We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little corner of Italy...in Harrogate!”

Bica Bistro and Cafe
Ranked #95 of 446 Restaurants in Harrogate
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Proper home cooked food with a hint of Southern Europe, great coffee and cakes, warm, casual atmosphere.
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“A little corner of Italy...in Harrogate!”
Reviewed June 30, 2012 via mobile

Cafe Rosso is a hidden gem. It's on the edge of town, easy parking, away from the crowds.

Relaxed atmosphere, lovely staff and delicious, authentic food.

Great place for lunch or just a coffee and a cake. Good wines and a grappa if you fancy one!


    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SiMac365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    144
    18
    5
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Harrogate
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Should I tell you about this?”
Reviewed June 24, 2012

I was actually tempted to give this one star.

Not because the foods bad - it isn't. It's very good. Not a huge menu but enough different choices of salads, mains and sandwiches to give you a problem choosing.

Not because the service is bad - it isn't it's quick enough to be very good and not so quick that you're feeling rushed.

Not because the staff are unfriendly - quite the reverse. I've been 3 times and even on the first visit was greeted like a VIP.

Not because the atmosphere is poor. It's pretty bright and airy and you can chat away or sit and contemplate as you wish.

No, the reason I would have given it one star is because I don't particularly want any old riff-raff finding out about it and taking up MY place.

However, I'm too honest for my own good.

So five stars it is..........

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Fred_the_needle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great Italian cafe with good food”
Reviewed June 8, 2012 via mobile

As a couple who love cooking and are invariably disappointed with restaurant and pub fare this was a revelation. Well priced good food and lovely staff. I had a smoked haddock lasagne which I couldn't fault and, for the price, must make it one of Harrogate's best value eateries. I've spent 2 or 3 times as much in Harrogate and the quality hasn't been a patch on this place.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank aidlesultan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Perfect little cafe for brunch/lunch or just a coffee!”
Reviewed June 7, 2012

My fiancé and I love popping out for a coffee and now we have found the perfect little cafe. We have only had coffee and cakes so far, but can't wait to try the hot food menu. The staff were absolutely great... The chef welcomed us and we had a good chat to him. All the staff seemed to know all the customers... They must really take time to know them. I love finding a little cafe that isn't the usual chain and who take pride in themselves.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Kateandadam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, UK
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A little bit of Italy”
Reviewed May 31, 2012

What a find! Stepped in for a sandwich and was served a delicious ciabatta which looked and tasted wonderful. The service is pleasant and friendly and with the sunshine outside it felt like being in Italy. Everything is home-made and beautifully presented. Liked their idea of an Italian conversation morning - why don't more Italian restaurants do this? Five minute walk to the International Conference Centre so ideal for a quick lunch.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CinderellasSister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bica Bistro and Cafe also viewed

Harrogate, North Yorkshire
Harrogate, North Yorkshire
 
Harrogate, North Yorkshire
Harrogate, North Yorkshire
 
Harrogate, North Yorkshire
Harrogate, North Yorkshire
 

Been to Bica Bistro and Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing