We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hotel with great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The St George Hotel
Ranked #21 of 28 Hotels in Harrogate
Reviewed October 16, 2013

Stayed at this hotel on the 16th September for 4 nights. We opted for a rear bedroom which was quite adequate, clean and well presented. It overlooked the car park. The wardrobe was on the small size however. The hotel car park was ideal because of a secure barrier system. The meals were excellent for breakfast (good choice) and dinner also had a good selection. The staff as usual were very friendly and efficient. The lounges were comfortable and we always found somewhere to sit. Some of the walls in the lounges needed to be a little brighter rather than the darkish colours. Overall the hotel was excellent value for money with an excellent location, just minutes from the town centre shops and other amenities. Also within easy reach of the Dales any many other tourist spots. Would certainly recommend this hotel as we had a very enjoyable stay despite the rainy weather.

Room Tip: Rooms at the rear tend to have less noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EdwinaStevens, General Manager at The St George Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback, I am pleased to hear your stay with us was an enjoyable one. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Harrogate.
Regards
Edwina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,108)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

648 - 654 of 1,108 reviews

Reviewed October 16, 2013

We have just returned from 3 night weeknd break, we had a lovely time at this hotel yes its a little dated but clean, with a decent sized bedroom.
The meals were very good with a self serve breakfast which did full english, fruit, yogurt, toast jam etc. And the evening meals were excellent, compliments to the chef. Every evening there was a choice with something for everyone.We found the staff in the dining room to be very pleasant especially Rosie who was very good at her job considering she said she had only been there 3 mths.
The hotel is in a perfect position for he town just a few minutes walk up the hill.We paid the £5 per night car parking so had no trouble there.
Would definitly go back to this hotel

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nannymary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EdwinaStevens, General Manager at The St George Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2013

Great to hear you had a lovely weekend with us, it’s especially nice to hear such glowing comments about the team who work here they all do an excellent job and I am sure they will be equally as pleased to hear of your comments.
Kind Regards
Edwina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for our wedding anniversary having booked through coast & country hotels. The hotel was very good, very clean and comfortable. The restaurant was very good although the choice of food was limited. We are planning another trip to do some Christmas shopping soon.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front of the hotel have the best aspects .
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Susan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EdwinaStevens, General Manager at The St George Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2013

So pleased to hear you enjoyed your Anniversary with us and we look forward to seeing you again before Christmas.
Kind Regards
Edwina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2013 via mobile

Well where to start with this one! Bullet points are about all it deserves.
* unfriendly/unhelpful staff
* seriously out dated decor
*damp patches and damaged wall
* no hot water
* drain water bubbling up into bath
* they even had the cheek to try and charge us twice for the same over priced mediocre meal.

Once these problems were raised at the reception all that was offered was the assurance the points would be passed on, most likely to a deaf mute with no intention of acknowledging them.

Quite frankly a complete disappointment from arrive to departure. If it wasn't for the great company of the wife it would have been a total disaster.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Scott U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EdwinaStevens, General Manager at The St George Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2013

I am sorry to hear your stay was not to your satisfaction, we do however appreciate the feedback and I will certainly be bringing your comments up at my next team meeting. I do hope you will allow us the opportunity to welcome you back on your next visit to Harrogate, with a view to changing your view of the Hotel and the team who work here.
Regards
Edwina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2013

Good place to stay in Harrogate, nice pool and small gym if you fancy that, lovely breakfast.

Ideally located

Rooms are fine but for the overall price is good value especially when compared to the more expensive options in the area.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
1  Thank Gareth R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EdwinaStevens, General Manager at The St George Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2013

Thank you for the feedback, glad to hear you made full use of the leisure facilities and hope you will come back and see us again soon.
Kind Regards
Edwina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2013

Its an old hotel, and certainly feels it inside.

They have made the effort and there is a SMALL pool and fittness suite with a few machines in it.

As for the room, very comfy beds, but oddly all the mirrors were at chest height - I'm only 6'2, but had to kneel down to make sure I didnt look like a Yeti when I left to go downstairs in the morning.

Not that it matters, but to give you an idea of what it was like, I was easily the youngest guest by a good 30-40 YEARS

Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
3  Thank Dante256
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EdwinaStevens, General Manager at The St George Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2013

We have spent over two million pound refurbishing this beautiful property so the inside is anything but old. The fitness suite and weights room is fully equipped with the latest fitness machines and we boast over 400 happy members. We thank you for your feedback.

Kind Regards
Edwina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2013

Central location, friendly, helpful staff. Book a parking space in advance (£5/night and quite tight in there). Comfy bed but overall the hotel is a bit grubby with outdated rooms, and stale whiffs about the place including in the otherwise nice swimming pool. Nothing fancy breakfast. Not exactly cheap for what you get, targets older people on coach trips

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TomChesca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EdwinaStevens, General Manager at The St George Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2013

I am sorry that the eat all you want buffet breakfast was not adequate for you this is usually popular with our guests as the wide variety of food ensures there is something for everybody. We have put a lot of time and money into renovating this beautiful property although some areas remain outstanding the hotel is spotlessly clean. Thank you for the kind comments regarding the staff.
Kind Regards
Edwina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Harrogate hotels
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Harrogate
Crowne Plaza Harrogate
#6 of 28 in Harrogate
292 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#14 of 28 in Harrogate
1,357 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Majestic Hotel
The Majestic Hotel
#16 of 28 in Harrogate
3,029 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Kimberley Hotel
Kimberley Hotel
#8 of 28 in Harrogate
1,774 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel du Vin and Bistro
Hotel du Vin and Bistro
#10 of 28 in Harrogate
1,177 reviews
0.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Cedar Court Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The St George Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The St George Hotel

Address: 1 Ripon Road, Harrogate HG1 2SY, England (Formerly Coast & Country St George Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Harrogate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Harrogate
Price Range: $70 - $191 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The St George Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the most famous hotels in Harrogate, the St. George is a magnificent Edwardian property situated in the heart of this historic spa town. Its location, adjacent to the Harrogate International Centre’s Exhibition Halls and the Royal Hall, makes it ideal for both leisure and business travellers. The Royal Baths, with the newly refurbished Turkish baths and a range of elegant restaurants, are situated immediately opposite the hotel. As well as the delights of Harrogate, the hotel makes an ideal base for those wishing to visit Leeds, York or the beautiful Yorkshire Dales. Alternatively, visit the famous Betty’s Tea Rooms, and for those who like to shop, enjoy the exclusive small boutiques and various antique shops situated in the Montpellier quarter. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your The St George Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saint George Harrogate
Hotel Saint George
St George Hotel Harrogate
The St George Hotel Harrogate, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing