We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very friendly and attentive staff make this a great place to stay”
Review of Cairn Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Cairn Hotel
Ranked #12 of 30 Hotels in Harrogate
Reviewed March 20, 2014

I visited the Cairn Hotel while in Harrogate for a conference this week. The hotel is ideally situated if you are visiting Harrogate, it's about an eight minute walk from the centre of the town, and if you are attending the Conference Centre, it is very convenient indeed (about a six minute walk).

The hotel has character, the reception, lounge and restaurant areas are all very attractively laid out, and comfortable. My room, a twin, was very pleasant, the bed was comfortable, and the bathroom was perfectly suitable to my needs.

The staff were outstanding, from beginning to end, very polite and attentive, and the breakfast was excellent. They made my short stay a pleasure, and I would definitely go back.

Room Tip: I think that the better rooms are perhaps on the lower floors, but they are improving the rooms on t...
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Simon E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaynor M, General Manager at Cairn Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2014

Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I was extremely proud to read your comments regarding the staff and about our breakfast. We do hope you will come and stay with us again soon.
Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,433)
There are newer reviews for Cairn Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

972 - 978 of 1,433 reviews

Reviewed March 19, 2014

I am a trainer who recently held a training day for 20 midwives at the cairn hotel. The facilities were very well appointed and accompanied by excellent staff. Attention to detail and all our needs were excellently looked after. Than you especially to Dianne for coordinating my stay at the hotel And all of the arrangements. Highly recommended !!!

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yourfuturesmiles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaynor M, General Manager at Cairn Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2014

Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to write a review.
We were very happy to be the venue for your training and I will pass on your kind comments to all concerned with the organising of the event.
Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2014

We stayed one night for a girls weekend away - celebrating the birthday of one of our party.
The hotel was beautiful, well decorated, clean and comfortable... and the staff had arranged for items we requested to be placed in the room.
The staff were helpful, recommending places to spend our night out, we picked one of the more unusual suggestions which turned out to be great too!

We had our evening meal in the restaurant, and breakfast, and were pleased with both - the food was well prepared and service well done... not too over the top.

I am happy to recommend this hotel on the basis of our stay, and look forward to returning again in the future, to both the hotel, AND Harrogate itself.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sandra M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaynor M, General Manager at Cairn Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2014

Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to write a review.
We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2014

Only stayed for 1 nt but it was an excellent place very clean. Good location for shopping. Food was wonderful service was great,bedrooms were of a good size very warm and freindly. Will be bk again, plenty of parking as well

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rock4490
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaynor M, General Manager at Cairn Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2014

Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am happy that you enjoyed your stay for your friends birthday and hopefully we will see you again very soon.
Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2014

room a bit dated, dining room too small when hotel busy, was not allowed to eat before 8.pm and was shunted into small breakfast room blame Management but front line staff were EXCELLENT, main bar area too big and could do with a few more seats but overall had a good weekend

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank William N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaynor M, General Manager at Cairn Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2014

Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to write a review.
I am sorry that you found the restaurant to be fully booked until 8.00pm, on our busy weekends other guests do like to book earlier to enjoy the rest of the evening and we do try to be as fair as possible.
I have taken your comments on board about our bar area being to big and will ensure that should it be needed extra seating will be available.
We do hope you will visit us again in the future.
Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2014

It just gets better and better had a couple of afternoon teas while we were here simply gorgeous. The staff are attentive at all times and make you feel special, they are an absolute credit to the hotel. We will be back again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Catons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaynor M, General Manager at Cairn Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2014

Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to write a review.
I am so very proud of the staff at the cairn hotel and that the team made your stay feel special. We look forward to seeing you again very soon.
Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2014

A traditional large hotel with a quiet aspect and within easy walking distance of the town centre. The building is unique and has loads of character, which was a welcome change from the bland sterile design of most modern hotels. The bedrooms are large, well appointed and comfortable. The breakfast choice was varied, with a hot buffet which was excellent (including proper scrambled egg and not the usual reconstituted powdered variety associated with large hotels). The bar meals were reasonably priced, as was the wine. There is a large free car park at the front of the hotel and all the staff at the hotel were very polite and efficient. So a two night stay on buisness at a very competetive B&B rate was a very pleasant and enjoyable experience.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DGK1661
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gaynor M, General Manager at Cairn Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 22, 2014

Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time to write a review.
I am very happy that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Harrogate hotels
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Harrogate
Crowne Plaza Harrogate
#8 of 30 in Harrogate
188 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#14 of 30 in Harrogate
1,314 reviews
0.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Cedar Court Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Majestic Hotel
The Majestic Hotel
#18 of 30 in Harrogate
2,863 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kimberley Hotel
Kimberley Hotel
#6 of 30 in Harrogate
1,744 reviews
0.7 mi away
The West Park Hotel
The West Park Hotel
#2 of 30 in Harrogate
624 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cairn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cairn Hotel

Address: Ripon Road, Harrogate HG1 2JD, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Harrogate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 30 Hotels in Harrogate
Price Range: $82 - $200 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Cairn Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This grand, Victorian hotel boasts private gardens, a gym, and classical decor. Its traditionally furnished rooms feature private bathrooms, while Harrogate’s centre is 5 minutes’ walk away. Each room at The Cairn includes a TV, along with 24-hour room service and tea/coffee-making facilities. Some rooms offer luxurious bathrobes, wine, and chocolates. Free parking is also available as well as Free WiFi in public areas, in Superior Rooms, or in all rooms if you book direct with the hotel. The Windsor Restaurant serves a locally sourced traditional menu, with a carvery and an extensive wine list. With its classic pillars and arches, guests can relax with a drink in the bar and lounge area. Both The Royal Pump Room Museums and Betty’s Tea Rooms are a 10-minute walk away. Harrogate Theatre and Harrogate Rail Station are 15 minutes away on foot. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Cairn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cairn Hotel Harrogate, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing