We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
At Charlie's Bed and Breakfast
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Harrogate
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
At Charlie's Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #53 of 83 Harrogate B&B and Inns
Reviewed January 14, 2012

Over the past three weeks my husband and I have left voice messages,sent numerous emails and even turned up at Charlie's to try and make a booking (it was shut!), but to date we havent had so much as a courtesy "sorry we're booked on that date" acknowledgement. Sorry to put pen to paper,but as there has been a wall of silence from the venue we weren't left with much choice! Very disappointing as we were so looking forward to staying there. We've booked somewhere else now.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Alex K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (24)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

20 - 24 of 24 reviews

Reviewed November 16, 2011

My son attends the AFC college in Harrogate and had his 'Passing In' parade in October, as we live so far away my mother and i decided to drive up the night before and book into a B & B so we could arrive at the college early the next morning. We didnt want to pay too much so I spent some time searching on line and came across Charlie's, the reviews were favourable so i called and made a booking. I have to say that after a 3 hour drive we were so grateful to walk into such a warm welcome! Charlie's is a quaint, cosy pub lit with scented candles and homely lighting with a handful of rooms to rent up stairs. We shared a twin room which was a great size and had everything you could need for a comfortable nights stay including an en suite. We were surprised to find that apart from the standard coffee and tea usually supplied in B & B's we also had a large selection of biscuits and chocolate bars to nibble on!!! Charlie doesnt provide evening meals but recommend a restaurant which was a 10 minute walk up the road....i cant remeber the name of it but it was fabulous and very reasonably priced! We couldnt wait to get back to the warm ambience of the pub for a glass of wine after we'd eaten so headed staright back after our meal. Charlie sat at the bar with a few of the locals and regaled us with stories of his past and plans for his future, he is such a warm, friendly character that we felt we'd known him for years by the time we went up to bed!! Breakfast was a feast including cereals, yoghurt, toast and a full monty cooked by Charlie himself....we couldn't fault it! If you're looking for somewhere with a 5* rating and the luxuries that go with it then this isn't the place for you, if on the other hand you are looking to kick back, relax, be made to feel extremely welcome and to join in a bit of friendly banter then this is definitely the place for you! I will be returning to Harrogate soon and wouldnt dream of booking anywhere else before checking to see if Charlie has a free room!!

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TJB71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2011

We stayed at this bed and breakfast for a night over Easter, and what a great place. Friendly guy called Charlie and his little dog called Harley own the place and they both made myself and my husband feel very welcome. Rooms are very clean and modern.The breakfast Charlie cooks for you is great on a morning.The bar area is very cute,where you can enjoy a drink and a chat with Charlie, before heading down into the centre of Harrogate for a night out, this about a ten minute walk on a nice evening, or you can hop in a taxi, which Charlie will order for you. This is only about four pounds.
We really enjoyed our stay, and we will definitely return again, will take some friends next time.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KatieBlack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2011

Rooms are excellent and breakfast is full English +
Charlie is an excellent host and look out for Harley the Jack Russell.
It is a pub at the end of the day so if you DONT want to have a laugh,joke ,meet all the regulars for a good crack and be entertained I suggest you try one of Harrogates many fine (yet expensive) hotels.
If you have a sense of humour and love music and an impromptu jam session,get you self down to Charlies place....you will love it.
A gem of a find and we shall be back.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank andyappels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2011

If you looking for a B and B with some atmosphere in Harrogate you need to stay at At Charlie’s B and B. Charlie’s is the owner with his lovely dog called Harley. The rooms were renovated 3 months ago and everything is fresh and new. It has a lovely pub below the accommodation and the regulars are a great bunch. The weekends get a little load but allot of fun and not for people who want to go to bed before 10pm.

Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
3  Thank fuelcards
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Harrogate hotels
1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Harrogate
Crowne Plaza Harrogate
#6 of 28 in Harrogate
288 reviews
5.9 mi away
Chequers Inn
Chequers Inn
#2 of 2 in Bishop Thornton
105 reviews
2.5 mi away
Rudding Park Hotel
Rudding Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Follifoot
4,740 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
The Majestic Hotel
The Majestic Hotel
#17 of 28 in Harrogate
3,023 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#14 of 28 in Harrogate
1,357 reviews
1 mi away
Cairn Hotel
Cairn Hotel
#11 of 28 in Harrogate
1,495 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to At Charlie's Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about At Charlie's Bed and Breakfast

Address: 62 Otley Road, Harrogate HG2 0DP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Harrogate
Hotel Style:
Ranked #53 of 83 B&Bs / Inns in Harrogate
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
At Charlie's Bed And Breakfast Harrogate, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing