We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place to stay”
Review of Cairn Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Cairn Hotel
Ranked #11 of 30 Hotels in Harrogate
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good place to stay”
Reviewed May 17, 2013

I stayed at the Cairn with friends. It is in a very convenient location for the town with a large car park. The rooms are spacious and clean, maybe a little dated but nothing to worry about.
The breakfast was very tasty (we all said so) with a good choice and is served to you - very civilised.
Will stay again when in Harrogate.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bonnie693
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,345 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    369
    575
    259
    81
    61
See reviews for
127
702
29
125
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (368)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
huddersfield
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2013

What a lovely place to stay! We stayed this weekend to celebrate a friend's fiftieth birthday. The rooms were comfortable warm and well maintained. We requested rooms on a low floor as near as possible to each other and got exactly that. Last time we stayed at the Cairn, which was well before the current owners took over, the place was shabby and slightly dilapidated. Now there is distinct evidence that investment has rung the changes. From the astonishing foyer with its onyx columns and Victorian and Edwardian details to the array of similar period details throughout the building, it is a privilege to stay there. High ceilinged rooms, comfortable bar area and foyer and welcoming atmosphere. Food is of a high standard, service is impeccable, both efficient and friendly, and the value for money is exemplary (if in doubt check the Premier Inn in Hornbeam Park - here it would have cost us more for a single night without meals than bed, breakfast and evening meal at the Cairn) And then there is the staff - in a mere two nights we felt recognised and valued. The inestimable Monika? in the dining room, the staff throughout the hotel, the barman (Matt?), in fact everybody made us feel welcome. Special thanks to Enzo who took the time to show us the sadly faded glories of the steam rooms and Turkish baths in the basement with their hand-painted encaustic tiles, marble steam room and tiled changing areas. His love of the building and its history was a testament to the staff's fondness for the hotel's history and heritage. I have been visiting Harrogate for the last thirty years and have never felt so comfortable, valued and well served before. Added to this the Cairn is a mere cock-stride from the town centre, and after a couple of drinks at Hales Bar it is a pleasant evening stroll back to a comforting and welcoming home from home. Needless to say our friend had a perfect birthday stay - and so did we! Thank you very much. steve marilyn and chris.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank steve h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Accrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
134 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2013

We stayed here on Easter Saturday with friends & family for a 40th birthday bash. Ideally located within a few minutes walk of the attractions but far enough away from the centre to be peaceful.
This is definitely more Olde World than contemporary. As others have stated it needs a basic refresh at the very least if it continues to charge prices in the £80-100 per night range.
Staff were friendly, bar prices ok and the breakfast was very good with a free mini egg for everyone under their tea cup ( nice touch it was Easter Sunday )
Overall 3/5, would stay again but would probably have a look elsewhere at this price point.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2013

Me and my wife had a 4 day break at the cairn.The hotel is situated 2 mins from town centre.It is the perfect base to explore Yorkshire.The food in the hotel is buffet style and of good quality.And generous portions.the hotel built in 1904 is very grand .The rooms are large and very comfortable with soaps and coffee and biscuits replenished every day.The staff were very friendly and most helpful .The bar has a good range of beers and spirits fairly priced

Room Tip: We stayed in room 210 and it was nice and spacious facing front no problems with noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Recently stayed for one night at this hotel. We booked it due to its convenient location to the town centre and were not disappointed with the close proximity. However, must agree with some of the other reviews - this hotel desperately needs to be refurbished but is so big it would cost a fortune! Our room was at the rear of the hotel, at then end of long corridor and had a view of the gardens and was clean and bright. It was quiet apart from the next morning when we could hear the creaky floorboards as someone walked around the room above! Breakfast was good and the staff at reception and restaurant were friendly and helpful. Would not stay again but we got a good deal so not too disappointed overall.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LeedsCatwoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Had a deal for two night for £135 for two people b&b and would not want to pay any more as the hotel seriously needs updating although the room was clean. Nice but old fashioned traditional public areas and staff were all pleasant enough. Breakfast was adequate with enough choices plus cooked selection as well and nice hot tea and coffee. Lots of older guests here as well who perhaps don't mind it being so dated! But if you have a deal then it's fine because it's so near Harrogate but I wouldn't want to pay full price.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mary L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
county durham
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Nice hotel a little dated and in need of a bit af a refurb we had a club room 323 very nice and spacious foyer and reception area are very nice breakfast was very good for the deal we got it was worth it.

Room Tip: ask for a club room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank layto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Harrogate hotels
0.3 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#12 of 30 in Harrogate
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,241 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Majestic Hotel
The Majestic Hotel
#17 of 30 in Harrogate
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,648 reviews
0.8 mi away
Best Western Plus Cedar Court Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Ascot House Hotel Harrogate
0.7 mi away
The West Park Hotel
The West Park Hotel
#2 of 30 in Harrogate
4.5 of 5 bubbles 579 reviews
2.7 mi away
Rudding Park Hotel
Rudding Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Follifoot
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4,496 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cairn Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cairn Hotel

Property: Cairn Hotel
Address: Ripon Road, Harrogate HG1 2JD, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Harrogate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 30 Hotels in Harrogate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Cairn Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This grand, Victorian hotel boasts private gardens, a gym, and classical decor. Its traditionally furnished rooms feature private bathrooms, while Harrogate’s centre is 5 minutes’ walk away. Each room at The Cairn includes a TV, along with 24-hour room service and tea/coffee-making facilities. Some rooms offer luxurious bathrobes, wine, and chocolates. Free parking is also available as well as Free WiFi in public areas, in Superior Rooms, or in all rooms if you book direct with the hotel. The Windsor Restaurant serves a locally sourced traditional menu, with a carvery and an extensive wine list. With its classic pillars and arches, guests can relax with a drink in the bar and lounge area. Both The Royal Pump Room Museums and Betty’s Tea Rooms are a 10-minute walk away. Harrogate Theatre and Harrogate Rail Station are 15 minutes away on foot. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Cairn Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cairn Hotel Harrogate, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing