We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Dining Experience”
Review of Mirabelle Restaurant - CLOSED

Mirabelle Restaurant
Price range: $5 - $25
Cuisines: French, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Check our pre-theatre menu!!! 2 Courses £15
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Lovely Dining Experience”
Reviewed February 7, 2013

Mirabelle was a very nice restaurant. We had a large party dining and the service was really good for such a large group. It was very nice eating a French meal with a little British flair. Most of us in the group had been to France and we all thought the food at Mirabelle's was just as good as any French restaurant. The portions were not as large as a traditional English meal and were a little on the small side (just like the French). The restaurant itself is a little small, but that added to the ambiance of the place. This is the perfect place to go for a "date night" with the spouse.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Devin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

499 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    391
    79
    24
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Oh la la!”
Reviewed February 5, 2013

We are currently enjoying the voyage of discovery of Harrogate restaurants having moved here recently, and you, dear Trip Advisors, are guiding our bookings.
Well - what a pleasant contrast to the disappointment of Bed last week. Mirabelle was fairly quiet being mid week - but that's fine, it is a lovely space, and you can hardly mark a restaurant down for being quiet! To us, ambience is about the decor, the music, the 'smell' of the place.
Much as I love Louis Armstrong though, we were there for the food, and here Mirabelle really shone. This is the menu of an accomplished and confident chef. This is not just unexceptional cooking, as Bed was, this is proper cheffery. Food that excites, repeatedly elicits appreciative 'Oooooo' noises and makes you chuckle.
Chestnut and cranberry bread - a first for me but a sign of things to come. We shared a starter and main not being big eaters. The smoked salmon, celeriac remoulade, horseradish and beetroot ice cream (yes really) sounds bonkers but was divine. An extraordinary combination of textures and flavours. This was followed by the best piece of filet steak we have had for a long time with a blue cheese sauce that could make Yorkshiremen weep with joy.
The chocolate fondant was utter filthy indulgent puddingtastic naughtiness. Presentation was clean and sharp. The menu is large and there is plenty of variety, including daily specials and a price fixe option.
We cannot wait to go back. This is the yardstick against which other restaurants must measure up. I know it sounds like we've got shares in Mirabelle but we haven't - honest!! It really was an outstanding culinary experience. Bravo.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Thelondonsurgeon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful food & great location”
Reviewed February 4, 2013 via mobile

My husband, brother & sister-in-law were in Harrogate for a trip down memory lane & Mirabelle is just around the corner from where we used to live. We arrived early but Tom was very welcoming, providing us with drinks while we looked at the menu. I was spoilt for choice & have promised myself another visit (or 2) to try some of the other offerings. Our starters were tasty & well seasoned, with my sister-in-law especially enthusiastic about her scallops. My main course of turbot was delicious & light, but the stars on the plate were the little crab cakes! I could have eaten a plateful! The atmosphere & service were excellent - relaxed but attentive, & although we knew the table was needed for 8.30, there was no feeling of being rushed. We all thoroughly enjoyed the whole experience. Tom - I apologise if we were a little noisy!

Helpful?
Thank Jeanette M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Average”
Reviewed January 29, 2013

I had heard good things about this one, and the menu looked promising, but it failed to shine. We were there on a Friday night, but the place was very quiet. Even so, the service was poor: they meant well, but just needed more training. The wine was served without the opportunity to test it, and at the end I’m not convinced we’d emptied the bottle before it was whipped away. In between, the food was no more than okay-ish. I had the pigeon starter, and a rabbit main. In both cases the meat was fine, but the supporting aspects – vegetables, sauce etc, was unloved. I’m always curious to see what bread restaurants offer, and this was curious indeed: more a lump of cake, best avoided.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bob N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“GREAT FOOD - DISAPPOINTING SERVICE”
Reviewed January 27, 2013

Booked in for lunch on the basis of excellent tripadvisor reviews. Even though we'd booked we got off to a bad start, when staff looked shocked to see us, and didn't think to ask if we had made a reservation. Restaurant was very quiet for a Friday lunchtime, and as such didn't have much ambiance. Quality of food was generally good, and good value @ £13.95 for 2 courses. Service throughout was a little amateur.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank TheMegLeeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mirabelle Restaurant also viewed

Harrogate, North Yorkshire
North Rigton, Harrogate
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing