We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service and food. Rooms need updating”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Plus Cedar Court Hotel
Ranked #9 of 30 Hotels in Harrogate
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great service and food. Rooms need updating”
Reviewed February 22, 2013

We stayed after purchasing a groupon voucher. We were able to leave bags with reception as we arrived early. Our room was still ready before the stated check in time though which was a plus. Only 10 mins walk from the centre. Staff very friendly however we found the room quite old fashioned. Worn out furniture and drab carpets brought a dullness to the room. Bathroom was more modern and clean. We had a £20 pp meal at the brasserie which was great however the draft from being sat near the automatic entrance doors did get a bit annoying.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sheldospice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,195 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    869
    780
    343
    146
    57
See reviews for
298
1,138
54
297
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (472)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2013

We stayed at the Best Western Cedar Court hotel in Harrogate for a late Valentine's gift. It took a while to find using a Sat Nav as the address is on Park Parade which we easily found but nowhere could we find the hotel, despite searching by post code and address. Being part of a one way system we ended up driving round three times until we stopped and asked someone. Apparently Park Parade is in two sections, which is not clear from my satnav and Cedar Court is on a very short section on the end of the one way street. There was plenty of room in the car park.
The receptionist was very welcoming and gave us a map of Harrogate to help us get around. The hotel entrance is very imposing, which is not surprising being part of a grade 2 listed building dating back to 1671. The dining rooms and conference rooms are equally ornate. The accomodation is much more modern, being purpose built as hotel bedrooms.
Our room was on the third floor despite having a number beginning with 4. It was a dormer type room, a good size room. Wi Fi is now free but you need to collect the code and password from reception. The television showed most freeview channnels but later in the evening, probably when more people were watching TV, the channels statred to freeze badly. Our room, being a dormer room, one side of the bed was situated quite close to the window, meaning anyone over 5' 3" had to duck to avoid banging their head. This could have easily been avoided as there was plenty of space on the other side of the bed. The bed was very comfortable and we had a good night's sleep. In the bathroom there was only one full size towel plus small and medium, does that mean we are supposed to share a towel when we both want a shower or bath? My only other gripe about the bedroom which is common in most hotels is that the plugs sockets in the room are not near the bed, meaning it was not easy to use laptops in bed etc.
In the morning we went for breakfast, showed the young man in the dining room our room card and he checked his list and said we had only booked a "room only" rate. I had booked using a Groupon voucher which specifically stated bed and breakfast and this was confirmed when we checked in. I explained that we had booked accomodation including breakfast, and he went away to check leaving us waiting together with a couple of other guests behind us. I explained to my partner he had to check because someone had got the breakfast list wrong. He returned a few minutes later and showed us to our table. However I was quite annoyed that there was no apology for a mistake and possible embarrassment which was not our fault. The breakfast was very good with a good choice of traditional English breakfast fayre, but I would have been reluctant to pay £15 per person for breakfast.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank leedspyeman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2013

Spent only one night at the Cedar Hotel and thought it was lovely, the breakfast was great plenty of choice. Reception staff where very helpful with tips on where to eat in the town and also booking our table. We where able to leave the car in the car park after cheaking out as we wanted to spend the day in town. Harrogate within a 5 min walk and such a nice place to visit. Will be rebooking soon.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PEACHEY18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cottingham
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2013

The Hotel is in an excellent location,opposite the 'Stray',of which we had a great view from our bedroom window.
The reception staff were very friendly and helpful and made us feel very welcome.
The room was clean,spacious and comfortable and with an upgrade we received a basket of fruit,a bottle of mineral water and the use of a bathrobe and slippers.
The bar/lounge was comfortable and the bar staff very friendly.The homemade soup served there was some of the best I,ve ever tasted!
Housekeeping staff were also friendly and helpful.
The food was absolutely delicious and beautifully presented.The staff in the restaurant were very attentive,the food was served at good intervals - we were neither rushed nor kept waiting.
Although the weather was rather wet we took a stroll into the town,did some shopping and called at "Betty's", a place not to be missed.
Snow started to fall in the evening and I was hoping we might be snowed in and have an excuse to stay longer but no such luck - the roads were clear in the morning and after a super breakfast we left for home.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PollyMCottingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 15, 2013

Having recently had a four week stay at Cedar Court Hotel, I was very impressed with the staff, food and accommodation, all of which were of a very high standard throughout my stay. The staff were very polite, friendly and helpful, the food was of a high standard and very tasty, whilst the hotel is very comfortable with a good standard of decor. I would highly recommend Cedar Court and I will be visiting again with my wife.

Room Tip: Enjoyed the views from the front of the Hotel, overlooking The Stray
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mick R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed February 12, 2013

This hotel is let down by its small & outdated bedrooms. (stayed in better rooms at Premier Inn)Our room was up in the attic, it was very small, cold, dark and the small windows were so high up we were unable to see out of them. However, the bed was very comfortable and the room was spotless.

The staff are very friendly & can't do enough to help, our kettle would not work so while they organised a replacement they sent someone up to our room with complementary hot drinks for us.

The breakfast room was very, very nice as was the breakfast. Was nice to be able to help ourselves to the cooked breakfast as you aren't able to do this in many other hotels.

Room Tip: Avoid Floor 3
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marie2468
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clitheroe, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 11, 2013

My husband an I stayed here using a groupon voucher for an early valentine treat. We found the hotel easy to find and well positioned for a stroll into Harrogate town centre. The reception staff were very friendly and made check-in feel like stepping into a familar place although we'd never been before.

The lobby and bar area are modern and luxurious however the corridors and bedrooms themselves could do with some updating. That said our bedroom was ample size, very clean and had everything we needed including a large flat screen tv which was a welcome change to those tiny ones you often get in hotel bedrooms!

Breakfast was fab- huge choice of cooked breakfast, full array of cereals, pastries, muffins-spoilt for choice!

A great value hotel, 10 minute walk from Harrogate centre. Well worth the stay for what we paid.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the front if possible- the view at the rear of the car park is a litle bleak.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Natalie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Harrogate hotels
0.7 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#14 of 30 in Harrogate
1,275 reviews
0.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Harrogate
Crowne Plaza Harrogate
#12 of 30 in Harrogate
135 reviews
0.5 mi away
The West Park Hotel
The West Park Hotel
#2 of 30 in Harrogate
592 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Majestic Hotel
The Majestic Hotel
#18 of 30 in Harrogate
2,716 reviews
0.7 mi away
Ascot House Hotel Harrogate
0.7 mi away
Kimberley Hotel
Kimberley Hotel
#6 of 30 in Harrogate
1,702 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Cedar Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Cedar Court Hotel

Property: Best Western Plus Cedar Court Hotel
Address: Queen Building | Park Parade, Off Knaresborough Road, Harrogate HG1 5AH, England (Formerly BEST WESTERN Cedar Court Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Harrogate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Harrogate
#4 Family Hotel in Harrogate
#5 Romantic Hotel in Harrogate
#5 Luxury Hotel in Harrogate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Plus Cedar Court Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Best Western Plus Cedar Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Harrogate
Harrogate Best Western
Best Western Plus Cedar Court Hotel Harrogate, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing