We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The best Thai food I have had in the UK”

Sukhothai Harrogate
Ranked #32 of 440 Restaurants in Harrogate
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $39
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions, Kids, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Just opened 15th November
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
90 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“The best Thai food I have had in the UK”
Reviewed June 17, 2013

Who would have thought Harrogate would be home to some of the best Thai food I have had outside of Thailand (with the exception of Australia). It was fresh, delicious and the staff were charming as you would expect. The kitchen is on view which is quite nice. There were plenty of tables and it wasn't that busy, although it was a Tuesday.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank David S S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

927 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    565
    246
    82
    22
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good Value Good food”
Reviewed June 14, 2013 via mobile

I really like this place, great staff good value for money. The food is always freshly cooked and the presentationis always first class. The only slight gripe is they do pack you in a bit.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MadAlfred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venice, Italy
Level Contributor
163 reviews
147 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“NOT REALLY....”
Reviewed June 11, 2013

i was there last evening and looking for an asiatic place. not sure between an indian and a thai...but because i was in one thai in london one week ago(and we had a very good experience: Patara-by the way) i decided for thai.
i ordered veggy dumpling and a thai salad which they were good. my main was a thai curry chicken.....but the chicken was horrible...tasting like gone.
so they asked me if wishing to order something else. i went for a veggy main dish as my taste in the mouth was not very nice.
i had one with tofu...stir fried...but was basically too fried
SO, no back anymore

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank alessandro s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BanKaewkraikhot, Owner at Sukhothai Harrogate, responded to this review, June 16, 2013
Dear alessandro s

We are sorry to read that you did not enjoy your recent visit to Sukhothai Harrogate, with particular reference to the 2 main course dishes you tried.

I would, however, like to reassure you that any products used in our dishes totally fresh, so it is unlikely that the chicken was ‘gone’, as you put it. Also, I am sorry that the alternative that you selected was not to your taste.

The team at Sukhothai Harrogate will always strive to ensure they do everything they can, so that you enjoy your food and dining experience with us.

I do hope that we will see you again and, hopefully, your chosen dishes will be more to your taste.

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your visit to Sukhothai Harrogate and I hope you appreciate the spirit in this reply.

Best wishes,

Ban
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
418 reviews
113 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 339 helpful votes
“Very nice”
Reviewed June 6, 2013

We were driving home on a Sunday evening and decided to eat in Harrogate. The restaurant was maybe a third full, but for some reason the service was quite slow. Not too big a deal, but a slight annoyance.

The food itself was very good, plenty of flavours and colourful. Portion sizes were just about right, not the massive quantity you get in some restaurants where you are obliged to stuff yourself. In Harrogate this is probably as good as it gets.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank amcs1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Well Impressed”
Reviewed June 4, 2013

Dropped in here without booking in the early evening and it was quite full, so booking is advised. The decor is pleasant and the staff very welcoming. We shared a mixed starter, which was tasty and we each enjoyed our main courses. Prices were reasonable and the local with us went back and booked it for a birthday party.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bobalong_tours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sukhothai Harrogate also viewed

 
Harrogate, North Yorkshire
 
Harrogate, North Yorkshire
 

Been to Sukhothai Harrogate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing