We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful historic hotel”
Review of Old Swan Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Old Swan Hotel
Ranked #16 of 30 Hotels in Harrogate
Lymm, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Beautiful historic hotel”
Reviewed September 30, 2013

We stayed at this beautiful, historic hotel ideally situated just on the edge of Harrogate for a very special anniversary. The hotel and the staff were extremely pleasant and helpful, the ambience of this lovely old hotel was wonderful and the setting in acres of green lawn was beautiful. The hotel had very kindly upgraded us to a suite on the top floor - unfortunately the heat was oppressive in the unseasonably warm weather and the old sash windows only opened a few inches ... no air conditioning, but we did procure a fan for our second night which helped! Everything was spotlessly clean and the bathroom had recently been renovated. Excellent service but could do with some more mod cons!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jan5656
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David R, General Manager at Old Swan Hotel, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Dear reviewer, many thanks for your constructive feedback, we do not advertise that we have air conditioning but sorry you were a bit disappointed and thanks for your other kind comments.
Regards
David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,628 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    418
    565
    362
    171
    112
See reviews for
186
862
35
199
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (377)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brighouse, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2013

Wonderfully central, lots of parking. Good sized double room, the bed was very comfortable.Large bathroom with powerful shower. The hotel was full but no area felt crowded. Looking forward to a return visit for my nephews wedding.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CarolJS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David R, General Manager at Old Swan Hotel, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Dear 'girls', thanks for your review and we look forward to seeing you soon!
Regards
David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stevenage, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 27, 2013

Very nice hotel situated very near to the main town, we had a on suite bathroom but there was no extractor in the room and it turned into a steam room. The breakfast room is brillent its like going back 100 years and thats just the staff

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Grahame B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David R, General Manager at Old Swan Hotel, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Dear reviewer, thank you for your interesting comments and apologies for any inconvenience. All of our bathrooms have some form of ventilation - I will be investigating your comments.
Thanks
David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
112 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2013

The Old Swan was obviously once a great hotel that has now faded somewhat. The main dining room is magnificent with a wonderful glass lantern ceiling but to restore it to full glory would take a lot of money!
My room was comfortable and clean. The bathroom had been sort of refurbished with new tiling but with no furnishings, blinds etc. The feeling is that things have been done on a limited budget.
On a positive note the staff were very helpful and the man at reception personally came to help when I had a key problem on arrival.
Breakfast was disappointing though, poorly cooked sausages and dry bacon.
The majority of guests at breakfast summed things up, holidaying pensioners and BT engineers!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OlasM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David R, General Manager at Old Swan Hotel, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Dear reviewer, sorry your stay was not good enough, I appreciate your feedback and will continue working to improve. We are currently redecorating and are continually striving to maintain and improve the hotels condition and service levels.
Apologies once more
David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 24, 2013

Myself and my husband got married in the Old Swan Hotel in September 13. The location and hotel is perfect for all guests - from small children to grandparents. We had many people travelling from Ireland with large families and the hotel is perfect as they have suits that will comfortably sleep two adults with 4 children. The bridal suite was gorgeous. Nothing but praise for the hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ktrhodes16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David R, General Manager at Old Swan Hotel, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
Dear reviewer, Congratulations!! And thanks so much for taking the time to review your special day - hopefully we'll see you before your anniversary!
Thanks
David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2013

Stayed two nights in an executive room. Strange bedroom because the floor sloped considerably, resulting in the wardrobe leaning. There were cobwebs on the ceiling on arrival and the bathroom had one tiny shelf - insufficient for toiletries. Bed comfortable and windows would only partially open (one would not even stay open). Bed comfortable and breakfast and dining room staff good. However, reception staff leaved a lot to be desired and were not welcoming. Overall, public rooms quite good but lacking in atmosphere.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Glyn T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David R, General Manager at Old Swan Hotel, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Dear reviewer, thank you for your review, I am sorry that certain aspects of the hotel were not to your liking. I have noted your comments and will continue to focus the team on improving the condition of the hotel and the guest experience.
Regards
David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2013

Beautiful hotel full of character and history well placed in the centre of Harrogate. Comfortable large rooms. Quiet. Just let down by the staff. Serious staff training needed. Reception staff need to smile and make you feel welcome. Asked bar tender what was in the Swan Cocktail 'oh whatever we have behind the bar'. Went for £28 bottle of fizz which we had to ask to be opened. Barman tried to screw the cork off. It broke so had to remove cork with corkscrew. Bottle then served in bucket full of water with a few almost melted ice cubes! Plough mans and breakfast yummie.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fizzblackpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David R, General Manager at Old Swan Hotel, responded to this review, September 23, 2013
Dear reviewer, thanks for your constructive feedback, I am very sorry that you had a poor experience. I will be using your comments to re-visit this area and apologise for any disappointment caused.
Regards
David
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Harrogate hotels
0.2 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#12 of 30 in Harrogate
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,241 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Majestic Hotel
The Majestic Hotel
#17 of 30 in Harrogate
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,647 reviews
0.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Cedar Court Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Rudding Park Hotel
Rudding Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Follifoot
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4,494 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ascot House Hotel Harrogate
0.2 mi away
Cairn Hotel
Cairn Hotel
#11 of 30 in Harrogate
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Swan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Swan Hotel

Property: Old Swan Hotel
Address: Swan Road, Harrogate HG1 2SR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Harrogate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Harrogate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Old Swan Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 136
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dating back to 1840, The Old Swan Hotel is one of Harrogate's oldest & most cherished hotels; its Victorian splendour and traditional elegance is complimented today by a modern & contemporary environment.The hotel boasts 136 stylish bedrooms and ten suites(Some featuring four-poster beds and roll-top baths),a restaurant and bar, nine conferences suites,free Wi-Fi access and car parking spaces.The hotel is in the centre of Harrogate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, LateRooms and HotelQuickly so you can book your Old Swan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Swan Harrogate
Hotel Old Swan
Old Swan Hotel Harrogate, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing