We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend with friends”
Review of Old Swan Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Old Swan Hotel
Ranked #16 of 30 Hotels in Harrogate
Bradford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Weekend with friends”
Reviewed October 18, 2013

We spent the weekend with friends to celebrate a special birthday. Everything about the hotel was fantastic - the staff were extremely helpful, the food delicious and the room excellent. The attention to detail within the room was outstanding. Thank you to all for making it such a great weekend. Would definitely recommend to family and friends for a break in the Harrogate/Dales area.

Room Tip: Upgrade to the Agatha suite...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bernard R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David R, General Manager at Old Swan Hotel, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Dear reviewer, thank you for taking the time to post your positive comments and I am pleased that you enjoyed your weekend break in Harrogate. The chefs and the team in housekeeping are chuffed that you praised their hard efforts and we look forward to welcoming you (and your friends!) back soon.
Kind regards
David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,675 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    427
    579
    375
    178
    116
See reviews for
193
882
37
207
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (388)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bradford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2013

We had our wedding here on 27.09.2013 and I couldn’t have asked for anything better. The staff are amazing and so helpful, especially Jessica and Jamie. Nothing was a problem for them and they made myself and all of our guests feel very welcome.

They made sure my day ran as smoothly as possible and even helped find me a ring when my husband forgot the wedding bands! Which I couldn't thank Jamie enough for. The day ran perfectly and all my guests had the most amazing time.

The venue is beautiful and has so much character and charm. The food is beautiful too. It's in a perfect location, only a 5 minute walk from Harrogate Centre.

Overall, the venue is wonderful and the staff there are so helpful and polite. We shall definitely be returning.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jodie__10388
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David R, General Manager at Old Swan Hotel, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Dear reviewer,

Congratulations on your recent wedding and thank you for choosing our hotel as the venue for your reception!

Both Jessica and Jamie are really pleased that you enjoyed your special day - hopefully you have forgiven your new husband for forgetting the rings by now!! and I am pleased to hear that Jamie came to the rescue!

We look forward to welcoming you back.
Kind regards
David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 15, 2013

We have just returned home after our 3 night stay at the Old Swan Hotel Harrogate, the staff where friendly and very helpful. The hotel is in a great location and handy to the shops. The rooms where spacious, very clean and the beds where comfortable. Plenty of car parking available at the hotel which was good as we where travelling in a coach We will definitely make a return to this hotel in the future.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruth A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David R, General Manager at Old Swan Hotel, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Dear reviewer, thank you for your positive review, your group were very welcome and we look forward to the next time....Christmas shopping maybe?!
Thanks again
David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2013 via mobile

After staying and eating in the hotel 3 years ago I suggested to my husband that we eat here on our weekend in Harrogate. We were not disappointed by the grandeur of the dining room. The food was excellent with amazing flavours. The portions of the starter were a little small but all in all a very good meal in lovely surroundings. Service good-attentive without being intrusive. Try it.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Biffo81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David R, General Manager at Old Swan Hotel, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Dear reviewer, thank you for taking the time to review your experience with us, I hope it won't be as long till your next visit! Thanks for the recommendation.
Kind regards
David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
west yorkshire
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2013

Stayed overnight with a group of friends for Jons 50th
Excellant hotel with splendid food nothing too much trouble for the staff , very welcoming and accommodating , would definitely return will watch out for the murder mystery weekend.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gloria51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David R, General Manager at Old Swan Hotel, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Dear reviewer, glad you enjoyed your stay, thanks for the review and hopefully see again soon.

Kind regards

David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gibraltar
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights early October. The room furnishings are fine but some of the common areas of the hotel are in need of updating as are the window surrounds. The hotel is in a great location for the centre of Harrogate and has adequate parking if you want to use a car to visit the surrounding area. All told we had a nice stay and would go back.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank clark249
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David R, General Manager at Old Swan Hotel, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Dear reviewer, many thanks for posting your review and constructive comment.

We are currently redecorating all of our bedroom corridors, public areas and external window frames as part of our ongoing investment in to maintaining the condition of the hotel. We also shall shortly be replacing some old bedroom windows with new as part of the same project.

Thanks again
David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Skipton, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2013

Just come back from a fantastic weekend at the Old Swan and could not fault anything. The staff were very welcoming, friendly and helpful ( thank you for all your little extra touches to make it very personal and special). The executive rooms were lovely and well worth the money we paid, chocolates, fluffy dressing gowns and slippers included. Food and wine excellent.. Will definitely be staying again in the future ..

Room Tip: Upgrade to executive rooms if you can
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gaynor772
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David R, General Manager at Old Swan Hotel, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Dear reviewer, thank you for your glowing report and I am really pleased that you enjoyed your visit. We agree that the little touches make the difference and the team continue to strive to deliver this approach to all of our guests.

Many thanks
David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Harrogate hotels
0.2 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#14 of 30 in Harrogate
1,277 reviews
0.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Cedar Court Hotel
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Harrogate
Crowne Plaza Harrogate
#11 of 30 in Harrogate
137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Majestic Hotel
The Majestic Hotel
#18 of 30 in Harrogate
2,724 reviews
0.6 mi away
The West Park Hotel
The West Park Hotel
#2 of 30 in Harrogate
596 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ascot House Hotel Harrogate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Swan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Swan Hotel

Property: Old Swan Hotel
Address: Swan Road, Harrogate HG1 2SR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Harrogate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Harrogate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Old Swan Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dating back to 1840, The Old Swan Hotel is one of Harrogate's oldest & most cherished hotels; its Victorian splendour and traditional elegance is complimented today by a modern & contemporary environment.The hotel boasts 136 stylish bedrooms and ten suites(Some featuring four-poster beds and roll-top baths),a restaurant and bar, nine conferences suites,free Wi-Fi access and car parking spaces.The hotel is in the centre of Harrogate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, LateRooms, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Old Swan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Swan Harrogate
Hotel Old Swan
Old Swan Hotel Harrogate, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing