We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“***GREAT LOCATION***”
Review of The Crown Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Crown Hotel
Ranked #14 of 28 Hotels in Harrogate
Reviewed March 6, 2014

The Crown Hotel is situated in a great location a short stroll to the shops, cafes & bars. The double room was very spacious (but creaky floorboards) with a comfy bed & the bathroom was large including a bath & large fluffy towels. The breakfasts were excellent with a varied selection & the bar was very nice. On the down side we arrived late Friday afternoon & there was no car parking available on site so we had to use a local multi story which cost £23 for 2 nights, & the room wasn't serviced or was about to be at around 4 in the afternoon when were wanting to get ready.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rich G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrownHotel200, Guest Relations Manager at The Crown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 16, 2014

Dear Rich G
Thank you for taking time to write a review and I am pleased that overall you enjoyed most aspects of your stay at the hotel, especially the bed, fluffy towels and the breakfasts.
The hotel has a small car park with spaces at the front and the rear of the hotel with room for approximately 40 cars including 2 disabled bays. Parking is free and once the car park is full our reception team advise guests as to the nearest on-street parking which is free between 6pm and 8am the next day and all day on Sundays. With a roundabout at the front of the hotel and flats to the rear there is no room at all to expand our existing car park much as we'd like to.
I have spoken to the Head Housekeeper in regards to your room not being serviced till late and she is looking into the matter as rooms are usually cleaned as soon as they are vacant.
I do hope that should you visit Harrogate again, you will come back to the Crown to enjoy more breakfasts.
Warm regards
Jo Stockwell
Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,357)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

850 - 856 of 1,357 reviews

Reviewed March 2, 2014

Arrived at the Crown on Saturday afternoon and checked into room very efficiently. The room was very nice, although the view of a ducting or large pipe wasn't particularly lovely. We then went out for the day, but when returning to the hotel we felt the room was cold and the one big radiator in the room was only hot at the top and flat cold at the bottom, so obviously needed bleeding to let air out of the system. My partner phoned down to reception and they said they would sort it out when we went out for the evening. When we returned to the hotel later in the evening, the room was still cold and they had put a small electric radiator on, but this was useless for the size of the room and the large radiator was flat cold. My partner phoned down to reception again, but they said they couldn't do anything until the duty manager arrived in the morning, which was pretty useless really, seen as we were only staying the one night. If I hadn't paid for the room in advance, I wouldn't of been paying the bill, as they didn't nothing to resolve the situation. The only plus was that the breakfast was nice and the huge breakfast room was very warm unlike our bedroom!

Room Tip: Avoid room 139 unless you want a ducting pipe for your view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SMRA07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrownHotel200, Guest Relations Manager at The Crown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2014

Dear smra07
Thank you for taking time to write a review and I am sorry that your stay with us wasn't up to your expectation.
I am also sorry that your radiator was cold however the receptionist tried to get it bled but with no-one from maintenance on duty that night she did what she could to resolve the issue by putting a heater in your room.
Each room has a different outlook and room 139 is at the back of the hotel however should a guest request a "room with a view" we do try our utmost to make sure they get what they want.
Should you visit Harrogate again and stay at the Crown please let reception know that you would prefer a room at the front of the hotel if one is available.
Warm regards
Jo Stockwell
Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2014 via mobile

The hotel is ideally located for the town; shops, bars and restaurants. From the outside it is impressive. However, it was the worse night's sleep - the double bed was more single bed size and we woke up with spring marks in us. The room was a big room as was the bathroom but it was definitely budget fittings. Every floorboard in the corridors and the room creaked excessively which is not conducive to sleep with guests coming and
Going during the night.
Breakfast was good but finishing at 10am on a weekend is early.
More importantly, the hotel did not have a welcoming feel to it. We did not see any staff smile either in reception or the restaurant (breakfast).
If you can get a deal on the hotel it is worth the money, otherwise pay for the travel lodge up the road.

Stayed: March 2014
1  Thank mel94210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrownHotel200, Guest Relations Manager at The Crown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2014

Dear mel94210
Thank you for taking time to write a review of the hotel and I am sorry that you had several issues about your stay. The double beds are standard doubles however so many people have king sized beds now that doubles appear to be a lot smaller. We are hoping to change some of the beds in the near future to zip and link beds which can be converted from twin singles into a king sized bed.
As you know the hotel is a very old building, built over 400 years ago, and at times shows her age but are looking to solve this problem as each room is refurbished.
The timing for breakfast over the weekend (7.30 - 10.00) is fairly standard and it gives people time to pack before checkout at 11 o'clock. This gives the housekeeping team adequate time to turn the rooms around for the next guests, especially on a Saturday when there is a wedding and those attending want to check in early. Guests can always order a continental breakfast in their rooms if they feel like staying in bed longer a little longer.
I am sorry that you felt no-one was happy during your stay as I can assure we do smile a lot. Should you return to Harrogate I hope that you will stay with us again and I promise you that we'll all be cheerful.
Warm regards
Jo Stockewell
Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2014 via mobile

We stayed on a busy Saturday night with our parents aged 92 & 90 who are both frail with different needs. My husband explained our situation on booking and that we were returning to their home town for a family celebration. The reservations agent (Liz) could not have been more helpful in securing us a disabled room and the room we always love to stay in(129) and we were pleasantly surprised on arrival to find a car space reserved for us. From arriving to leaving, and entertaining members of our family in The Place, the staff were so accommodating, friendly and helpful. Special mention to the two young men at The Place on Saturday night who effortlessly reorganised furniture to deal with our 'baggage' and party and served up the must have Yorkshire Tapas. Can't thank the staff here enough for making a potentially difficult weekend so comfortable. The quality of the linen, towels, beds and breakfast are also well worth a mention.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VMLee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrownHotel200, Guest Relations Manager at The Crown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2014

Dear VMLee
Thank you for taking time to write a review and I am so pleased that you enjoyed your stay at the hotel. We don't normally reserve car parking spaces however I spoke to Liz who understood your concerns regarding your parents frailty and wanted to do all she could to make their stay a happy and trouble free one.
I have passed on your comments about the Place staff to the two chaps concerned and they were pleased that they had been "mentioned in dispatches".
I do hope that should you visit Harrogate in the future, you stay with us again and have as good an experience as you had this time.
Warm regards
Jo Stockwell
Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2014

Good location, friendly staff, good food, well appointed bedroom, good bathroom and an extremely comfortable bed ! What more could you wish for.

I stayed in the Crown Hotel earlier this month on a business trip and was really pleasantly surprised. It is ideally located with the main shopping area in easy walking distance. The hotel is steeped in history and has that mysterious air that only comes to well run hotels that have existed and have been nurtured over many years.

Would definitely recommend this hotel for anyone visiting Harrogate, be it a business or a leisure visit.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Colin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrownHotel200, Guest Relations Manager at The Crown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 3, 2014

Dear Colin M
Thank you for taking time to write a review and I am very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you liked every aspect of the hotel including it's history.
We are lucky in being near to most of the amenities in Harrogate: The Royal Baths, Valley Gardens and The Pump Room being just a few attractions the town has to offer as well as, of course, the shopping.
I do hope that should you visit Harrogate again, you stay with us once more at the Crown Hotel
Warm regards
Jo Stockwell
Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2014

Stayed one night at the crown hotel never again the hotel is very tired and dirty went to our room it was big the bed was made but they couldn't put a valance on the base of the bed it was filthy and looked disgusting so did not enjoy the break for 130 a night it should be better

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 175Dottie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrownHotel200, Guest Relations Manager at The Crown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 3, 2014

Dear 175Dottie
Thank you for taking time to write a review however I am not entirely sure that you have got the right hotel. We have looked back at the room rates during February as they were reduced during that month, and cannot find a time when £130 was charged.
The overwhelming majority of the Crown's reviews praise the cleanliness of the hotel so I do take issue with you when you say that it is dirty as this is certainly not what most guests experience when they stay.
If you would like to discuss this further please e-mail me on service.manager@crownhotelharrogate.com
Regards
Jo Stockwell
Guest Serves Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2014

Thought it only fair to update all the pluses have remained ( location breakfasts etc) the last time we stayed i did complain about being disturbed by cleaners early morning firstly i got a good response from the management, and have to say they have acted upon it, so thank you for listening and acting and making our stay much more pleasurable

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank plummys2900
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrownHotel200, Guest Relations Manager at The Crown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded March 3, 2014

Dear plummys2900
Thank you for taking time to write a review and I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay at the Crown Hotel. I am also pleased that your previous comments were noted, passed on and acted upon as we do welcome feedback which helps us to improve guest experiences where we can.
I hope that should you return to the hotel your stay will be as enjoyable.
Warm regards
Jo Stockwell
Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Harrogate hotels
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Harrogate
Crowne Plaza Harrogate
#6 of 28 in Harrogate
291 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Majestic Hotel
The Majestic Hotel
#16 of 28 in Harrogate
3,024 reviews
0.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Cedar Court Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Kimberley Hotel
Kimberley Hotel
#7 of 28 in Harrogate
1,773 reviews
0.2 mi away
Old Swan Hotel
Old Swan Hotel
#17 of 28 in Harrogate
1,759 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cairn Hotel
Cairn Hotel
#11 of 28 in Harrogate
1,495 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Crown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Crown Hotel

Address: Crown Place, Harrogate HG1 2RZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Harrogate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Harrogate
#9 Romantic Hotel in Harrogate
Price Range: $59 - $167 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Crown Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crown Hotel has become one of the premier venues in Harrogate for business and pleasure. The hotel has created a contemporary environment which complements its historic architecture and pays homage to its heritage as a great town centre property. Placed just a couple of minutes walk from the Harrogate International Centre, Turkish Baths, Betty's Tea Rooms and the picturesque town centre with its antique stores, Victorian arcades and boutique shops the Crown Hotel Harrogate is the perfect location for your business trip or weekend away. Whilst our central location means that parking on site is limited, there are a number of parking areas close by. Guests are invited to drop of luggage at reception before parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Crown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crown Hotel Harrogate
The Crown Hotel Harrogate, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing