We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful and informative gardens”

RHS Garden Harlow Carr
Ranked #4 of 81 things to do in Harrogate
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
269 reviews
101 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Beautiful and informative gardens”
Reviewed July 22, 2014 via mobile

Huge variety in plants and landscaping ideas over many acres. Immaculately presented throughout, with activities for kids, and the historical gardens through the ages for adults interested in how garden design has evolved over time. Good eating and drinking options with Betty's tea rooms on site. Anyone remotely interested in gardening should visit.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank JONATHAN B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,807 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,133
    524
    116
    22
    12
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle-under-Lyme, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“inspiring garden”
Reviewed July 21, 2014

fantastic vegetable garden - really inspirational
lovely bog garden
excellent cafe - Betty's tea room
would have liked more detailed information in some areas - e.g. what the challenges are of growing in the North of England, detail of the plants available for the gardeners in the past in the Gardens Through Time area.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank atypicalpen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yigo, Mariana Islands
Level Contributor
7 reviews
“a favorite place”
Reviewed July 21, 2014

Harlow Carr is a beautiful garden, we visit often! The kid tree house & monster slide are always a hit!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Amyschultze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
215 reviews
70 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Worth a Visit”
Reviewed July 21, 2014

It was a miserable day when we visited but was still busy. It's a lovely place and there is a lot to see, though we didn't really get the benefit because the heavens opened after we'd been there about 30 minutes and didn't stop so we didn't see it in it's full glory. We did pay a visit to Betty's café while we were there and loved it so not all bad. I'd go again and have a better look round next time and hope that it's dryer than our weekend visit! There is a great shop and a plant nursery so plenty to keep you occupied out of the weather.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ohdear_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Just Beautiful”
Reviewed July 21, 2014

I am no gardener, but I was mesmerised by the beautiful gardens and hidden walkways...and Betty's tearoom. A very restful couple of hours in total solitude...there are so many little private walkways with seats on the way.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank joyce m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed RHS Garden Harlow Carr also viewed

Harrogate, North Yorkshire
Harrogate, North Yorkshire
 
Harrogate, North Yorkshire
Harrogate, North Yorkshire
 

Been to RHS Garden Harlow Carr? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing