We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing party night”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Best Western Plus Cedar Court Hotel
Ranked #9 of 30 Hotels in Harrogate
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Amazing party night”
Reviewed December 21, 2013 via mobile

When to a Christmas party night on the 14th December with a large party of friends the food and service was 1st class we where one of the last tables to get are food but you could not tell and there must have been 250 people in the room. Plus two other party's in different rooms! Thanks for a top Christmas party will be back next year.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Antony H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,168 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    865
    771
    334
    142
    56
See reviews for
296
1,119
53
295
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (463)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
124 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed December 18, 2013

Harrogate is a very nice place to visit and if you are looking for somewhere to stay then this is a very nice hotel. No good if you are on a tight budget, but very pleasant otherwise. Very nice comfortable rooms and good service.

Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Redeye38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debbie_Dilasser, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Plus Cedar Court Hotel, responded to this review, December 20, 2013
Dear Redeye, thank you so much for taking the time to write such a glowing review. We hope to welcome you back soon. Happy Christmas!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 18, 2013

As one member of a large group of people visiting the Cedar Court hotel (Best Western) Harrogate on December 14 2013, paying £29 for the "Festive Party Night". I have been asked to write the review for all of us.

The food can only be described as terrible! The starters in our group where, melon which was ok, its melon can't get that really wrong and Tomato soup which again was ok. The overall deception in the group was that the soup was the best part of the meal. What let it down was the way the soup was served, Two chefs, in off white whites, came out to a table on the dance floor and poured the soup into the bowls from large, school canteen like, clear jugs from a huge saucepan of soup on top of what looked like a hospital canteen trolly… so unprofessional. One of our group asked for another bread roll to go with his soup to be told only one per-person. The rolls where like the tiny par-cooked ones from a supermarket!

The main course of our group was mainly Turkey dinner and Pan fried Rib eye steak. The potions where tiny three brussels, three potatoes, two strips of carrot, two strips of parsnip one inch of a pig in blanket and a small slice of what i think was chestnut stuffing. The only thing good to be said was the plate was hot but looked very empty! Very dry Turkey, soggy brussels, over cooked carrots/parsnips, tasteless stuffing and undercooked potatoes. The Rib eye was under cooked, told it was medium, tasteless mainly fatty.

Dessert well the cheese cake was even left by the most sweet toothed person in the group. It looked like it had been left out and not covered before service as the edges where changing colour and side where drooping plus the overall taste was described by the group as very odd. No-one in our group could tell what was served with the Christmas pudding a sauce or custard it said on the menu Brandy Sauce, maybe the DJ drank the Brandy!

Verdict = Overall cheap produce very poor.

Finally the DJ, as he was included in the price, well the music stopped when he was queuing for Larger at the bar which he drank all night, must have been paid in drinks. Peter Kay would have had a field day!

Didn't complain on the night because didn't want to spoil the special night any more than it was by Best Western but we will never go again. Maybe the should remove Best from there name!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bigfoot1211966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debbie_Dilasser, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Plus Cedar Court Hotel, responded to this review, December 20, 2013
Dear Bigfoot, I am very sorry and disappointed to read your review and that you, and the rest of your group were so unhappy. We would like to discuss this with you in more detail and would be most grateful if you contact our Deputy General Manager at your earliest convenience. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 14, 2013

Just returned from a row night break to celebrate my husbands 50th. Wow what great service, the staff are polite, friendly and attentive, my husband's dessert had a happy birthday greeting in chocolate on the plate and returning to our room there was a birthday card waiting for him. Little touches that made our break extra special. I have stayed in Harrogate many times before in quite a few hotels. None come even near this one for comfort or service, the bed and pillows were so comfortable we both slept really well. The food at breakfast and dinner was excellent. Good parking facilities and a great view over one of Harrogate's lovely green areas. Thank you so much Cedar Court we will definitely be back. Special thanks to Tina on reception, so welcoming.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front look over the front garden and the park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Julie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debbie_Dilasser, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Plus Cedar Court Hotel, responded to this review, December 20, 2013
Dear JulieM, we are delighted to hear that you and your husband had such a wonderful stay. Thanks for taking the time to write us a review. Glad you like the beds here - we get lots of positive feedback about them, we think they are very comfy too!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maidenhead
Level Contributor
59 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2013

Another visit to this lovely hotel. I cannot praise the staff enough, they are always friendly, polite and nothing is too much trouble. This hotel is ideally located within a short walk into the town or a quick ride on the bus from the stop outside for those less able! Great rooms, clean, warm and a good size with excellent en-suite facilities. All round a great hotel, we will be back!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank janste90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debbie_Dilasser, Guest Relations Manager at Best Western Plus Cedar Court Hotel, responded to this review, December 20, 2013
Dear Janste90, thank you for your wonderful review. We hope to see you again soon. Happy Christmas!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
knutsford
Level Contributor
136 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2013

Stayed over last weekend for a family wedding and extended our stay to three nights. Great service, friendly staff and a really well presented quality self service breakfast. Room was spacious and very quiet during the night, located at the rear of the hotel. Unfortunately on our last morning we were kept awake from 5.30 am by noisy "OPEN REACH WORKERS" MAKING THEIR PREPARATIONS FOR DEPARTURE AND DEPARTING WITH SLAMMING DOORS AND LOUD CONVERSATION. not everyone wants to rise at 5.30 am. Otherwise an excellent stay.

Room Tip: Rooms at the rear are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rod u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
doncaster
Level Contributor
31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2013

just got back from a 2 night break at the cedar court Harrogate,carnt find fault with this hotel,its very friendly,clean spacious room,decent sized flat screen tv,relaxing lounge bar and reasonable priced food both in the bar and restaurant, breakfast was first class with plenty of choice,plenty of parking and only 10 mins walk into the town,very enjoyable stay and we will be returning to this hotel as soon as I can get it organised.

Room Tip: my friend and I stayed in a twin room,very spacious and clean and it was at the back of the hotel so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank barbara c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Harrogate hotels
0.7 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#14 of 30 in Harrogate
1,257 reviews
0.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Harrogate
Crowne Plaza Harrogate
#10 of 30 in Harrogate
106 reviews
0.5 mi away
The West Park Hotel
The West Park Hotel
#2 of 30 in Harrogate
586 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Majestic Hotel
The Majestic Hotel
#18 of 30 in Harrogate
2,687 reviews
1.9 mi away
Rudding Park Hotel
Rudding Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Follifoot
4,531 reviews
0.7 mi away
Kimberley Hotel
Kimberley Hotel
#7 of 30 in Harrogate
1,688 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Cedar Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Cedar Court Hotel

Property: Best Western Plus Cedar Court Hotel
Address: Queen Building | Park Parade, Off Knaresborough Road, Harrogate HG1 5AH, England (Formerly BEST WESTERN Cedar Court Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Harrogate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Harrogate
#4 Business Hotel in Harrogate
#5 Romantic Hotel in Harrogate
#5 Luxury Hotel in Harrogate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Plus Cedar Court Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Best Western Plus Cedar Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Harrogate
Harrogate Best Western
Best Western Plus Cedar Court Hotel Harrogate, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing