We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“christmas visit”
Review of Old Swan Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Old Swan Hotel
Ranked #18 of 30 Hotels in Harrogate
Reviewed January 10, 2014

The hotel was very disappointing and below the standard of other hotels in this group. We had booked optimistically for the Christmas break. It was tired and needed refurbishment. There was not a chest of drawers in the hotel and nowhere to put clothes other than a small wardrobe. The lighting in the rooms was awful and so it was difficult to read. The food was not very good and did not live up to expectations. The Christmas night buffet was adisfrace and the promosed boxing day brunch was non existent. All the staff were helpful and friendly . The hotel management does not acknowledge or reply to correspondence. I doubt if we will stay at any other hotels in this group again as there is no guarantee of standard

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank roger v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David R, General Manager at Old Swan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 27, 2014

Dear reviewer,

Thank you for your comments and taking the time to write to me with your feedback. As per our conversation I have noted your comments and I apologise that you were not impressed.

I hope you enjoy your stay at our sister hotel in June.

Kind regards
David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,748)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,064 - 1,070 of 1,748 reviews

Reviewed January 9, 2014

Fantastic 2 night stay for the new year, clean spacious room, tea and coffee, nice shower, excellent company, good food, a little rushed on new years eve but i guess they want to clear away quickly. A new years eve to remember, well done all the staff,

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mick W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David R, General Manager at Old Swan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 27, 2014

Dear reviewer,

Thanks for your comments and feedback on the New Years celebrations - I agree it was a great night!

Kind regards
David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2014

dinner bed and breakfast for new years eve would defiantly staff helpful large rooms recommend it,had fantastic night.Able to walk into Harrogate and have a wander around.will be staying again next year

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nightingale994
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David R, General Manager at Old Swan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 27, 2014

Dear reviewer,

Thank you for your 5 star review - much appreciated by the team and I!

We look forward to seeing you again next year, hopefully before?

Kind regards
David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2013

Stayed here last night following a wedding reception. The car parking is ample and the welcome is friendly and professional. The rooms are absolutely fine and we had a well earned good night's sleep. The lift seems a bit antiquated and took ages to arrive on two occasions, but we were on the 2nd floor so took the stairs. A very good breakfast was served by friendly staff - full marks to 'Carol' in this respect.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JohnWSedgley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David R, General Manager at Old Swan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 27, 2014

Dear reviewer,

Thank you for your 5 star review - everyone appreciates your comments, especially Carol!

We look forward to seeing you again soon

Kind regards
David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2013 via mobile

we got married here in December. the venue is splendid and grand in size. we had the red room for the breakfast which was the perfect size and was decorated for Christmas. the wedding meal was superb, a warm leek soup for starter, a monstrous chicken breast with diaphanous potato and sticky toffee pudding all were lovely.
we had a great evening party and all was perfect. our wedding room was gigantic and made it very special.
the next day we had a breakfast and it was great. hot bacon black pudding beans mushroom, everything!
I would recommend this place to anyone.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
Thank Carlos R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David R, General Manager at Old Swan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 27, 2014

Dear reviewer,

Thank you for your positive feedback and belated congratulations!

Glad you enjoyed your special day

Kind regards
David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2013

ideally situated in its own grounds right in the heart of Harrogate is the Old Swan hotel. We stayed here for a Christmas break and were made to feel very welcome. I was lucky enough to be staying in the very spacious (but not particularly warm) room where Agatha Christie stayed when she vanished for 10 days! This is a lovely grand old hotel and the staff were very good. Many fine reception rooms including the garden room ballroom where Christmas dinner was served. The food was excellent. It is too 'grand' to be cosy, it would have been nice if there was an atmospheric old bar rather than a very formal brightly lit one. The hotel seems to cater more for older clientele so the entertainment was a little bit disappointing. Menus were sent out at time of booking and we had to select all our meals weeks in advance. I understand their reason for this when catering for 200 people but would have preferred to choose on the day. Nice little touches, such as receiving a surprise santa's stocking outside my room on Christmas morning.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fiona M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David R, General Manager at Old Swan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 27, 2014

Dear reviewer,

Thank you for your review of your stay at Christmas, it always feels like a special time of year at the Old Swan!

Apologies for the disappoinments you mention but glad to read that you enjoyed it overall.

Kind regards
David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the hotel as part of the company Christmas function. The hotel has a great deal of character and is really interesting. The food was very good with an exceptional breakfast. All in all it was a very good hotel and I would be happy to stay there again.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jeremy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David R, General Manager at Old Swan Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 27, 2014

Dear reviewer,

We hope you meant 'Quaint'! and thank you for your positive feedback!

Glad you enjoyed your party and overnight stay, hopefully we'll see you again before this Christmas?!

Kind regards
David

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Harrogate hotels
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Harrogate
Crowne Plaza Harrogate
#6 of 30 in Harrogate
268 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#14 of 30 in Harrogate
1,347 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Majestic Hotel
The Majestic Hotel
#17 of 30 in Harrogate
2,993 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Cairn Hotel
Cairn Hotel
#11 of 30 in Harrogate
1,485 reviews
0.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Cedar Court Hotel
0.6 mi away
The West Park Hotel
The West Park Hotel
#2 of 30 in Harrogate
639 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Swan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Swan Hotel

Address: Swan Road, Harrogate HG1 2SR, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Harrogate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Harrogate
Price Range: $102 - $200 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Old Swan Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dating back to 1840, The Old Swan Hotel is one of Harrogate's oldest & most cherished hotels; its Victorian splendour and traditional elegance is complimented today by a modern & contemporary environment.The hotel boasts 136 stylish bedrooms and ten suites(Some featuring four-poster beds and roll-top baths),a restaurant and bar, nine conferences suites,free Wi-Fi access and car parking spaces.The hotel is in the centre of Harrogate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Old Swan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Swan Harrogate
Hotel Old Swan
Old Swan Hotel Harrogate, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing