We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Rocks till impressive but now a fiver to park : previously free”
Review of Brimham Rocks

Brimham Rocks
Ranked #3 of 81 things to do in Harrogate
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: An amazing collection of weird and wonderful rock formations: a great day out for families, climbers and those who love the outdoors.
Ipswich, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Rocks till impressive but now a fiver to park : previously free”
Reviewed June 1, 2014

Could not believe that the National Trust have now 'prettied up' the site with a few bits of wood and gravel and expect a £5 parking fee in return. This lets you stay for 4 hours : you actually need around 1 hour (today 45 minutes). And they've constructed the car park the opposite end of the rocks from the toilets with wooden signs pointing in all directions but all leading to the same place! Really stupid. And ... £2.25 for a small ice cream cone? I don't think so.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Dale R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,618 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,111
    421
    68
    11
    7
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“lovely and free!”
Reviewed June 1, 2014

Great walk, fantastic views across Yorkshire and only pay for parking! Was reccomended by the hotel staff. Well worth a visit!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Helen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dover, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Was great for kids!”
Reviewed May 29, 2014

What a lot of places I know! Used to go climbing on these fantastic rocks with my brother when we were kids. ( 70 years ago!") Havn't been there for years so probably 'elf and safety have stepped in now! Sorry no recent photos. There is probably a fee charged now like everywhere else. Don't want to put you off but nothing stays the same. Maybe its still as I remember.
Oh no! have just read that there is a 'visitor centre' there now. And a parking charge!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank demelzaross
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Let the big kid in you - go play”
Reviewed May 29, 2014

Love it here, as do my two daughters.
Climb, explore and be a kid again
Take a picnic, there is a food place on site, their prices are ok too.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Scott J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great for children”
Reviewed May 29, 2014 via mobile

We arrived around 12 ish with a picnic that the children wanted in the car park. We decided to wait until we reached the cafe area. It's only about 15 mins steady walk to the cafe, however, add in a ten, nine and five year old and the never ending climbing opportunities and the walk is much longer! After lots of fun climbing and exploring we had lunch and continued walking.

The afternoon was much quieter as not so many people go past the cafe area. The walk and views are lovely and there is lots to discover.

We let the nine year old lead the way through the heather footpaths and he loved it.

You need to spend a couple of hours here to appreciate the rock formations and the views, but if you have children with you add longer for climbing and exploring. A fun outdoor day for everyone.

The are no visiting charges except for parking, however, this is free for National Trust members.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mrs H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Brimham Rocks also viewed

Harrogate, North Yorkshire
Harrogate, North Yorkshire
 

Been to Brimham Rocks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing