We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Now closed”
Review of Vanilla Cafe Bar - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Vanilla Cafe Bar
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
York, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Now closed”
Reviewed January 17, 2013

Good while it lasted. The meal and service was very good and we looked forward to visiting again.We had a second Groupon deal which was cancelled due to closure. Very disappointed as our first visit was very enjoyable.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jjdealtry43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

12 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    5
    1
    0
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Nice food, average service!”
Reviewed August 26, 2012 via mobile

The food was nice and very good value for money. We did the 2 paninis for £6 and they were very nice. Service was a bit slow.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jwhitaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
253 reviews
204 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“family meal”
Reviewed August 19, 2012

get the one negative thing out of the way !!! pork was very fatty and grissly 3 of the party of 4 would have not had meat! but thats where the bad ends ! very friendly, very clean and really good service !and was nice temperature to eat in , starter of tiny belly pork or soup was gorgeous and lovely fresh warm bread .main of beef and pork ,pork as above but beef lovely slice of medium rare,roast potatoe lovely and yorkshire and gravy, veg was fab cooked perfect carrots ,cauli,snap peas and roast parsnips really lovely relaxing time and couldnt fault anything except pork but that could of been a one off bad joint will let you know as go back in a month and will definitely do lunch .p.s looks as if there isent much BUT we were all full and didnt eat everything !

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jolesa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
louth
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Sunday lunch”
Reviewed August 1, 2012

My wife and I had a bargain Sunday lunch using a Groupon voucher for two
Also took my son along.
Amazing value!
Food was better than the reviews would suggest, nicely presented, nice sized portions. Better than a lot of other Sunday roasts I have had.
Atmosphere a bit quiet to start, but picked up as the afternoon went on.
Staff were friendly
I would thoroughly reccommend, especially via a Groupon deal

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank banksy63uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Launceston, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Enjoyed it”
Reviewed July 12, 2012

Good selection of drinks etc but tends to be quiet on a tuesday in January!! group of us had a few beers and some shots and moved on, no trouble, good decor, a decent place to grab a pre dinner drink

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank richard j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Vanilla Cafe Bar also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing