We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dreary, tired old hotel doesn't live up to its promise or reputation”
Review of The Crown Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Crown Hotel
Ranked #14 of 30 Hotels in Harrogate
Reviewed March 26, 2010

I'd agree with previous reviewers that The Crown is well situated and the staff were friendly and helpful. But dear oh dear, the place itself is a dreary, tired old place. One could put up with the creaking floorboards if that was part of some 'olde worlde' charm - but 'fraid not - it just reflected poor maintenance. On the first night of our stay we had to run the water for 15 - 20 minutes before we got any hot water at all, and the heating was turned off early in the morning. The room itself was drab with very poor lighting - in fact the only way you could see into the wardrobe was by having the bathroom light on and door open! The bathroom must have been designed by an orangutan, judging by the distance from the loo to the loo paper holder! Breakfast was adequate but below average.

Altogether a disappointing stay for the price - only trumped by a previous stay at the even worse White Heart Hotel over the road. I'll not be going back again - I've had a much better stay at the Holiday Inn!

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ourkid49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,324)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,244 - 1,250 of 1,324 reviews

Reviewed March 7, 2010

We stayed at the Crown Hotel on Saturday 6th March. We paid £140 for the room and lets just say we were less than impressed. We asked to move from the first room we were given as it consisted of a massive room with a small bed and not much else. The next room we were allocated was better. However, here is my problem..... The room, hotel, bar, breakfast and facilities are nothing special. I have stayed in better Travelodges. At least there you know what you are going to get and pay the price accordingly. My expectations were high from the Crown's website and the hotel did not come close to meeting them. When we were checking out we saw that the couple next to us paid £90. I would have probably begrudged paying this.
One more thing I was not impressed with was the smokers from the function, smoking directly outside the front entrance. Not only was this pretty intimidating at 1am but stinky and does not look good.
To leave this review on a positive note though, the hotel is set in an excellent location. So if, you don't mind paying over the odds for a less than impressive room, this hotel is the one for you.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lauracalla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2010

Stayed the weekend of 13/14 February with 3 friends. We had an amazing time...The hotel itself was extremely clean. Bedrooms very spacious, shower was lovely and warm with gorgeous fluffy towels, big enough for the larger lady! Bath robes were provided and were soft enough to melt into.

We had dinner and breakfast which was gorgeous with a wide variety to suit all dietary needs. The staff were so welcoming and helpful, couldn;t do enough for us.

Nightlife was very good, but better on the Saturday. Nightclubs are within walking distance as are a fair few bars. Lots of gorgeous shops nearby and of course Betty's Tea Room!

All in all,, we had an amazing girly weekend and would categorically recommend the hotel to others.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank girlsontour2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2010

Stayed for three nights with three other friends, the hotel is gorgeous, room was big and comfy with everything you need in it. Lovely hot showers and big fluffy towels.
We ate breakfast and dinner at the hotel and the food was delicious and there was a huge variety catering for every one. The rates were great :-) and the meals very reasonable, some good deals on drinks too:-)
We went to a local nightclub which was very busy but a great night out, there are lots of pubs and bars too... and during the day we shopped and shopped... All in all a fantastic place and an brilliant hotel with friendly and helpful staff.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank girlsontour10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2010

Great place to stay !
On the door step for everything !
Staff lovely like one big family
Food locally sourced we had some lovely meals
Can not wait to return!

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CaroleandDianne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2010

We had an overnight stay at the crown, on a B&B basis.
The hotel is centrally located for the best of harrogate, including, betty's cafe, turkish baths, pump room etc...
We stayed in a standard double room, which was clean and a good size.
The staff were efficient and friendly.
The meals in the hotels brasserie were varied and good value.
Overall I would be happy to return and would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Deb774
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2010

Very well styled hotel, sympathetically restored with many classic and modern touches, excellent food, very efficient service and perfect location. Stayed on business, but have been secretly eyeing various mini-break packages ever since. And Harrogate? Well, it is simply stunning!

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bumblefly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Harrogate hotels
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Harrogate
Crowne Plaza Harrogate
#7 of 30 in Harrogate
210 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Majestic Hotel
The Majestic Hotel
#17 of 30 in Harrogate
2,902 reviews
0.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Cedar Court Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Old Swan Hotel
Old Swan Hotel
#16 of 30 in Harrogate
1,731 reviews
0.4 mi away
Kimberley Hotel
Kimberley Hotel
#6 of 30 in Harrogate
1,752 reviews
0.4 mi away
The West Park Hotel
The West Park Hotel
#2 of 30 in Harrogate
629 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Crown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Crown Hotel

Address: Crown Place, Harrogate HG1 2RZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Harrogate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Harrogate
#9 Romantic Hotel in Harrogate
Price Range: $64 - $171 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Crown Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crown Hotel has become one of the premier venues in Harrogate for business and pleasure. The hotel has created a contemporary environment which complements its historic architecture and pays homage to its heritage as a great town centre property. Placed just a couple of minutes walk from the Harrogate International Centre, Turkish Baths, Betty's Tea Rooms and the picturesque town centre with its antique stores, Victorian arcades and boutique shops the Crown Hotel Harrogate is the perfect location for your business trip or weekend away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Crown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crown Hotel Harrogate
The Crown Hotel Harrogate, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing