We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend Trip”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The St George Hotel
Ranked #22 of 30 Hotels in Harrogate
Reviewed October 21, 2012

Comfortable and friendly hotel. Excellent facilities. Good choice of food. Staff very pleasant and helpful. Well situated for sightseeing in Harrogate and for the surrounding area. Adviseable to pre-book parking space as difficult to find parking due to hotel being in the town. Dining room and bar area have been nicely decorated but the corridor areas would benefit from upgrade in decoration. The Spa and exercise area were good but the changing rooms could do with an upgrade.Would stay there again and recommend the hotel to family and friends

Room Tip: Standard rooms are overlooking the car park and were adequate, also very quiet. If you want a view a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MAUREEN J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EdwinaStevens, General Manager at The St George Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2012

Your review is a pleasure to read, I am pleased that you enjoyed your weekend break with us. We have already started a full redecoration of the hotel corridors and you must have been on the 1st or 2nd floors as the third floor is now completed. They have started with the ceilings on the other two floors and are making great progress. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future and thank you for recommending us to family and friends.

Regards
Edwina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,092)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

783 - 789 of 1,092 reviews

Reviewed October 14, 2012

My parents organised their golden wedding anniversary party here and 12 of us went for a meal. The hotel has seen better days. many Harrogate hotels were fabulous 20 years ago but the world has moved on and the have failed to keep pace. The staff were very helpful and polite. The food was extremely poor and the large dining room lacked atmosphere. We had pleasant evening but I would not choose to return there are much nicer places in Harrogate.

Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
1  Thank Beartravels2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EdwinaStevens, General Manager at The St George Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 19, 2012

I am disappointed to read about your experience in our restaurant last week. We often receive praise for our food as you will have seen in other reviews. I can’t understand why the restaurant lacked atmosphere as we were very busy on the evening you dined. As a gesture of goodwill and to prove that we do indeed serve excellent food I would like to invite your parents to join us for Sunday Lunch which we are starting to offer from this weekend. Please contact me directly to make a booking for them.
Kind Regards
Edwina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2012

We had read some of the other reviews and didn;t know what to expect at the St George. However, we needn't have worried because everything at the hotel was perfect. We had a lovely room, beautifully decorated, large bathroom with a good powerful shower. The public areas of the hotel were spacious and tastefully decorated. We thought the staff were friendly and helpful and dressed very smartly. There was a bit of noise from outside on Saturday night, but only what you would expect from staying in the middle of a town. The only downside was the parking issue, we were unable to book a parking space and had to park in a residential road which was a fair walk. But on the whole, the hotel provided a very relaxing and comfortable stay and WE WOULD NOT HESITATE TO RECOMMEND.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tracy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EdwinaStevens, General Manager at The St George Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 19, 2012

Thank you for taking the time and effort to post such a positive review. I am pleased to hear that you found everything perfect and that previous negative reviews were not accurate. I am sorry that you booked too late to book a parking space with us, I assume you parked on Dutchy Road which is a five minute walk away. I took great pleasure in passing your kind comments on to the staff.
Kind Regards
Edwina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2012

Arrived on Friday 14th September only to find you had to reserve car parking spaces in advance at £5 per night or use expensive pay car parks or park some distance away if you could find room.
Staff friendly enough and hotel clean and spacious and rooms excellent but food was another big disappointment.
Self service breakfast no problem. Dinner plenty of problems. Roast lamb on third night was so tough our knives and teeth could not penentrate it. The roast beef served to the rest of our party was no better. Standard of dinners overall was very poor.
Beware of giving this hotel your debit/credit card to act as a deposit for your spending on your account. They took £120 out of mine and when I settled my account for £45 spent they failed to release the £120 meaning my bank would not allow me to use my own money. It took three irate phone calls to get it corrected and 4 days to sort out.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank macmorley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EdwinaStevens, General Manager at The St George Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2012

I'm glad you found the hotel to be clean and comfortable. It surprises me that you did not enjoy the food as we receive many compliments, I wonder did you raise your concerns during your stay?. We introduced the parking charge to give guests peace of mind knowing their space was reserved. I apologise for the problem you encountered with your card, the pre authorisation we take should be realeased as soon as your account is settled.

Kind Regards
Edwina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2012

a hotel situated in the heart of town friendly staff.good foodand choice of menu.and meal times..large bedroomand bathroom very clean and kept tidy during the week.towels could be changed every day if wanted tv;s could do with upgrading.

Room Tip: choose first floor rooms at rear of hotel as alittle noisey at front
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EdwinaStevens, General Manager at The St George Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2012

What a lovely review of our hotel - thank you. I'm sure you will be pleased to learn that all the TV's have now been replaced with new flat screen TV's which has made a big improvement.
Don't leave it too long before you return
Regards
Edwina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2012

We stayed for three nights to relax in Harrogate and surrounding area. The room was very large with lovely big beds. The pool and spa facilities were all pleasant and we often had them to ourselves. Breakfast was fine and the dining room a lovely room with good service. Some of the hallways had tired decor but this did not detract from the lovely old building.

Room Tip: We had a room at the back overlooking the car park it was lovely and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Raskin72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EdwinaStevens, General Manager at The St George Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2012

Thank you for your complimentary review, we do have some lovely large bedrooms and it's great to relax in our Leisure Club. I will pass on your comments to the staff who love to hear that our guests have enjoyed themselves. We are presently working on decorating the corridors to brighten them up, as I'm sure you realise that's a huge task due to the size of the building.
Hope to see you again in Harrogate
Regards
Edwina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2012

While the hotel has seen better days it was clean and comfortable. All the staff were polite and helpful, the breakfast service was fast and efficient.
The single room I stayed in was very comfy, could do with more storage or a suitcase stand.
I had read some other reviews which found lots of faults so I wasn't sure what to expect but I must say I was pleasantly surprised by the the standard.
The only thing that could be looked at is handing in your key when you go out,at times the was a queue at reception to collect your key.
Had a really enjoyable stay and hope to visit again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Sheila O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EdwinaStevens, General Manager at The St George Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2012

I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us and agree that some of the previous reviews are somewhat harsh. It is not compulsory to hand in your key when you go out it is just preferred for security reasons and in order to save time checking empty rooms in the event of an emergency evacuation. I hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you again.

Regards
Edwina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Harrogate hotels
0.1 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#14 of 30 in Harrogate
1,326 reviews
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Harrogate
Crowne Plaza Harrogate
#6 of 30 in Harrogate
219 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Majestic Hotel
The Majestic Hotel
#17 of 30 in Harrogate
2,917 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Cedar Court Hotel
0.3 mi away
Hotel du Vin and Bistro
Hotel du Vin and Bistro
#10 of 30 in Harrogate
1,154 reviews
0.2 mi away
White Hart Hotel
White Hart Hotel
#13 of 30 in Harrogate
1,690 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The St George Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The St George Hotel

Address: 1 Ripon Road, Harrogate HG1 2SY, England (Formerly Coast & Country St George Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Harrogate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Harrogate
Price Range: $74 - $163 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The St George Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the most famous hotels in Harrogate, the St. George is a magnificent Edwardian property situated in the heart of this historic spa town. Its location, adjacent to the Harrogate International Centre’s Exhibition Halls and the Royal Hall, makes it ideal for both leisure and business travellers. The Royal Baths, with the newly refurbished Turkish baths and a range of elegant restaurants, are situated immediately opposite the hotel. As well as the delights of Harrogate, the hotel makes an ideal base for those wishing to visit Leeds, York or the beautiful Yorkshire Dales. Alternatively, visit the famous Betty’s Tea Rooms, and for those who like to shop, enjoy the exclusive small boutiques and various antique shops situated in the Montpellier quarter. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Orbitz so you can book your The St George Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saint George Harrogate
Hotel Saint George
St George Hotel Harrogate
The St George Hotel Harrogate, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing