use it again when in Harrogate.

Room Tip: phone them direct for best price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MikeBSheffield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShannonCourt, Owner at Shannon Court Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2012

Hi Mike
Thanks for your review, and your tip for booking is spot on.
Never knew my fried bread was so good, but then again I've never eaten it!
Tony

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (190)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

164 - 170 of 190 reviews

Reviewed May 3, 2012

Recently stayed at the Shannon course whilst in Harrogate on a course. Good facilities, a nice cosy little room, very clean and well maintained. Very comfortable bed.
Breakfast was very pleasant and a good choice available. Excellent hospitality, a very interesting and attentive host. Thank you very much.
Would recommend this B&B as a good base in Harrogate, just a couple of minutes walk from the city centre.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scott C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShannonCourt, Owner at Shannon Court Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded May 5, 2012

Scotty
Thanks for the lovely review, and I'm glad that you had a good time.
Hope the training went well, and perhaps I'll see you again on the next course!
Tony

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2012

We booked the Shannon Court Guesthouse via Laterooms on a very last minute deal only a few hours before! As busy parents of young children we were rewarded 2 nights away on our own to chill out and relax for my birthday. We wanted to find somewhere we could sleep (!) and not be disturbed too much, plus near to Harrogate so we could have a look around without pushchairs and nappybags in tow!

We were apprehensive because of the last minute rush to book a room - but what a great choice we made!! Shannon Court Guesthouse is brilliant. It is clean, good quality, cosy and a great location. There is a nice 10 minute walk into Harrogate town which was perfect distance away.

Tony, the owner, is a real host. There were loads of options for breakfast - which was delicious. Proper English grub - not convenience cheap stuff!!

Can't recommend highly enough. We have stayed in number of shocker hotels and guesthouses in our time - this was one of the much better ones!!!!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SlippyTimes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ShannonCourt, Owner at Shannon Court Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded April 27, 2012

Adam, thanks for the great review, and I'm glad that you had a restful time.
You never said it was your birthday, else there'd have been birthday cake for breakfast too.
Will I see you for your wife's birthday (hint!)?

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2012

Stayed here for the turf grass event in harrogate on the 25th of Jan. The hotel is well presented and the staff are very friendly. The Room I stayed in was very clean and well maintained. With lots of room. Would highly recommend this guest-house. And if I was back in Harrogate in the future I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steven M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2011

We booked 5 nights at the Shannon for September 2011, planning to use Harrogate as a base to visit the surrounding area. Their website was impressive and the house itself matched! It was extremely well presented, clean and tidy both outside and in. The room (a family room) was of ideal size, warm and comforting. Both the room itself and the en suite were spotlessly clean. Breakfast was of the highest standard possible, none of the food was supermarket 'value' food as many Guest houses and even hotels serve these days! All the staff and owners were extremely friendly and happy to chat with us. Nothing was ever a problem and we felt very welcomed and at home.

In terms of practicality, the Shannon is ideally positioned on a main road through Harrogate, with easy access to the town centre. Parking in Harrogate is not ideal so we were very pleased to be offered off-street parking by the Shannon; another first on our travels!

The Shannon is a shining example of what a Guest House can be if extra effort is given to the details. Tony and his team can be proud that they have made the Shannon into a gem of a place to stay in Harrogate. We can't recommend them enough.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kevin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2011

We stayed at the Shannon Court in mid September 2011. The B & B was very good and we would recommend it to others. There was a good choice of breakfast which was beautifully cooked. Breakfast was served in very pleasant surroundings. The bedroom was cleaned daily and was of a good standard. We were made to feel very welcome. The owner knew the area well and suggested places to visit and eat. We ate in the Swan on the Stray, which was within easy walking distance of the B & B and provided very good food at reasonable prices, it also had a good selection of beers! There was no problem parking the car at the B & B and it was a short walk into Harrogate.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Mike S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2011

Walking distance into Harrogate centre. Hotel very clean, homely and lovely breakfast. Rooms cleaned every day and tea/coffee provided in the room. No facility for an evening meal although there was a very nice pub recommended by the owners of Shannon Court which is only down the road. Would stay again.

Room Tip: We had a family room, one double bed and a single and there was plenty of room. It was v nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kath_shone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Harrogate hotels
3.5 mi away
Sophie's B&B
Sophie's B&B
#54 of 98 in Harrogate
52 reviews
0.3 mi away
Arden House
Arden House
#5 of 98 in Harrogate
586 reviews
0.4 mi away
Alamah Guest House
Alamah Guest House
#6 of 98 in Harrogate
283 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Acorn Lodge Harrogate
Acorn Lodge Harrogate
#2 of 98 in Harrogate
454 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Welford Bed & Breakfast
The Welford Bed & Breakfast
#12 of 98 in Harrogate
295 reviews
0.3 mi away
Acomb Lodge
Acomb Lodge
#47 of 98 in Harrogate
71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shannon Court Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shannon Court Guesthouse

Address: 65 Dragon Avenue, Harrogate HG1 5DS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Harrogate
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 98 B&Bs / Inns in Harrogate
Price Range: $70 - $112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Shannon Court Guesthouse 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shannon Court Guesthouse - AA 4 Star - Shannon Court is a beautiful Victorian guest house. Situated in High Harrogate, we are well positioned for exploring the town and the surrounding area. For business or pleasure we are in an excellent location for the Harrogate International Conference Centre, just a 10 minute stroll and a few minutes by car to the Great Yorkshire Showground and Pavilions Exhibition Halls. - Harrogate, North Yorkshire. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Shannon Court Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shannon Court Guesthouse Harrogate, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing