We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good for veggies.”

Banyan Bar & Kitchen
Ranked #84 of 440 Restaurants in Harrogate
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Large groups, Bar scene, Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Drinks, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Darlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good for veggies.”
Reviewed October 5, 2013

Lovely vegetarian breakfast, and the carnivore one was good too. Helpful, pleasant staff. Purple haired waitress eager to tell us all about the company. Will certainly visit again, and will check out the branch in York which the waitress told us about.
Impressed that the food is sourced locally.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank vegie c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

389 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    163
    121
    55
    28
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Knaresborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
161 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“A good experience spoilt. Restaurant OK, but a member of the bar staff was nothing less than abusive”
Reviewed September 16, 2013

What a shame that a member of the bar team spoiled our whole experience of this place, which would have been good if they recognised the words "customer service". We weren't impressed by the managers response and so left and won't be returning any time soon. I do hope they reflect and learn from this poor experience and that it is not a recurrent theme. Surely you can't expect to abuse your customers when it suits and expect them to return for more. A good experience spoilt.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DNA149
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amersham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
136 reviews
115 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Fantastic Meal, Great Menu, Great Atmosphere”
Reviewed August 26, 2013

We had lunch on Bank Holiday Monday here and the location of this restaurant is great, on a street that is really full of life, with a few restaurants and bars on.

We had a light lunch with a bottle of wine. Both meals were excellently presented and the taste was extremely good. The wine was also extremely good.

We would definitely recommend this restaurant. I think this restaurant is part of a chain. However, this is irrelevant because the food was very good and didn't seem to be "prepared on an industrial estate and shipped in". Also the staff are very good, keeping us informed throughout regarding any delays (as it was bank holiday, they were very busy). They also stopped and had a discussion with us and seemed genuinely interested in us, rather than going through the processes of as something they learnt on a training course. I didn't get her name, but the waitress with the purple hair, was our server and she was excellent. A special mention needs to go to her.

This was actually our second visit here and I forgot to put in a tripadvisor report for the first time, but I will definitely be back and would tell other people to go through to this restaurant.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cccsl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
141 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Could have been much better !”
Reviewed August 23, 2013 via mobile

Girlie lunch on a day trip to Harrogate.
We visited Banyan Bar kitchen after it was recommended to us.
First impressions were good. Nice location on a pretty street, we managed to find a table outside and were given menus quite fast. Our 1st member of staff was fab and we placed our orders for starters and drinks which were brought straight away. The starters we chose were Seafood catch £7.50 which was most defiantly over priced for the quantity ! Calamari again a bit over priced at £6.50 for 8 rings. Ribs were tender and priced at £7.50
All starters were very tasty but the quantity left a lot to be desired !
Mains were 1 x pig out burger which was specifically ordered without apple sauce but arrived with lashings off it, when mentioned the waitress ( a different one to whom took our orders ) she just didn't appear to care or bother about it, my friend scraped it off as we had to be at a function and didn't have time to wait for a fresh one.
Steak melt was very much vanilla, neither nothing special or nothing to complain about.
With drinks our bill was £70.95, it was nice but not nice enough for that price !
Outside seating is very cramped with too many seats squashed into a small area.
All in all if the starter portions had of been a teeny bit bigger, if the apple sauce had not have been on the burger as requested and had we not been squashed in it would have been a far better experience. For these prices I'm sure there will be much better places in Harrogate !

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank katherinerowley2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
991 reviews
502 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 957 helpful votes
“lovely setting”
Reviewed August 17, 2013

my partner and i had drinks in the bar near outside seating area. staff very attentive and efficient, with good knowledge of the menu. we ordered steak sandwiches and nachos. food was lovely and the wait wasnt too long. great atmosphere in good setting will recommend to friends and family when visiting harrogate. will return soon.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank enncle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Banyan Bar & Kitchen also viewed

Harrogate, North Yorkshire
 
Harrogate, North Yorkshire
Harrogate, North Yorkshire
 

Been to Banyan Bar & Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing