We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely day out”

Ripley Castle and Gardens
Ranked #6 of 83 things to do in Harrogate
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A lovely day out”
Reviewed June 10, 2013

Just got back from Ripley Castle and Gardens, today Mon 10/6/13. Absolutely cannot fault this Groupon deal at £5 for 2 to enter the gardens including a cafe drink. There is parking outside, and inside the premises but also free large carpark 2mins walk in this beautiful village. We took our voucher to the shop where we exchanged for entry cards and drinks vouchers. Cafe is very nice and fairly average in price. We found we could upgrade our entry cards to include the castle tour (1-1/2hrs) for £3 each. It was well worth it, more like a stately home than castle. The gentleman who took the tour at 12.30 today was superb, lovely and informative and did very very well. We then walked round the gardens overlooking the lake, although the deer park was shut for private shooting party but this wasn't a problem as there was still plenty of lovely grounds to view, and I'd phoned first to check as I don't think the voucher is redeemable on private function days. Will definitely visit this hidden gem again in the future.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kathryn L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

735 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    402
    254
    51
    17
    11
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tennessee
Level Contributor
272 reviews
81 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“quaint little get away”
Reviewed June 2, 2013

This has something for everyone World famous ice cream, which I had never heard of. OK really the little church still in use for so many centuries, the over all town with working everything like the post office, hotel and a castle with it's family still living there for 700 years is amazing a tour guided by some one who loves her job was fabulous.and free parking to boot. low cost nice time

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank hammerholt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Maintsined Gardens disappointingly uncared for”
Reviewed June 2, 2013 via mobile

The setting is beautiful and the wild areas are very nice and worth a visit because of that.
However the maintained gardens were not upto scratch.
The borders were bare or covered in weeds. The areas would have looked great if they had even been mulched.
The lawns had been cut but clippings were left on top and not edged. The grassed areas next to the walls had not been strimmed and looked untidy . If they had left a few feet of grass to be wild at the edge it would have looked fine.
The glasshouse needed the glass cleaning. Some plants were 'past their best' to be polite. The use of oddments of different coloured plastic pots really spoiled what could be a fabulous hot house.

All the above said thought, if you want a day out in lovely surroundings - set in a beautiful village that has a great cafe serving scrumptious food and a divinr ice cream shop it is worth going!!!!!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank swright1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
183 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 212 helpful votes
“Good day out”
Reviewed June 2, 2013

Visited last weekend and the sun shone all day for a change. Just as well as there wouldn't have been much to do on a colder day. Visited using a Groupon Voucher for the grounds only. We would have upgraded to include the castle itself had it not been a guided tour. Guided tours and children don't go together in my experience. Cafe a little disappointing, the staff appeared rushed of their feet, service was very very slow and then they got our order wrong after waiting over half an hour for food. A lovely day out however with the added bonus of sunshine!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank NS57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tyne and wear
Level Contributor
32 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“good day for all”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Fantastic surroundings good walks around the grounds and gardens,the birds of pray display was outstanding.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank lynnforfar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colvin, Owner at Ripley Castle and Gardens, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
I am delighted that you enjoyed your day out at Ripley. 'Fine weather' and 'Bank Holiday Monday' rarely feature in the same sentence, but our luck held this year, and the Birds of Prey display proved particularly popular. Come back again some time and take the tour of the castle: you may be surprised by how much enjoyment you get from it!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ripley Castle and Gardens also viewed

Harrogate, North Yorkshire
Harrogate, North Yorkshire
 
Harrogate, North Yorkshire
Knaresborough, Harrogate
 

Been to Ripley Castle and Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing