We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant!”

Sukhothai Harrogate
Ranked #31 of 441 Restaurants in Harrogate
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $39
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Large groups, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Description: Just opened 15th November
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Brilliant!”
Reviewed June 18, 2013 via mobile

We visited here on a predictably busy saturday night on the recommendation of friends. From the start service was impeccable and friendly and the atmosphere buzzing! When the food arrived it completely lived up to expectations, the soft shell crab was spectacular and everyone on the table enjoyed their meals tremendously! Well worth a visit if you're in the area!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Anthony P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

935 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    570
    249
    82
    22
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
93 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“The best Thai food I have had in the UK”
Reviewed June 17, 2013

Who would have thought Harrogate would be home to some of the best Thai food I have had outside of Thailand (with the exception of Australia). It was fresh, delicious and the staff were charming as you would expect. The kitchen is on view which is quite nice. There were plenty of tables and it wasn't that busy, although it was a Tuesday.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank David S S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good Value Good food”
Reviewed June 14, 2013 via mobile

I really like this place, great staff good value for money. The food is always freshly cooked and the presentationis always first class. The only slight gripe is they do pack you in a bit.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MadAlfred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venice, Italy
Level Contributor
163 reviews
147 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“NOT REALLY....”
Reviewed June 11, 2013

i was there last evening and looking for an asiatic place. not sure between an indian and a thai...but because i was in one thai in london one week ago(and we had a very good experience: Patara-by the way) i decided for thai.
i ordered veggy dumpling and a thai salad which they were good. my main was a thai curry chicken.....but the chicken was horrible...tasting like gone.
so they asked me if wishing to order something else. i went for a veggy main dish as my taste in the mouth was not very nice.
i had one with tofu...stir fried...but was basically too fried
SO, no back anymore

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank alessandro s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BanKaewkraikhot, Owner at Sukhothai Harrogate, responded to this review, June 16, 2013
Dear alessandro s

We are sorry to read that you did not enjoy your recent visit to Sukhothai Harrogate, with particular reference to the 2 main course dishes you tried.

I would, however, like to reassure you that any products used in our dishes totally fresh, so it is unlikely that the chicken was ‘gone’, as you put it. Also, I am sorry that the alternative that you selected was not to your taste.

The team at Sukhothai Harrogate will always strive to ensure they do everything they can, so that you enjoy your food and dining experience with us.

I do hope that we will see you again and, hopefully, your chosen dishes will be more to your taste.

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your visit to Sukhothai Harrogate and I hope you appreciate the spirit in this reply.

Best wishes,

Ban
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
418 reviews
113 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 344 helpful votes
“Very nice”
Reviewed June 6, 2013

We were driving home on a Sunday evening and decided to eat in Harrogate. The restaurant was maybe a third full, but for some reason the service was quite slow. Not too big a deal, but a slight annoyance.

The food itself was very good, plenty of flavours and colourful. Portion sizes were just about right, not the massive quantity you get in some restaurants where you are obliged to stuff yourself. In Harrogate this is probably as good as it gets.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank amcs1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sukhothai Harrogate also viewed

 
Harrogate, North Yorkshire
Harrogate, North Yorkshire
 

Been to Sukhothai Harrogate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing