We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent old fashioned service and quality”
Review of Old Swan Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Old Swan Hotel
Ranked #16 of 30 Hotels in Harrogate
Linlithgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Excellent old fashioned service and quality”
Reviewed December 28, 2013

Stayed here last night following a wedding reception. The car parking is ample and the welcome is friendly and professional. The rooms are absolutely fine and we had a well earned good night's sleep. The lift seems a bit antiquated and took ages to arrive on two occasions, but we were on the 2nd floor so took the stairs. A very good breakfast was served by friendly staff - full marks to 'Carol' in this respect.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JohnWSedgley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David R, General Manager at Old Swan Hotel, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Dear reviewer,

Thank you for your 5 star review - everyone appreciates your comments, especially Carol!

We look forward to seeing you again soon

Kind regards
David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,654 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    422
    573
    369
    175
    115
See reviews for
191
872
37
202
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (382)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2013 via mobile

we got married here in December. the venue is splendid and grand in size. we had the red room for the breakfast which was the perfect size and was decorated for Christmas. the wedding meal was superb, a warm leek soup for starter, a monstrous chicken breast with diaphanous potato and sticky toffee pudding all were lovely.
we had a great evening party and all was perfect. our wedding room was gigantic and made it very special.
the next day we had a breakfast and it was great. hot bacon black pudding beans mushroom, everything!
I would recommend this place to anyone.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Carlos R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David R, General Manager at Old Swan Hotel, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Dear reviewer,

Thank you for your positive feedback and belated congratulations!

Glad you enjoyed your special day

Kind regards
David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
85 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2013

ideally situated in its own grounds right in the heart of Harrogate is the Old Swan hotel. We stayed here for a Christmas break and were made to feel very welcome. I was lucky enough to be staying in the very spacious (but not particularly warm) room where Agatha Christie stayed when she vanished for 10 days! This is a lovely grand old hotel and the staff were very good. Many fine reception rooms including the garden room ballroom where Christmas dinner was served. The food was excellent. It is too 'grand' to be cosy, it would have been nice if there was an atmospheric old bar rather than a very formal brightly lit one. The hotel seems to cater more for older clientele so the entertainment was a little bit disappointing. Menus were sent out at time of booking and we had to select all our meals weeks in advance. I understand their reason for this when catering for 200 people but would have preferred to choose on the day. Nice little touches, such as receiving a surprise santa's stocking outside my room on Christmas morning.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fiona M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David R, General Manager at Old Swan Hotel, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Dear reviewer,

Thank you for your review of your stay at Christmas, it always feels like a special time of year at the Old Swan!

Apologies for the disappoinments you mention but glad to read that you enjoyed it overall.

Kind regards
David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Downham Market, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the hotel as part of the company Christmas function. The hotel has a great deal of character and is really interesting. The food was very good with an exceptional breakfast. All in all it was a very good hotel and I would be happy to stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeremy N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David R, General Manager at Old Swan Hotel, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Dear reviewer,

We hope you meant 'Quaint'! and thank you for your positive feedback!

Glad you enjoyed your party and overnight stay, hopefully we'll see you again before this Christmas?!

Kind regards
David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2013

Stayed there overnight early December. A very short walk from the town, no more than three minutes and about five minutes from the train station. I didnt park there but there seemed to be plenty of parking available.

Nice hotel friendly staff. Given a massive room all nicely laid out and good quality. The hotel is so huge that it felt that the walk to the room was longer than the one from the station. But what do you expect in an old traditional hotel; not a problem for me.

Excellent breakfast cooked to order. Ideal for an overnight stay and probably longer

Room Tip: Turn up slightly late, risky but I think I got a room upgrade.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Heyadad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David R, General Manager at Old Swan Hotel, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Dear reviewer

Thank you for your positive review and I am pleased that you enjoyed your visit to the area.

Kind regards
David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed December 26, 2013 via mobile

Booked last minute romantic night at this hotel, boy was it not! Parking and reception both good. Large hotel and a long way to our room, 251. Asked for room with a view but didn't expect view of the glass ground floor roof, whilst view from bathroom to car park from plain glass window was just weird, sitting on the loo with just a net curtain to shield you! Still, bathroom recently refurbished... no towel rail within reach of bath nor basin!! Room otherwise fine with large screen tv. Took our mulled wine and mince pie voucher to the bar/lounge and sat by the cosy roaring fire which seemed a good start to our break - how romantic, not! Wedding party fever took over - what is it with wedding guests? Two came and sat opposite us by the fire, spoiling our moment, my birthday night, then the whole room filled up with a massive noisy wedding, and the two people opposite us were joined by others, one standing over me, almost on my knee. The hotel must have been resetting their room for the evening do. We went back to our room, the moment spoilt. Thankfully, the restaurant was relatively quiet but we were ushered to a table for 2 in the middle of the room - our pet hate. Why do hotels and restaurants use table for two people to fill up the room - use the space for 4 or more who wont notice anyone watching them. The girls swapped us to a more suitable table where we enjoyed a lovely meal. Apart from me being served roasted veg with a fish dish and my spouse no veg with a roast meal, it was nicely presented and perfectly cooked. The staff were lovely, very friendly. We couldn't go back to the bar due to the wedding party taking over the room and it was chucking it down outside, so back to our room with no view. We went to breakfast in the restaurant of this otherwise quite nice hotel, 3*, and table situation cropped up again. Having dealt with it, service was a bit mixed. Got toast before tea. Cooked breakfast yukky; claggy black pudd, cardboard bacon (either cooked in oven or kept warm in oven - why do this, there weren't enough people in at any point not to cook from fresh), tasteless sausage, and considering room service for this would have been £14.95 plus £3 tray charge, it's the most expensive breakfast I've not eaten. At the point when the wedding party in shorts and trainers started arriving, we checked out, never to return. We searched hard for somewhere we hadn't been already for a quick pre-Christmas, birthday break. Individual things mentioned might not bother some people, so take this as you find, just as I do with other people's reviews, but put together and in the context of our reason for staying here, and after having very recently stayed at Whitley Hall near Sheffield, for the same cost, who also had a wedding on but which did not impact upon us in any way, there's no competition! We will pick more carefully in future!

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Morgansrest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David R, General Manager at Old Swan Hotel, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Dear reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments although I am sorry that your experience was poor. I apologise that the wedding party had such a negative impact on your stay and can empathise with your comments.

Please contact me on your next visit to the area and I will make the arrangements for a truly romantic break.

Apologies once more

David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Harrogate hotels

North Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
109 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed December 23, 2013

We stayed on a Friday overnight. Friendly reception staff on duty on arrival.Had booked a special offer through Expedia. Delightful decor in this olde worlde hotel . It stands impressively at the top of the road within a short walk into Harrogate centre.The room was clean, nice decor and comfy bed. Quiet location . Wish we had booked for 2 nights.Breakfast was tasty . Opted for full English. Good selection of cereal,fruit, croissants e.t.c. Will definitely return

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jenny1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David R, General Manager at Old Swan Hotel, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Dear reviewer,

Thank you for your 'spledid' title and comments - much appreciated and glad you had a good stay!

Kind regards
David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Harrogate hotels
0.2 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#14 of 30 in Harrogate
1,259 reviews
0.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Cedar Court Hotel
0.2 mi away
The Majestic Hotel
The Majestic Hotel
#18 of 30 in Harrogate
2,691 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Harrogate
Crowne Plaza Harrogate
#10 of 30 in Harrogate
107 reviews
0.6 mi away
The West Park Hotel
The West Park Hotel
#2 of 30 in Harrogate
588 reviews
2.7 mi away
Rudding Park Hotel
Rudding Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Follifoot
4,534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Swan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Swan Hotel

Property: Old Swan Hotel
Address: Swan Road, Harrogate HG1 2SR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Harrogate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Harrogate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Old Swan Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dating back to 1840, The Old Swan Hotel is one of Harrogate's oldest & most cherished hotels; its Victorian splendour and traditional elegance is complimented today by a modern & contemporary environment.The hotel boasts 136 stylish bedrooms and ten suites(Some featuring four-poster beds and roll-top baths),a restaurant and bar, nine conferences suites,free Wi-Fi access and car parking spaces.The hotel is in the centre of Harrogate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, LateRooms, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Old Swan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Swan Harrogate
Hotel Old Swan
Old Swan Hotel Harrogate, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing