We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hospitable owners and very convenient for conference centre”
Review of Wynnstay House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Wynnstay House
Ranked #20 of 83 Harrogate B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 5, 2013

I have stayed here several times over the past 10 years for conferences at the Harrogate International Centre, which is a convenient ~5 minute walk away. The owners, Andy and Tracey, are lovely people, extremely welcoming and flexible if things don't work out quite as planned (one year I had to leave early and they resold my room; another time I arrived very late and they waited up). The breakfast is delicious, with great options, and served quickly. The rooms are comfortable, and good value for money - also very quiet. I always return if I can.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jpr24London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracey and Andy D, Owner at Wynnstay House, responded to this reviewResponded June 7, 2013

Thank you for your lovely comments, it is always good to see you when you are at your event at the Conference Centre and we hope to continue welcoming you over the next ten years too! Our best wishes Andy & Tracey

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (238)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

127 - 133 of 238 reviews

Reviewed June 4, 2013

We had the pleasure of staying here for a one night stop. Location is great for a mooch round Harrogate and they gave us a resident's parking permit for the road. Very friendly welcome from Andy and Tracey, maps and directions instantly available. Nice room on first floor well fitted out . En-suite small but fine for our purposes (electric shower).Room arrangement for style rather than practicality - no room for bed side tables where bed is placed but looks great!. Breakfast first class -good choices and well-cooked. we would choose to stay here again. Oh the "Buckets of Milk"? .....well they have a notice that says fresh milk available for your tea in the room so we popped down stairs to ask. Andy and Tracy were out for the evening and the "temporary staff" (i.e. the rest of the family) couldn't find a jug for the milk so we were presented with a container holding at least a pint of milk!... (there was great concern that this might affect their trip advisor rating... it didn't! Stay Here!!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Graham T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracey and Andy D, Owner at Wynnstay House, responded to this reviewResponded June 7, 2013

Thank you for your kind comments and entertaining review! It was nice to meet you both recently and we are glad you enjoyed your stay. I see the "style of room debate" continues! We understand that the bedside shelves used to sympathise with the Victorian architecture were not your preference so do remind us if you are returning to stay, as all our other rooms have free standing bedside tables and we can ensure you are in one of these rooms instead.

And the milk? Andy's mum and our eldest daughter are delighted they got a mention when giving you a large portion of milk for your tea - as "temporary staff" they are now hoping to be on the payroll!!
Best wishes
Andy & Tracey

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2013

My partner Alison Treated me to a couple of days in Harrogate in May for my birthday and booked us into the Wynnstay House.
The house is in a very pleasant road on the outskirts of Harrogate town centre, on entering the house we were greeted by the owner and shown to our room, from that moment till we left our stay was faultless, everywhere was spotlessly clean and well maintained all facilities were working perfectly and the room and bed were extremely comfortable.
The breakfast (we choose a yorkshire breakfast) was cooked fresh with only the best ingrediants used and quality tea and coffee served.
Ican honestly say it is the best B&B house i have ever stayed in and will without doubt be returning.

Room Tip: The best room is at the top of the house, well worth the climb.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracey and Andy D, Owner at Wynnstay House, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2013

Thank you for your kind comments - it was lovely to meet you both on your celebratory weekend away and we are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us in Harrogate - thank you for your comments on breakfast - as you have mentioned, we do source everything locally and make our own homemade marmelades and bread so we are really pleased that you enjoyed them. We hope to see you again at Wynnstay House - our best wishes Andy & Tracey

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2013

Just back from great weekend in Harrogate. Second time at Wynnstay (would have been more only can't always get in!). Don't know how they do it, but it always seems freshly painted. It is In a quiet leafy road, with easy on road parking right outside (Tracey & Andy give you a permit to put in your car) only minutes walk from the centre. Divine duvet, softest bedding, towels white and luxurious in the lovely bathroom, even a power shower. Breakfast delicious. Nice to feel you are staying in a real Victorian house, furnished accordingly and beautifully. Tracey & Andy are very friendly and welcoming. We'll be back!

Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank JuliaChesterfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracey and Andy D, Owner at Wynnstay House, responded to this reviewResponded May 20, 2013

Thank you for your kind review, it was lovely to see you again - it is a constant task keeping everything freshly refurbished and decorated so we are delighted it shows! Thank you again and we look forward to seeing you again when you are next in Harrogate. Andy & Tracey

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Nice bnb with lovely hosts Andy and Tracey. Close to the town centre and to the convention centre, Wynnstay is a big Victorian house which is nicely furnished with antiques but not in a stuffy way. Everything spotlessly clean.

We had a double room on the top floor. Nicely furnished, with a few individual touches. Ensuite shower. Only downside was that the wifi signal was a bit weak and kept cutting out, but that's o.k. as we were out most of the time anyway.

Best thing about the bnb was the breakfast. Large range of choice with some not-the-norm treats - e.g. duck egg omelette with pancetta. All made fresh to order. Andy and Tracey were very pleasant and made everything seem a pleasure rather than a chore.

Just a note that if you have mobility problems, then this might not be a bnb for you as there are no rooms on the ground floor.

Recommended.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CTwydale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracey and Andy D, Owner at Wynnstay House, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review - it was lovey to meet you both. We are really glad you enjoyed your stay - especially breakfast, we do source all our produce locally and, as you say, try to continue to offer some interesting alternatives on our menu. We hope to see you again soon. Andy & Tracey

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2013

My wife Di and I have stayed at Wynnstay house twice now. For our return visit we didn't look for anywhere else in Harrogate. Andy and Tracy are lovely hosts. Wynnstay is ideally placed for a walk into town, the rooms are beautifully presented and the breakfast top notch. The Wynnstay experience is just fab and we would highly recommend it!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RogandDiDavis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracey and Andy D, Owner at Wynnstay House, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2013

Thank you for your kind comments - it was lovely to see you both and thank you for choosing to stay with us again - we hope it is not too long until your next visit. Best wishes Andy & Tracey

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2013

Thanks Tracey & Andy, Just to say another faultless stay for Paul & Charlie Jenkins at Wynnstay House. First rate bed & breakfast and would highly recommend it, book early as very popular. see you next year!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shellcookie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tracey and Andy D, Owner at Wynnstay House, responded to this reviewResponded May 9, 2013

Thank you for your kind comments - it is always a pleasure to look after Paul and Charlie and we look forward to seeing them again next year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Harrogate
0.1 mi away
Baytree House
Baytree House
#10 of 83 in Harrogate
390 reviews
0.1 mi away
Acorn Lodge Harrogate
Acorn Lodge Harrogate
#2 of 83 in Harrogate
461 reviews
0.2 mi away
Shelbourne House
Shelbourne House
#21 of 83 in Harrogate
258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Arc Hotel
The Arc Hotel
#8 of 83 in Harrogate
348 reviews
2.8 mi away
Teardrop Cottage
Teardrop Cottage
#2 of 15 in Knaresborough
321 reviews
0.1 mi away
Geminian
Geminian
#16 of 83 in Harrogate
173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wynnstay House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wynnstay House

Address: 60 Franklin Road, Harrogate HG1 5EE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Harrogate
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 83 B&Bs / Inns in Harrogate
Price Range: $112 - $131 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Wynnstay House 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wynnstay House is a double fronted Victorian Villa located on a quiet tree lined street in the heat of Harrogate Spa. Just a short walk from the Conference Centre and town amenities, all rooms are ensuite are traditionally furnished to a high standard. Enjoy a relaxing start to the day with our wide choice breakfast menu from our homemade bread and marmalades to delicious Whitby kippers. Parking is free at the front of the B&B with our complimentary parking permits. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Wynnstay House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wynnstay House Harrogate, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing