We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Past Glory”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The St George Hotel
Ranked #21 of 28 Hotels in Harrogate
Reviewed January 23, 2012

We've just had a weekend at the St. George Hotel. The food was good and our rooms were clean. The pianist on Saturday night in the entrance areal was a nice touch.

However, we had been to the St George when it was a Swallow Hotel and we were a little disappointed. The furnishings in the entrance had obviously recently been replaced but the huge orange lights were horrible and did not go with the furnishings. It was a cold weekend and with people in/out it was very cold to sit in the area near the door - nothing to stop any drafts blowing in.

Our room was adequate but was in need of redecorating but the bedding was lovely and clean. The beds were very soft (not good when you have a bad back).

We have been in other Coast and Country Hotels and the St George did not really come up to scratch. The staff were not particularly helpful and the young lady on reception when we arrived appeared to have a problem understanding us.

Room Tip: We had a view over the car park and there appeared to be air condition (or similar) which started up...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JENNYScunthorpe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EdwinaStevens, General Manager at The St George Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 15, 2012

I'm sorry that the refurbishment of the lounge and the lighting in this area is not to your taste, the designers worked hard to keep the hotel features traditional whilst implementing a contemporary edge. During the recent cold spell we have put additional heating in the lounge and bar area as they are so spacious and can become chilly.
My staff work tirelessly to help guests and ensure they enjoy their stay with us, I have one receptionist within my team who does not speak English as her first language however I can assure you she has a great understanding. A visit to Harrogate in the Summer is a totally different experience, perhaps you may wish to take advantage of one of Shearings many fantastic deals and visit us again.

Regards
Edwina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,129)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

899 - 905 of 1,129 reviews

Reviewed January 22, 2012

Booked this Mon to Fri trip a week before we went with Shearings. Try to request a room not on the front as road noise was quite apparent. Also an issue with the "hot towel rail" it was never hot ! A lovely hotel with plenty of old fashioned features. If you want a sterile environment do not book this hotel. The hotel staff were fantastic nothing was too much trouble. The pool was wonderful, well maintained and again fabulous staff on duty. Food was by far the best standard i have experienced in a Shearings hotel. Excellent selection every evening and served on hot plates by attentative staff. As always with these inclusive holidays you will always get the "moaners" but i tend to say to them " Have you booked and paid for 5* Standard?" For a 4 night super break away in a well managed central hotel for the money we paid was superb value for money. Well done!

Room Tip: try not to have a room on the front
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MeltonTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EdwinaStevens, General Manager at The St George Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 25, 2012

Your honest and frank review is great to read Coast and Country Hotels do offer some fantastic value holidays, I’m sorry about the towel rail in your room if you stay again with us, please feel free to ask the staff and they will show you how it works. I look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind Regards
Edwina Stevens

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2012

From the moment we arrived the staff were excellent and the food also. The menu changed every day. I have no hesitation in recommending a stay at the St. George.

Room Tip: Any room will ensure a comfy stay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Raymond A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EdwinaStevens, General Manager at The St George Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 25, 2012

Thank you for such a complimentary review, I look forward to welcoming you back to the St George Hotel or one of our other Coast and Country Hotels.

Regards
Edwina Stevens

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2012

We stayed at the St George for 2 nights in early Dec 2011 . After a difficult journey ( we were held up due to a serious road accident ) we arrived at around 6pm . Due to the fact a coach party were being booked in we were given little or no assistance by reception . Therefore we did not have the relevant information when we went down for our meal , which made things awkward to say the least . Our room was cold and in a very poor state of repair . The bathroom was terrible with peeling wall paper , no heating and the shower did not work properly . The food , when we eventually had a meal was good to be fair and the Spa was lovely and clean . Having looked forward to the break with my friend , which was a gift for Christmas from my partner , we could not wait to leave . The staff seemed under pressure due to the volume of guests and were mainly irritable ( with the exception of one or two ). We chatted to several guests who were equally unhappy and the general consensus was to just put up with it and not stay there again .This is a shame because the Hotel is very central and with a good refurb could be lovely . Although we may not have paid a vast amount for our break we all felt that it was OUR holiday and should expect and be given little more . A little tip , car parking is a nightmare and it is on a first come first served basis , if you need easy access to your vehicle this can prove very difficult . One gentleman , who was disabled , had spent over an hour trying to sort things out with reception with little or no assistance . You will be given a voucher if there is no space and will have to park wherever you can find a place on the nearby streets . This is not an easy task .Harrogate is a lovely town and we will go back but will stay somewhere else as all the issues and problems really spoiled our trip .

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Tina D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EdwinaStevens, General Manager at The St George Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 25, 2012

I’m sorry to read in your review that you didn’t feel that reception had provided enough assistance, naturally when guests are checking in it can be busy, however we provide all guests with all information that they may require whilst staying in the Hotel and always offer to make dinner reservations for guests whilst they are checking in.
As I have mentioned before we are following a continual refurbishment programme and we rely on the comments from our guests to improve areas that may require attention, I’m concerned that you mention the shower in your room didn’t work and wonder if you reported this at the time, to enable my team to have rectified the problem for you.
Car parking is limited at the Hotel and we do offer alternative solutions for guests, that are both free and chargeable, any guests who require further assistance will be given it if we are made aware.

Regards
Edwina Stevens

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2012

Myself, my wife Jenny and her sister Susan arrived here from Devon on a Shearings short break! This Hotel far exceeded our expectations. Our room was of a good size and the en - suite bathroom large and well equiped.Thoughtfully the hotel had arranged a single room right opposite ours for Sister.On arrival Porters carried our luggage to our room (how many hotels offer this service?) - The Dining Room was very elegant and the evening 3 course meals were delicious, complimented by efficient and friendly waiters dressed for the part!
The Menu offered ample choices and the wine was reasonably priced - coffee was available in the ante room after dinner,
Breakfast was self - serve except for coffee brought to the table by waiters, but here again the choice of food was exceptional.after Dinner a well stocked bar was available or chill out in the lounge.we cannot speak to highly of the staff who were friendly, helpful and efficient.we would love to stay here again.

Room Tip: Rooms away from the main road are qieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EdwinaStevens, General Manager at The St George Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 25, 2012

How wonderful to read your five star review, thank you so much for your comments, I look forward to welcoming you back to the Hotel again. Your room tip is very valuable, due to our fantastic central location in the town, if you are a light sleeper it’s a good idea to request a room at the back of the Hotel at the time of booking.

Kind Regards
Edwina Stevens

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2011

We stayed for one night at st Georges. we found our room and bathroom a little tired in need of a lick of paint yet our stay was comfortable. The location is perfect to see the town of harrogate.Breakfast was excellent value for money.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tryall29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EdwinaStevens, General Manager at The St George Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 25, 2012

Thanks for your comments, we are continually working on improving areas of the Hotel. If you would like to come back and visit us again, why not upgrade to one of our Superior Rooms.

Regards
Edwina Stevens

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2011

My friends and I all enjoyed our stay at the St George the rooms and bathrooms were large and warm. The bed was very comfortable. The food was excellent the dining room staff friendly and helpfull a well run unit within the hotel by dining room manager Angelia.
The entertainment was poor on christmas eve,but christmas day with Sue Cassidy and boxing day with Dave Davis who were both excellent.

On the down side all public arears were very poorly decorated with christmas decorations.

All in all a lovely break and excellent value for money.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EdwinaStevens, General Manager at The St George Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 25, 2012

I’m pleased to read that you enjoyed your Christmas break with us and will ensure that Angela is aware of your praise. We try to offer a variety of entertainment to suit individual tastes. I’m sorry you felt the public areas weren’t decorated enough. I hope this won’t put you off coming to visit us again over the Christmas period.

Kind Regards
Edwina Stevens

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Harrogate hotels
0.1 mi away
The Majestic Hotel
The Majestic Hotel
#16 of 28 in Harrogate
3,160 reviews
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Harrogate
Crowne Plaza Harrogate
#7 of 28 in Harrogate
350 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kimberley Hotel
Kimberley Hotel
#8 of 28 in Harrogate
1,789 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Cairn Hotel
Cairn Hotel
#11 of 28 in Harrogate
1,528 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#14 of 28 in Harrogate
1,392 reviews
0.7 mi away
Cedar Court Hotel
Cedar Court Hotel
#12 of 28 in Harrogate
2,384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The St George Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The St George Hotel

Address: 1 Ripon Road, Harrogate HG1 2SY, England (Formerly Coast & Country St George Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Harrogate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Harrogate
Price Range: $72 - $175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The St George Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the most famous hotels in Harrogate, the St. George is a magnificent Edwardian property situated in the heart of this historic spa town. Its location, adjacent to the Harrogate International Centre’s Exhibition Halls and the Royal Hall, makes it ideal for both leisure and business travellers. The Royal Baths, with the newly refurbished Turkish baths and a range of elegant restaurants, are situated immediately opposite the hotel. As well as the delights of Harrogate, the hotel makes an ideal base for those wishing to visit Leeds, York or the beautiful Yorkshire Dales. Alternatively, visit the famous Betty’s Tea Rooms, and for those who like to shop, enjoy the exclusive small boutiques and various antique shops situated in the Montpellier quarter. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Orbitz and HotelQuickly so you can book your The St George Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Saint George Harrogate
Hotel Saint George
St George Hotel Harrogate
The St George Hotel Harrogate, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing