We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Bed and Breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Dales Guest House
Ranked #31 of 83 Harrogate B&B and Inns
Reviewed July 14, 2007

We have stayed in Harrogate loads of times and at different establishments. Why we have never stayed at the Dales before I will nveer know. This is an excellent 4 star B&B - everything you need - topped off by excellent customer service and friendly owner. We will definatley be staying here again.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Lancashire1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (105)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

97 - 103 of 105 reviews

Reviewed May 20, 2007

We have just returned from a two night stay at The Dales which acted as our base for a two day visit to join in the wedding celebrations of an old friend. This is the second time we have stayed in the area whilst visiting our friend and our experience could not have been more different than our first stay (in a different establishment) which was marred by a very substandard hotel. This time round, The Dales proved to be the icing on the (wedding) cake! Our rooms (x2) were large, with high ceilings, spotlessly clean, pleasantly decorated, and possessed comfortable beds. On arrival we were warmly greeted and offered a free parking voucher for the on-street parking immediately outside the hotel. We were delighted to find fresh flowers on the table and pleased to find the furnishings to be of a high standard. Our pleasure was only increased the next morning when we found that the breakfast offered was of the highest standard, with plenty of choice for those who wished to resist the full English! The hotel is situated in a very attractive area only a few minutes walk from the center of Harrogate and we are already loking forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed: May 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank PKW_Ashford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2006

very pleasant and friendly three day stay for a conference. Single room spotless and comfortable. Very friendly and good breakfast. Would happily return.

Stayed: April 2006
5  Thank jdec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
326
Reviewed March 15, 2006

We booked in for a weekend away based on Tripadvisor reviews, and were not disappointed.

We were made to feel very welcome by the hosts. The room was comfortable and a good size. The breakfast was superb, with a wide choice from full english to cheese on toast.

It is well located, close to Valley gardens (a small park and well worth a walk around). The town centre is just a 10 minute walk away. The B&B is at the top of a hill, so the walk back from town is harder work than the walk in!

Overall, a great B&B at a reasonable price. Would definately stay there again.

  • Stayed: March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2005

Stayed 19/2/05. Easy to find, near the town centre, quiet, good food, great room (ask for a room with a view of the park at the front), clean, warm (it can get very cold in Harrogate), parking. Room had very comfortable beds, a tv, separate shower. The whole stay was just all round lovely.

6  Thank radiofreejericho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Bath
14
Reviewed May 20, 2004

We stayed at the Dales through recommendation and we were not dissapointed. Nice and comfortable especially if you are lucky to get a room overlooking the Valley Gardens. Breakfast was very good and the atmosphere generally was very relaxed. Well looked after.

4  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Manchester, UK
114
Reviewed August 29, 2003

For those who prefer a quiet, homely atmosphere with only a handful of other guests, The Dales is a friendly, family-run hotel opposite a leafy, well-kempt park in a beautiful, curving, tree-lined avenue close to Harrogate centre. My single room was small and clean, and all the creature comforts I could have wished for were supplied by the hotel's thoughtful owners. I would definitely stay there again.

14  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Harrogate hotels
0.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Harrogate
Crowne Plaza Harrogate
#7 of 28 in Harrogate
322 reviews
2.6 mi away
Rudding Park Hotel
Rudding Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Follifoot
4,763 reviews
5.5 mi away
Chequers Inn
Chequers Inn
#2 of 2 in Bishop Thornton
105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Majestic Hotel
The Majestic Hotel
#16 of 28 in Harrogate
3,076 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#14 of 28 in Harrogate
1,377 reviews
0.7 mi away
Kimberley Hotel
Kimberley Hotel
#8 of 28 in Harrogate
1,781 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Dales Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dales Guest House

Address: 101 Valley Drive, Harrogate HG2 0JP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Harrogate
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 83 B&Bs / Inns in Harrogate
Price Range: $81 - $113 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Dales Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Dales offers a warm and comfortable welcome overlooking the beautiful Valley Gardens and is only a five minute walk from the centre of Harrogate. A choice of restaurants is within walking distance and the Conference and Exhibition Centres are just a ten minute walk away, making The Dales a perfect base for business or leisure.There is ample on-street car parking for which a parking permit is provided free-of-charge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Dales Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Dales Guest House Harrogate, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing