We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awful bed”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Plus Cedar Court Hotel
Ranked #9 of 30 Hotels in Harrogate
Northallerton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Awful bed”
Reviewed December 14, 2012 via mobile

We were staying for a staff party . The Christmas party was excellent . Service good but our bed was awful . The typical honeymoon bed .... Landed in a heap in the middle the whole time . Obviously overdue for a new one

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mathsbaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard_Dennell, Manager at Best Western Plus Cedar Court Hotel, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
Dear Mathsbaker,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review of Best Western Cedar Court.

The bed has since been replaced and your feedback has been discussed with the relevant department. Extra checks have now been implemented to ensure that our beds meet the desired standard.

I am however delighted to read that you enjoyed your christmas party night and I shall pass your praise onto the food service team.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards,

Richard Dennell
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,170 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    865
    773
    334
    142
    56
See reviews for
296
1,120
54
295
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (464)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Newark-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
326 reviews
130 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 250 helpful votes
Reviewed December 14, 2012

Great location, nice ambience, plenty of parking, friendly staff and good room with everything working!
So why haven't I given it full marks?
Staff training and attention to detail need much more work. For example I must have waited ten minutes to get a drink and there was only me at the bar! That happened twice.
Bed uncomfy for me and pillows terrible, but that's very personal preference.
Lights on front of hotel keep you awake if you happen to be unfortunate enough to get a room with one right outside.
Bathroom either next door or above was very noisy, as was the user!!
No fire doors closed on corridors over night!
No security around at night, I went out at 4.30am, came back in an hour later and saw no-one, anyone could have wandered in.
I stayed in a Premier in same week, my perception, maybe wrongly as they were same price, was that this should have been far better. It wasn't, but it really was detail and management or even staff should sleep in every room to see how it all works or doesn't!

Room Tip: Ask for a room that hasn't got a flood light right outside!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank arthurh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard_Dennell, Manager at Best Western Plus Cedar Court Hotel, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
Dear arthurh,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review of Best Western Cedar Court.

Your constructive feedback has been discussed with the team here at the hotel and I will ensure improvements are implemented where possible. For the peace of mind of yourself and future guests all our internal fire doors will automatically close if the alarm sounds and they are tested on a weekly basis. I am however currently investigating your concerns with regards to our internal fire doors, as you have correctly indicated these should be closed on a night.

On a positive note i'm pleased that you found the team to be welcoming, friendly and that your bedroom met your expectations.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards,

Richard Dennell
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Welwyn Garden City, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed December 13, 2012

Stayed recently for four nights as part of a Treyn tour; this meant that we had a bed, breakfast and dinner package. We encountered the highest standards of cleanliness and despite a limited menu (and the kitchen under huge pressure from Christmas parties), imaginatively produced meals with good quality ingredients, final day menu just not to our personal taste. Our highest praise must go to the standards of service in all areas; friendly and efficient and nothing was too much trouble. We would certainly stay there again.

Room Tip: Initially we had room 338; rooms on this side have some noise from A/C unit/kitchen vents and can be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carolinoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard_Dennell, Manager at Best Western Plus Cedar Court Hotel, responded to this review, December 15, 2012
Dear Carolinoe,

I'm delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel. Your kind comments will be shared with the team at the hotel and will act as a real motivator for them to continue to deliver a high standard of customer care .

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards,

Richard Dennell
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2012

We stayed at this hotel a few weeks ago, the hotel is in an ideal poison with just a short walk into the centre of Harrogate. The level of accomodation and comfort was very good. We didn't eat in the restaurant for an evening meal however did have breakfast the following morning which was excellent with plenty of choice. I would also like to thank the staff in the dining area (Thankyou Sian and Costas) for making our stay first class.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tangerinedreame... T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard_Dennell, Manager at Best Western Plus Cedar Court Hotel, responded to this review, December 15, 2012
Dear Tangerinedreame... T,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of Best Western Cedar Court.

I'm pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and I shall ensure your praise is passed on to Sian and Kostas.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards,

Richard Dennell
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2012

We stayed for 4 nights as part of a Treyn holiday to look at Harrogate, York and the Dickensian market at Grassington. Our room was lovely with everything to hand. The bathroom was well-appointed and towels etc were changed each day. The TV had an excellent picture and was easy to operate. The choices at breakfast were great - I had lovely creamy porridge every day and there was always lots of fruit, yoghurts, etc. Husband always had his Full English which, he assured me, was excellent! The table d'hote evening meal was also excellent - veg cooked to perfection, good choice of starters and puddings. We were always asked if "everything is alright"? Nothing was too much trouble for the staff and they were very friendly. Harrogate is a lovely place to visit and a 10 minute walk from the hotel - nice shops, Betty's, of course, and Hales Bar - the oldest pub there which is still lit by gaslight and worth a visit! Loads of free car parking too!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank loljo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard_Dennell, Manager at Best Western Plus Cedar Court Hotel, responded to this review, December 15, 2012
Dear loljo,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of Best Western Cedar Court.

I'm delighted to read that you found your room to be of a good standard and that you enjoyed our Yorkshire breakfast and the evening meals. Your kind comments will be shared with the team.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards,

Richard Dennell
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 11, 2012

Just had a brilliant weekend with friends at Cedar Court Hotel Harrogate. Tracy (receptionist) started the weekend off to a good start by being so helpful when I made the booking. It was fairly local to us so we visited beforehand and she gave us a tour of the hotel. The food and service in the hotel bistro restaurant was superb. The quality and presentation was superb. I am surprised that the hotel has not won an award. The hotel is well placed for visiting Harlow Carr Gardens and other Harrogate tourist spots as well as being close to wonderful walking routes - Harrogate ringway. There is a small gym (unsupervised) which is an added bonus to burn off all the calories consumed! The only negative side was that there are no superking size beds so they are standard double but very comfortable. We were able to have a private dining room and the table was kitted out with crackers, streamers a welcomed bonus.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front overlook the Stray. Rooms are a decent size and bathrooms have been refurbished...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pat S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard_Dennell, Manager at Best Western Plus Cedar Court Hotel, responded to this review, December 15, 2012
Dear Pat S,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review of Best Western Cedar Court,

I'm delighted to read that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay with us and that you found the food and service in The Brasserie to be of a high standrad. I will ensure your kind comments are passed onto Tracy.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards,

Richard Dennell
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed December 10, 2012

We stayed at the hotel for 2 nights for the Christmas Carvery Party Night.
I had several issues that I wish to bring to your attention

Slow Cooked Pork & Red Onion Terrine. This was inedible and the toasted brioche was bendy and not crisp

Local Roasted Turkey & Sirloin of Beef. The roast potatoes were so over cooked that you had to chew them more than the thin fatty slither of beef you got and the fact that you could not have more than 3 sprouts even though it was the only veg you wanted was very poor in my opinion.

Room 333 there is a loose floor board outside the room that every time someone walks past it wakes you up. There are also two very loose boards in the room that sink down when stood on.

On second night we decided to order room service as we thought that the party nights food might not reflect your restaurant menu unfortunately it did and once again we felt let down by the quality and taste of a advertised 4 star hotel food.

On a positive side I would like to mention that all the staff was very polite and professional and that breakfast in bed was of a good standard.

I am disappointed because I have spent a lot of money and time to travel to the "4" Star hotel for a very poor experience

If this hotel did not have the pool i am not sure it would be able to keep the 3rd star never mind 4th

When complaining to GM He said thanks for feedback so don't expect anything to change

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 999TBone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Harrogate hotels
0.7 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#14 of 30 in Harrogate
1,259 reviews
0.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Harrogate
Crowne Plaza Harrogate
#10 of 30 in Harrogate
107 reviews
0.5 mi away
The West Park Hotel
The West Park Hotel
#2 of 30 in Harrogate
588 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Majestic Hotel
The Majestic Hotel
#18 of 30 in Harrogate
2,691 reviews
1.9 mi away
Rudding Park Hotel
Rudding Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Follifoot
4,534 reviews
0.7 mi away
Kimberley Hotel
Kimberley Hotel
#7 of 30 in Harrogate
1,689 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Cedar Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Cedar Court Hotel

Property: Best Western Plus Cedar Court Hotel
Address: Queen Building | Park Parade, Off Knaresborough Road, Harrogate HG1 5AH, England (Formerly BEST WESTERN Cedar Court Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Harrogate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Harrogate
#4 Business Hotel in Harrogate
#5 Romantic Hotel in Harrogate
#5 Luxury Hotel in Harrogate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Plus Cedar Court Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Best Western Plus Cedar Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Harrogate
Harrogate Best Western
Best Western Plus Cedar Court Hotel Harrogate, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing