We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Plus Cedar Court Hotel
Ranked #9 of 30 Hotels in Harrogate
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Terrible service”
Reviewed March 23, 2014

Where can I start. We booked this Hotel back month in advance for the wedding we were attending in harrogate at Rudding Park, bare in mind not via their website this was through ringing the hotel and booked it.

On the wedding day around 19:25pm we received a call from Cedar court saying our rooms are fully booked and they have re arranged as with a different Hotel (The Old Swan), which i was not happy with as we had to travel right into the city centre. So when we got to Cedar court and spoke to the manager, waiting for like 20mins as there were customers checking inn in front of us.

So we had to ask for the manager and all we got that we are really sorry that we had a system failure, so rooms are fully booked, hang on a minute i booked the hotel on 1st of Feb and you telling me on the wedding at 7:25pm that there is no rooms.

So we ended up going to old swan and we were been told it was an upgrade to Executive, when we got there and we went into the room, i tell you now, the room were so dull, even Travelodge and Etap is way better than the Old Swan. Room looked like 1890s, Executive room where they charged £240.00 per night.

I spoke to the lady i am not happy with the standards of the room, i was been told thats how all our rooms are and that was an executive room which wasn't it was a double standard room for £95 while we paid £124 for cedar court and it was the last room left and i said i am not happy so i am going to leave and their manager agreed we will cancel your stay. (Thats all i got).

I will never ever recommend anyone in a million year this two hotel, but other than you choice is yours and please do not intend to stay at this places, if you are going with your kids, not a nice feeling. We left the wedding for all this.

And this is the best bit now:

Thank you so so much to Rudding Park Hotel Harrogate, where we attended the wedding explained them our situation were willing to find us something local but luckily someone cancelled their Follifoot Junior Executive £350.00 per night allowed us to stay in their room for as little as £150 with breakfast.

Guys you will have a trip of your life at ridding park, Spa, Cinema, Golf Course, Library and the best thing was we had 3 tvs in our room. Bedroom, Sitting Room and even Bathroom

This is just my experience and i would not like anyone going through this, but choice is yours in the end.

Room Tip: Simple, Do not go there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Vish C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,197 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    870
    780
    343
    147
    57
See reviews for
298
1,138
54
299
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (472)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2014 via mobile

Stayed for one night, hotel is very easy to find and from the outside looks lovely. Room was clean and comfortable with plenty of amenities. We ate in the restaurant the food was good and the service very good. The restaurant is positioned to the right of the building and unfortunately in appearance resembles a cafe. Breakfast was a very average buffet especially the bacon which was just thrown into a large heated container and very under done.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Dmaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debbie_Dilasser, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Plus Cedar Court Hotel, responded to this review, March 27, 2014
Thank you for your feedback and for taking the time to write a review. I have passed your comments regarding Breakfast to our Chef and he will look into this.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
east ham
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2014

Just spent a few days here courtesy of Tesco reward scheme. Good location, within easy walking distance of station and shops. Staff were friendly and helpful and room was spacious and comfortable, with a couch, table and armchair. Ate in hotel brasserie one evening, excellent food and great value.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EastHamRichlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debbie_Dilasser, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Plus Cedar Court Hotel, responded to this review, March 27, 2014
Thank you for your lovely review. I am delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2014

Stayed for two nights with my brother here . We had room 214 very quiet & on the back of the hotel. It was a huge room, some of the decor dated but v clean and comfortable. Only a ten min walk to the town centre along good lit streets at night. The breakfast was good, i ordered poached eggs and my brother boiled eggs on the first morning, these took ages but the girl was very apologetic ,I think we had been forgotten, the breakfast room was full & a lot of bbc staff were there for the tandem challenge. The sausages and gnash browns were lovely. Staff were all very pleasant and polite. Would def come back again.

Room Tip: 214 quiet on the back
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank helent100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debbie_Dilasser, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Plus Cedar Court Hotel, responded to this review, March 27, 2014
Many thanks for taking the time to write us a review. It's great to hear you enjoyed your stay, and that you got to see the tandem challenge setting off for Sports Relief. Sorry to hear you had to wait for your eggs at breakfast, that is not a usual occurrence but I am delighted to hear you enjoyed the rest of your breakfast. We hope to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2014

Our reservation with Alpha rooms was not showing on their system when we checked in but the receptionist was very helpful and phoned them to sort it out. All sorted in the end and we were given a room at the front of the hotel overlooking the park - lovely view.
The rooms do need a bit of modernising but were clean and comfortable. We did not eat there at all so cannot comment on the food. We feel for the price we paid it was good value for money.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SMITS11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debbie_Dilasser, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Plus Cedar Court Hotel, responded to this review, March 27, 2014
Thank you for your review. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay and that our Receptionist sorted out your booking efficiently. A number of our bedrooms have recently been refurbished and another 10 are being done within a matter of weeks. If you are ever in Harrogate again we would love you to sample one of our Superior bedrooms.
Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2014

Five of us occupied three Ex rooms which turned out to be very comfortable indeed, rooms have a lovely aspect out of the bay window and gives plenty of room. Nice and clean spotless in fact could not fault it , the only gripe was no safety handle in the bath area as i found it very hard getting in and out of the bath having both knees and a hip replacement. Find it hard to think they have so many rooms and not one walk in shower.

Ate both evenings in the hotel and both meals were superb, very nice menu and very reasonably priced, not liking the shortbread biscuits the pastry chef needs a Mary Berry book.

Staff very polite and i would recommend this hotel in a lovely setting in Harrogate.

Room Tip: Pay a wee bit more for an Ex Room online as you get so many extras in the room, newspaper fruit slip...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debbie_Dilasser, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Plus Cedar Court Hotel, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Dear Gina, thank you so much for taking the time to write us such a detailed review. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed staying in our superior rooms which do indeed have wonderful views across the Stray. I am sorry to hear you struggled in the bath after your knee and hip replacements. We do not currently have any rooms with a walk in shower, however, this is something we are hoping to be able to offer our guests in the future. We do have bedrooms with grab rails and should you visit us again we would be able to allocate you one of these to make your stay that bit more comfortable. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your dinner on both nights, and I have spoken to the Chef about the shortbread and he is reviewing the recipe with his Pastry Chef. It would appear that on this occasion our shortbread suffered the dreaded 'soggy bottom' as Mary Berry calls it!

We hope to be able to welcome you back soon, and offer you some perfect shortbread!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Harrogate hotels
0.7 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#14 of 30 in Harrogate
1,277 reviews
0.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Harrogate
Crowne Plaza Harrogate
#11 of 30 in Harrogate
137 reviews
0.5 mi away
The West Park Hotel
The West Park Hotel
#2 of 30 in Harrogate
596 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Majestic Hotel
The Majestic Hotel
#18 of 30 in Harrogate
2,726 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ascot House Hotel Harrogate
0.7 mi away
Kimberley Hotel
Kimberley Hotel
#6 of 30 in Harrogate
1,703 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Cedar Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Cedar Court Hotel

Property: Best Western Plus Cedar Court Hotel
Address: Queen Building | Park Parade, Off Knaresborough Road, Harrogate HG1 5AH, England (Formerly BEST WESTERN Cedar Court Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Harrogate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Harrogate
#4 Family Hotel in Harrogate
#5 Luxury Hotel in Harrogate
#5 Romantic Hotel in Harrogate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Plus Cedar Court Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Best Western Plus Cedar Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Harrogate
Harrogate Best Western
Best Western Plus Cedar Court Hotel Harrogate, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing