We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great one night stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sophie's B&B

Sophie's B&B
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sophie's B&B
Ranked #54 of 104 Harrogate B&B and Inns
Ashford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“great one night stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2012

We stayed at Sophie's on 11th July, the accommodation was excellent and the welcome from
Sophie very warm, she could not do enough for us. Breakfast the following morning was very
good. We enjoyed our stay very much and would definitely return. Thank you

Room Tip: Corner rooms overlook the views out the back
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 647maggiemay13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    45
    5
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
31
1
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
337 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 539 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2012

This is one of the best B&Bs I've ever stayed in. My wife and I stayed two nights in the double room.
Located in the lovely little village of Hampsthwaite, this is a good alternative to staying within nearby Harrogate. Both the bedroom and bathroom were spotless clean and in top condition; the entire building has been extensively upgraded and rebuilt to a high specification. I agree with all the previous comments.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Matthew303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2012

Sophie greeted us so warmly on our arrival, despite being busy in her cafe. No surprise really, it was smashing in there and the home-made afternoon tea was delicious and really good value. Great ambience created by friendly staff, young mums with offspring and space for wheelchair users. Decor cosy, two bright sofas by fire for winter days.

The rooms offered were tastefully decorated to a high standard, as were the bathrooms. We had the choice of a loft double with fabulous views or a twin with en suite. Breakfast great and Sophie obliged us with an early one, normally 9am to coincide with cafe opening, and on second morning left us a picnic breakfast in chiller cabinet as we had to be away by 7am.

If you're thinking of a visit to Harrogate do stay with her in Hampsthwaite, you couldn't do better. Village has pub for evening meals, a local store and doctor with pharmacy, plus bus service into town. Countryside ideal for walks and cycle rides.

Excellent value at £150 for 2 nights - we didn't have the chance to try, but she does bistro nights too!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ethelandbasil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2012

Super clean room, very comfortable. followed by great breakfast served by very pleasant hosts.
Very hard pushed to find a fault with our stay.

Room Tip: ours was double with nice views
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gordon m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Dunmow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2012

During a half-term break in early June we booked with Sophie and Steve in their delightful Bed and Breakfast with adjoining Coffee Shop and Delicatessen near Harrogate. Our room was the spacious double at the top of the building, with great views over the Dales through two large Velux type roof windows. These windows were split and opened both up and down contributing to the light and airy feel of the room and making the most of the space. The whole property had recently been refurbished to a very high standard and the room was fresh, clean, and tastefully decorated. Our double bed was extremely comfortable, and blackout blinds in the widows ensured a good night’s sleep. Immaculate en-suite facilities were located at the bottom of the short stairway to the main sleeping area, and provided an interesting and welcome alternative to the usual arrangement.
Sophie and Steve were always attentive and made us feel very welcome during our stay, and breakfasts in the Coffee Shop were quite delicious and would not disappoint whatever your appetite! If you were walking in the area and returned later in the day, Sophie’s Coffee Shop fare would definitely be something to look forward to. Altogether a most enjoyable stay in a delightful B&B, and definitely on our list for a return visit.

Room Tip: Of the two rooms available the double has the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Spindrift000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2012

We have just returned from staying at Sophie's B+B and we absolutely loved it.

We were in the double room which was beautifully decorated, spacious and spotlessly clean. The large windows and the fantastic view makes it a very special place to stay. The bed was very comfortable and black-out blinds on the windows made for a lovely long sleep.

We had tea and cake in the deli on the Saturday and breakfast on the Sunday morning and the food was all very good.

A real find and we will definitely be back.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank becky029
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2012

A B & B in a deli, what more could you want?! In addition this is in a quiet little village in Yorkshire. Lovely room with spectacular views of the open countryside. The deli is vibrant and cosy, serving delicious cakes-I recommend the Millionaire's shortbread-fantastic! Full English breakfast was a very high standard. Sophie is attentive and efficient, but still had time to chat.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Greiner_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Harrogate hotels
3.7 mi away
The Wellington Inn
The Wellington Inn
#29 of 104 in Harrogate
4.0 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
3.2 mi away
Belmont Guest House
Belmont Guest House
#56 of 104 in Harrogate
4.5 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
3.0 mi away
The Bijou
The Bijou
#8 of 104 in Harrogate
4.5 of 5 bubbles 492 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
The Station Hotel
The Station Hotel
#21 of 104 in Harrogate
5.0 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
3.2 mi away
Baytree House
Baytree House
#13 of 104 in Harrogate
5.0 of 5 bubbles 358 reviews
3.3 mi away
Arden House
Arden House
#4 of 104 in Harrogate
4.5 of 5 bubbles 498 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sophie's B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sophie's B&B

Property: Sophie's B&B
Address: High Street | Hampsthwaite, Harrogate HG3 2ET, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Harrogate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #54 of 104 B&Bs / Inns in Harrogate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Sophie's B&B 4*
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Book Direct Rooms so you can book your Sophie's B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sophie's B&B Harrogate, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing