We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Above and Beyond”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Welford Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #13 of 99 Harrogate B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 18, 2014

The Welford is in a superb location within five or so minutes to most things in Harrogate. Fantastic hosts , nothing was too much trouble . Judy & Richard made us feel welcome from the outset and their expert local knowledge in answer to all our questions proved to be invaluable . The breakfast was magnificent, the choice of fresh fruit, yogurts and traditional breakfasts meant there was something for everyone. The room was spotless and very comfortable and I would definitely recommend The Welford to anyone who wants to explore the lovely town of Harrogate and the surrounding countryside.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank philip w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (299)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

178 - 184 of 299 reviews

Reviewed May 11, 2014 via mobile

This is a great B&B, close to all amenities that Harrogate has to offer. They offer a wonderful breakfast catering for all tastes. Judy the owner has a lovely warm welcome and a vast knowledge of the area. Highly recommend for a one or two night stop over.

Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Shirley C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2014

Spent three nights here. Everything about it was fabulous. Our room was lovely with a super king size bed which was very comfortable and had a very nice en suite. The breakfast was super with plenty of choice. The owners Judy and Richard made us so welcome and could not do enough for us. We will certainly make a return visit and would recommend The Welford to anyone. Thank you Judy and Richard for making our visit so enjoyable, see you soon!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ossieSolihull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2014 via mobile

From the moment we arrived we were made very welcome. We booked a twin room which was of very high standard. Breakfast was very well organised with everything you need. Service with a smile and a chat. Would stay again

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Spaladys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2014 via mobile

I would recommend staying at the Welford to anyone its comforting and welcoming. Judy is so lovely and everything she has done makes a difference, beautiful food, clean and modern rooms with beautiful hand wash, real andrex toilet roll and comfy beds. Judy allowed us to park for free so we could spend a day in Harrogate, amazing! We will be back and we will stay at the Welford!

Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
Thank Cheryl M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2014

We arrived after a long day cycling, and were delighted with our modern bright room. Comfy bed and soft fluffy towels were fab. The whole place had a relaxed feel and the hosts Judy and Richard were very friendly. Breakfast was great (Richard is a butcher). We would definitely return

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jackieb0y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2014

The welford bed & breakfast is spot on! We had a very warm & friendly welcome & Judy was very helpful with directions & nothing was too much trouble. We were also supplied with a daily parking card so we could park right outside the b & b but without inccuring a parking Fine. The whole place is decorated very tastefully & is spotlessly clean. The breafast was excellent with a good variety including vegetarian & gluten free options. All in all the four of us were very impressed with our stay & will definitely stay again whenever we visit Harrogate again.
p.s. thanks Richard for sharing your lovely new television for the football!

Room Tip: Both the twin & double rooms were of a high standard
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SpeedySeedy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Harrogate hotels
0.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Harrogate
Crowne Plaza Harrogate
#6 of 30 in Harrogate
268 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ascot House Hotel Harrogate
0.1 mi away
Kimberley Hotel
Kimberley Hotel
#8 of 30 in Harrogate
1,768 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Acorn Lodge Harrogate
Acorn Lodge Harrogate
#2 of 99 in Harrogate
460 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Grafton
The Grafton
#7 of 99 in Harrogate
564 reviews
0.2 mi away
Baytree House
Baytree House
#11 of 99 in Harrogate
389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Welford Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Welford Bed & Breakfast

Address: 27 Franklin Road, Harrogate HG1 5ED, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Harrogate
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 99 B&Bs / Inns in Harrogate
Price Range: $90 - $99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Welford Bed & Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Welford is a small family owned and run guest house in the heart of Harrogate. Our rooms are not enormous but have all been recently re-furbished to a high standard and cleanliness and guests comfort is paramount to us. We pride ourselves on our breakfasts and all our products are locally sourced, our sausages are homemade, our bacon is dry cured and our eggs are free-range from a small local farm. All rooms have hospitality trays, flat screen TVs, Hair-dryers, complimentary toiletries and Towels. We have free Wi-Fi, free parking permits for guests, and we are also pet friendly. 5 Minutes walk from rail and bus station and a 2 minutes walk from the Harrogate International Conference Centre. Judy & Richard take great pride in offering a home from home atmosphere. Please book early to avoid disappointment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Book Direct Rooms, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your The Welford Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Welford Bed & Breakfast Harrogate, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing