We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great base for a weekend break”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Best Western Plus Cedar Court Hotel
Ranked #11 of 30 Hotels in Harrogate
Reviewed July 6, 2011

I know Cedar Court Hotel well having used it for business meetings, both on an informal basis - meeting in the bar area for a coffee - and also using the meeting rooms where privacy is important. The rooms are well serviced with a very peaceful atmosphere.

So, when it came to booking a weekend for my girlfriends for a get together in Harrogate there was only one place to choose! The Hotel is prefect for social ocassions too! The bedrooms at Cedar Court are all well appointed and comfortable and the ones at the front that look over the Stray are my favourites! The staff always make you feel welcome and nothing is too much trouble.

The location of the hotel is great too as, being a little way out of town, it gives a good excuse to walk to the shops and facilities in Harrogate. For the runners amongst us the Stray presents the prefect place for a jog!

Cedar Court is an excellent venue for pleasure or business and I would thoroughly recommend it.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RosieLyndon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,268)
There are newer reviews for Best Western Plus Cedar Court Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

2,068 - 2,074 of 2,269 reviews

Reviewed July 1, 2011

I stayed here for 1 night on the 30.06.2011 for a business trip .The buiding from the outside looked quite impressive.The receptionist did not engage us as a customer should be when we arrived .The room was ok nothing special , old fashioned wallpaper and curtains , although the bed was ok . I didnt stay for an evening meal as it looked a bit pricy (I had a breakfast which was £14.95) .The bacon was ok , the potatoes were strange little squares instead of hash browns , Sausgae was spicy and not traditional english .Half way through a kitchen member came out and threw some milk in the scrambled eggs which had gone a little dry.We wernt offered more tea or coffee.This was just a basic help yourself facility , however for £14.95 I had expected a little more. we found other places within Harrogate serving breakfasts for £5.00. On checkout again the same receptionist failed to engage us or ask if our stay had been a pleasant one , just took our money and said goodbye. I wouldnt stay here again , for business or pleasure. Its marked as a 4 star ??? It wasnt 1 star off a 5 star thats for sure !!!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mrtwinkle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2011

Just returned after a two night stay at the Cedar Court Hotel which we booked with Travelzoo. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay, the staff were charming and helpful and the food was really nice and of very good quality. We were delighted to meet with a longstanding resident who is a first class ambassador for the hotel and a pleasure to chat with. After reading some of the negative reviews about this hotel I can only speak as I find. We would certainly recommend this hotel and hope to be back as soon as we can. Well done Cedar Court.

Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
Thank harbour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2011

Stayed for a weekend break, meal included first evening. When booking requested if we could have inclusive meal on the second enening, this was refused, we thought this somewhat inflexible as the restaurant was virtually empty on both evenings.

The food was excellent, but let down by a lack of ambiance in the restaurant. The chef is being let down, as the hotel is concentrating on their wedding and conference parties.

A candle or flowers on the table, a full set of cutlery, and a quick wipe of the salt and pepper pots would go a long way to help, and doesn't cost much.

Look out for the barman Martin - likes to show his contempt when he is having a bad day!!

  • Stayed: June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Davis_Ashover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2011

We stayed at this hotel whilst we were visiting family, even though we had young children with us we had everything we could have needed and the staff were excellent. Even when it was busy at breakfast time there was plently of staff around to help with more tea or coffee and the food was all good quality, with plently of choice and the buffet was quickly replenished. The hotel is situated within walking distance of the fantastic Harrogate high street. We will definately stay at this hotel again it was a very relaxing experience......highly recommended!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sarah499520
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2011

First impressions were good as we arrived - nice looking building and plenty of car parking despite there being a wedding in progress. Receptionist efficient to the point of being frosty and indeed we found the rest of the staff to be pretty much the same - not in the least bit friendly. Room was clean and spacious and beds comfy, although we were situated over the kitchen area and the noisy fans started up at various times during the night. Avoided the restaurant as there was only one other couple eating in there which wasn't a good sign on Saturday night at 8.30pm. We opted for a bar snack, which although took nearly an hour to arrive, was excellent. Breakfast was quite shambolic - crowded restaurant and self-service. Staff standing round chatting to one another whilst guests made their own toast!! On checking out luckily we noticed that the hotel had "mysteriously" added on a £34 gratuity. Of course, they were more than apologetic when we drew it to their attention! I would probably say this hotel is more 3 star than 4.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank CarolineMidlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2011

Nice enough for a large hotel. Reception open spaces nice, but room was compact. Good location for roads and walk into town or the stray.
Hallway decor in need of some attention. Breakfast service odd with very large tables, had to wait in reception to be seated. Hot breakfast could be warmer.

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank coolicedude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Harrogate hotels
0.6 mi away
Crowne Plaza Harrogate
Crowne Plaza Harrogate
#8 of 30 in Harrogate
188 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#14 of 30 in Harrogate
1,314 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Majestic Hotel
The Majestic Hotel
#18 of 30 in Harrogate
2,863 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The West Park Hotel
The West Park Hotel
#2 of 30 in Harrogate
623 reviews
0.8 mi away
Old Swan Hotel
Old Swan Hotel
#17 of 30 in Harrogate
1,722 reviews
0.7 mi away
Kimberley Hotel
Kimberley Hotel
#6 of 30 in Harrogate
1,744 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Cedar Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Cedar Court Hotel

Address: Queen Building | Park Parade, Off Knaresborough Road, Harrogate HG1 5AH, England (Formerly BEST WESTERN Cedar Court Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Harrogate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Harrogate
#4 Family Hotel in Harrogate
#5 Romantic Hotel in Harrogate
#7 Luxury Hotel in Harrogate
Price Range: $70 - $180 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Plus Cedar Court Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 100
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and Evoline ltd so you can book your Best Western Plus Cedar Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Harrogate
Harrogate Best Western
Best Western Plus Cedar Court Hotel Harrogate, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing