We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thank You for making our Christmas break special.....”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Plus Cedar Court Hotel
Ranked #9 of 30 Hotels in Harrogate
East Midlands
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Thank You for making our Christmas break special.....”
Reviewed January 10, 2013

My husband and I chose to "opt out" of a family Christmas this year, as I'd had months of ill health and felt like being indulged for 3 days...he also needed a rest and change of scene.
Harrogate is an elegant town with a wealth of shops - all within easy walking distance from the Hotel (there is also a regular bus which stops by the back entrance). Situated on the Stray, the hotel is well placed for pleasant walks and uncluttered views from the windows.
We found the staff to be most welcoming and helpful. Standard of comfort and cleanliness second to none. Personally, I would have liked the lighting in the public areas to be brighter - this had the ambience of a gentlemans' Club in London.
Meals in the restaurant were rather "hit and miss". Breakfasts excellent, with sufficient choice. However - there's an ancient toasting machine which really needs replacing...... Starters and sweets were imaginative and delicious. Main meals not so much (literally - they were very small portions. I would have been happier to have less fancy table decorations and a more generous main course!) Vegetables in all the meals we had were luke warm and sometimes undercooked.
I had a chicken salad one day (after a wonderful soup, thank goodness) which was basically green leaves and chopped tomatoes and feta squares (no dressing), with a tiny piece of chewy chicken on top. I could have thrown that together at home in five minutes! It became obvious to us that the kitchen was understaffed for the number of guests being catered for. On the final day - our sweets were forgotten, and we had to go and search for someone to bring them. Apologies were made, and we accepted the difficulties at this time of year, when there are separate parties being catered for.
Service was very good in the bar area - with an adequate buffet/tea.
On the whole, we had a restful, comfortable time - able to watch TV/ read undisturbed by doors banging, or traffic noise, etc.

Room Tip: We had a first floor room looking out onto the Stray - very pleasant aspect. Choose to have an earl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lin-Marie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard_Dennell, Manager at Best Western Plus Cedar Court Hotel, responded to this review, January 19, 2013
Dear EastMidlandsSongbird ,

Thank you for taking the time to post a detailed and constructive review of Best Western Cedar Court. Your feedback will be shared with the team so that we can further improve our customer experience.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards,

Richard Dennell
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,170 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    865
    773
    334
    142
    56
See reviews for
296
1,120
54
295
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (464)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kirkcudbright, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
159 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2013

Found a little treasure in Harrogate, this hotel is worth staying at for one of three reasons. Free parking (lots of spaces), friendly staff and good rooms.
Little means 100 rooms, 150 car parking spaces.
There are times when you are looking for a hotel there can be too many choices and locations can be difficult to access. Rooms can be a little warm.
Drive straight to the hotel without getting lost although a bigger sign would have helped. Second time we go we will have no problem finding this hotel. A very short walk to the center of Harrogate and the railway station where in under forty five minutes you could be in York or Leeds.
We did all this, and had time to go to Gravelleys at 9.30pm on the third night for excellent fish and chips. Brillant stay.

Room Tip: Ask at reception for a higher level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ramede
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard_Dennell, Manager at Best Western Plus Cedar Court Hotel, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Dear ramede,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review of Best Western Cedar Court.

I'm delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you found the location to be ideal for your needs.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards,

Richard Dennell
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotherham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2013

We booked an overnight stay using a Groupon Voucher - £59 for B&B for my husband and I. We arrived well before check in time hoping to drop off our luggage but our room was ready. We asked to view our room and a superior room (£20 to upgrade). We chose to pay the upgrade for a larger room with a beautiful view - we also got a bowl of fruit, bottle of sparkling water and dressing gowns. Well worth the exctra £20. All staff were exceptionally efficient, friendly and helpful. Our room was very comfortable and breakfast was good. Parts of the hotel are a little tired and personally I am surprised that it has 4 AA stars - have stayed at the 5 star Cedar Court in York I was expecting a more lxurious hotel and a more extensive breakfast menu (however there was a good choice of breakfast and quality produce was well cooked. Parking is plentiful and free and the hotel is in an excellent location for exploring Harrogate on foot.

Room Tip: Pay the £20 upgrade - well worth it. Ask for a room on the front of the hotel for the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sharon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard_Dennell, Manager at Best Western Plus Cedar Court Hotel, responded to this review, January 13, 2013
Dear Sharon B,

Thank you for taking the time to post your constructive review of Best Western Cedar Court.

I'm pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us at our hotel and that the team provided you with an efficient and friendly service. Your constructive feedback has been shared with the team and we shall ensure this is used to further enhance our guest experience.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards,

Richard Dennell
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2013

Stayed 3 nights over New Year. First night meal in Brasserie was nice, although by taking a later meal time (to suit hotel) they had ran out of 8oz rump steak from the set menu and we were offered roast beef (which turned out to be a Sunday roast) or 2 x 4oz rib-eye steaks (awful), also peppercorn sauce was gravy with whole peppercorns in it !!!!!, How come when hotels run out of set menu meals they never upgrade the meal (ie sirlion?).
New Years Eve ball was ok and we did not have a meal on our package for New Years day, why ???. Went into Harrogate had a lovely meal and drinks (also a lot cheaper).
Breakfast on all days was excellent.
Hotel is in an excellent location for travelling to and from by car (also station handy).
Hotel is a five minute walk into centre of Harrogate.
Do NOT waste your money on an Executive Room Upgrade = Bathrobe, Slippers (not in room?), 1 x Small bowl of fruit and 1 x bottle of water.
Not impressed by BEST WESTERN standards, will not be returning.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NeilC-Liverpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard_Dennell, Manager at Best Western Plus Cedar Court Hotel, responded to this review, January 13, 2013
Dear NeilC-Liverpool,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review of Best Western Cedar Court.

I'm disappointed to read that you didn't enjoy your stay with us over new year. Your feedback has been discussed with the team. On the evening you dined in The Brasserie we had actually sold out of the Sirloin steak on the menu that evening therefore could only offer the option for Ribeye steak or Roast fillet of beef. I do believe that you were happy to accept the complimentry drinks for your table to compensate this.

I'm sorry that our hotel wasn't to your liking.

Kind regards,

Richard Dennell
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Level Contributor
45 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2013

Stayed for two nights over New year. First night had a meal in the Brasserie, second night was the New years Eve ball. had a fantastic time. The staff are this hotels biggest assett! From reception to waitresses and bar staff they were brilliant. Chris on the bar was a real good guy, nothing was too much. The room was a little dark, only a small window overlooking the car park but we didn't spend a great deal of time in there. The hotel is just a five minute walk away and located overlooking the stray. Loads of car parking.
Food in the restaraunt was fantastic. As was breakfast both days. The food on the New Years Eve ball was not as good. ok but not of the standard of the night before. I guess this is to be expected on a large function.
Would highly recomend this hotel and will definately be back.

Room Tip: Exit through the back door and car park for a speedier walk into the centre.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rhinomanleeds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard_Dennell, Manager at Best Western Plus Cedar Court Hotel, responded to this review, January 13, 2013
Dear Rhinomanleeds,

Thank you for taking the time to post your constructive review of Best Western Cedar Court.

I'm pleased to read that you enjoyed your time at our hotel for your New Years celebrations. I shall ensure your very kind comments are passed onto all the team and will ensure Chris receives recognition for delivering a high standard of customer service.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards,

Richard Dennell
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2012 via mobile

On checking in staff refused to accept that the booking included breakfast. I had to ring hotels.com to sort this out which they did but hotel still refused to offer breakfast. Room (324) was an executive room but was nothing special. Other peoples clothing and dry cleaning labels on the side. Room was filthy and thick with dust on all surfaces. Brass fittings in dire needs of a polish. Hair clip in the bed - yuk! Side of bath not attached properly. No cold water to regulate heat in bath/shower. All in all dirty and not nice. Found out from other guests at the event we were attending that they were doing a special rate for attendees however when we originally booked ages ago staff member said they didnt know anything about this so we paid more than double. Hotels.com was best rate. Room 324 is opposite the house keeping office and very busy. Woken very early when they start in the morning. Too close to lifts and stairs so noise all the time from those too. Mould around window. List goes on and on. Not impressed. One postive was the lady running the main bar (short dark haired lass) - very friendly and attentive and Kosta's one of the waiters. Other than the staff I mentioned.......not impressed.....at all!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bobbins123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrow-in-Furness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2012

Stayed here between Christmas and New Year 2011 and decided to repeat this 2012.

Staff a lot more welcoming this year (must have put some on training courses).

Rooms are a bit tired looking and some fittings have seen better days.

Room was laid out and catered throughout our stay for 1 person (ie, towels and tea/coffee arrangements).

Had to switch on heating in room, cold when we arrived, took an age for it to warm up. I know our visit occured during a "slack" period for the hotel, but you think if they had a room allocated for a guest in mid-winter they would have that room warmed and welcoming.

Wi-fi is advertised as free to all, on Best Western website, I do not think this is the case at this hotel. Tried to connect and consistently sent to a sign-in website that required, as the room literature stated, a token to be bought at reception. Disappointing.

Drinks at the bar a bit expensive, even by hotel standards.

Had to have hot sandwiches on Boxing Day night as the kitchen was not open fully because of the daytime custom. That's understandable, but we were provided with the best rib-eye steak sandwich I have ever tasted, well done to the staff.

Breakfast is still very good and has everything to cater for all tastes.

Hotel is perfectly situated for Harrogate centre whether for shopping or eating out.

Hopefully, we will be back same time 2013 (please warm the room!).

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bar&Mar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard_Dennell, Manager at Best Western Plus Cedar Court Hotel, responded to this review, January 6, 2013
Dear Bar&Mar,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review of Best Western Cedar Court.

I'm pleased to read that on the whole you enjoyed your stay with us at the hotel and your constructive feedback has been shared with the team.

We do offer FREE Wi fi in all areas of the hotel and also on our public computer in reception, you are required to get a code from reception and I will ensure that this is made clearer in the guest directory.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards

Richard Dennell
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Harrogate hotels
0.7 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#14 of 30 in Harrogate
1,259 reviews
0.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Harrogate
Crowne Plaza Harrogate
#10 of 30 in Harrogate
107 reviews
0.5 mi away
The West Park Hotel
The West Park Hotel
#2 of 30 in Harrogate
588 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Majestic Hotel
The Majestic Hotel
#18 of 30 in Harrogate
2,691 reviews
1.9 mi away
Rudding Park Hotel
Rudding Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Follifoot
4,535 reviews
0.7 mi away
Kimberley Hotel
Kimberley Hotel
#7 of 30 in Harrogate
1,689 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Cedar Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Cedar Court Hotel

Property: Best Western Plus Cedar Court Hotel
Address: Queen Building | Park Parade, Off Knaresborough Road, Harrogate HG1 5AH, England (Formerly BEST WESTERN Cedar Court Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Harrogate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Harrogate
#4 Family Hotel in Harrogate
#5 Luxury Hotel in Harrogate
#5 Romantic Hotel in Harrogate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Plus Cedar Court Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Best Western Plus Cedar Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Harrogate
Harrogate Best Western
Best Western Plus Cedar Court Hotel Harrogate, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing