We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Marion & Tims Wedding”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Crown Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Crown Hotel
Ranked #12 of 30 Hotels in Harrogate
Newton on Ouse, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Marion & Tims Wedding”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2013

On Sat 19/10/13 we got married at this hotel. We have beeen planning for a year and have worked very closely with the events co-ordinators, during this time they could not have been more helpful. On the day everything went like clockwork and to plan, we had a fantastic day and again the hotel staff were brilliant. If you are planning to get married in Harrogate we can highly reccomend The Crown Hotel. The food and service was excellent and in the evening we had a disco which was equally as good. Our special thanks go to Jenny Sutton and Keir Hayter in co-ordinating this for us. Everyone who attended told they had thoroughly enjoyed the day.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrownHotel200, Guest Relations Manager at The Crown Hotel, responded to this review, November 10, 2013
Dear Smith918
Thank you for taking your time to write a review and I am so pleased that you enjoyed your stay at the hotel and that your wedding day was everything that you hoped for, especially after all of the planning that went into it. I have passed your thanks on to Jenny and Keir who worked with you both to make sure your day went perfectly. I am also pleased that your guests enjoyed the day too.
I hope that you come back to stay with us in a years time to celebrate your anniversary and we can look forward to meeting up with you again. Congratulations and the very best of luck to you both for the future.
Warm regards
Jo Stockwell
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,224 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    344
    472
    246
    101
    61
See reviews for
163
551
49
218
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (312)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
58 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here overnight as were attending a friends wedding at a neighbouring hotel. The hotel is impressive from the outside and the lobby looks lovely with its chandeliers and decor. However there was a feeling that parts of the hotel needed some modernisation and tlc. This would be an amazing hotel with a little modern tlc.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank RedWooll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrownHotel200, Guest Relations Manager at The Crown Hotel, responded to this review, November 10, 2013
Dear Redwooll
Thank you for taking time to write a review and I am very pleased that you liked the hotel and the grandeur of the building, especially the outside and the reception/lounge area. When the hotel was refurbished 7 years ago it was felt that the decor had to be in keeping with the style of the building. The decoration on the ceiling in the lounge was picked out in gold and the chandeliers repaired and cleaned. The wooden floor in the breakfast room was restored to it's former glory and the function rooms have their wooden panels, beautiful ceilings and sumptuous drapes. The refurbishment is an ongoing process and there are some modern features which compliment the traditional decoration.
I do hope that should you stay at the hotel again you will have a look at the other rooms to see how sympathetically they have been refurbished.
Warm regards
Jo Stockwell
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
103 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2013

We have stayed at the Crown Hotel several times over past couple of years, we like the Harrogate shopping/eating experience. We twice celerbrated New Years Eve with friends and stay as a couple at least twice a year, in fact we are booked for end of November with my son and his wife, going to the Christmas Fayre. We normaly prefer eating out but can certainly recommend the Breakfest Buffet. We find the staff very helpful and the hotel in general is very clean. We did experience some very selfish business men in the lounge one morning having a very loud "group" telephone call with third parties, we quieltly mentioned it to a passing member of staff who apologised and took us to a quieter area and brought us complimentry coffee.

Room Tip: Rooms on the front are excellent with lovely views out across the flower beds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eric P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrownHotel200, Guest Relations Manager at The Crown Hotel, responded to this review, November 10, 2013
Dear Eric P
Thank you for taking time to write a review and I am so pleased that you enjoy your visits to the hotel. The Christmas Fayre in Harrogate has really taken off and the hotel is very busy this year with guests who are coming especially for the fair. I hope the weather is better this time than last year when it rained, although it didn't dampen spirits at all.
The hotel is very proud of it's breakfast buffet and we get very many compliments on the quantity as well as the quality of the food. I am glad that you like it.
I am also pleased that the "annoyance" you had with the rather loud guest was dealt with promptly, and to your satisfaction, by a memeber of staff.
I look forward to welcoming both you and your family back to the hotel in a few weeks time.
Warm regards
Jo Stockwell
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leamington Spa, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
160 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

This is an historic hotel which has undergone a substantial refurbishment. The room I had was large and comfortable and well appointed. I was at the front of the building but it was well insulated from traffic noise and the curtains kept out exterior light. It was good to have instructions to operate the shower in the hotel guide as this isn't always self-evident and other hotels could copy. Wi-Fi was slow on the evening I arrived, but was fine in the morning. Normally I have museli and toast for breakfast but I had the full English which was piled high and good quality, especially the black pudding. The sumptuous breakfast room was a bit forlorn given what seemed to be very thin trade. On my occasional trips to Harrogate, I have stayed in a number of locations and no one has been unsatisfactory so far.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wyn G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrownHotel200, Guest Relations Manager at The Crown Hotel, responded to this review, November 10, 2013
Dear WynG
Thank you for taking time to write a review of the hotel and I am very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us.
The rooms at the front of the hotel are unfortunately limited in number but if you do stay in one it's lovely to sit and look at the roundabout covered in flowers with the large crown in the centre.
The hotel guest folders were updated earlier in the year and this time we did think to include "how to operate" guides for guests, as well as the free wi-fi passwords" to save them coming back down to reception to ask.
I am glad that you enjoyed your breakfast as we are very proud of what we offer our guests and the black pudding is now made in house by the chefs. The Churchill Suite where breakfast is held is a large and imposing room and generally full at the weekend, although if you come down early it's nice to enjoy a coffee with the Sunday papers while it's quiet.
I do hope that if you visit Harrogate again you will once more stay at the Crown.
Warm regards
Jo Stockwell
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2013

Choose the hotel as it was close to a venue we were attending, and rather than spend money on a Taxi home (as we're fairly local) decided to stay over.
On arrival, no parking spaces - many were reserved, although their own website states First come first served. Didn't matter as we didn't need parking, but contradicts what they state.
Reception was well lacking. Miserable woman never said a word until we spoke first, and just spat "name"
Room was freezing (159). No central heating, but oil heater hidden away in wardrobe.
Hot water was Tepid and had to be run 5 minutes to even get that.
Bed was knackered, and we rolled together into the middle.
Thin walls/ceiling, could easily hear conversations and people showering/flushing loo etc.
Breakfast. We went down 45 minutes before end of service, little hot food, fresh juices were all out. They obviously didn't want to put anything out fresh

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrownHotel200, Guest Relations Manager at The Crown Hotel, responded to this review, November 10, 2013
Dear Mark H
Thank you for taking time to write a review and I am sorry that the stay did not meet with your expectations.
The car park, although free, is limited and we decided some while ago that parking was to be on a first come first served basis, apart from reserving the 2 disabled bays when asked as well as a space for the registrar as required by our licence to marry. The few reserved spaces that you may have seen are for requests made months ago which we are honouring. There is plenty of parking around the hotel and the reception team are more than happy to direct guests to them.
I am sorry that you felt the receptionist you encountered was miserable. I have passed on your comments to the Reception Manager to investigate as there may well be training issues.
Room 159 is at the end of the line for both hot water and heating although, as you indicate, there is a heater in the room for those who want it. The hot water takes just a minute or two to pull through and is usually hot. I have spoken to the Maintenance Manager to see if there is an issue in that particular room. There is an ongoing programme to replace all matresses in the hotel.
I am sorry that you did not enjoy breakfast and it has never been the policy to "run down" food before the end of service, and certainly not 45 minutes before. The waiting staff will always replenish both fruit juice and food when it is running low and all staff are very proud of the quality of breakfasts we serve.
Once again I am sorry you did not enjoy your stay and hope that should you come again, your experience will be more positive.
Warm regards
Jo Stockwell
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Tyne
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2013

We had a 5 day stay at The Crown.
On arrival we were greeted by a friendly Receptionist who was most helpful. She had allocated us a room with the thought in mind of a wedding party taking place at the end of the week. Unfortunately the first and second choice of bedrooms were not suitable, however, the third with the help of the House Keeper was fine.
The furnishings were very good, the bed comfortable, and everything spotlessly clean. Although there was no view! the room was relatively quiet - an old building with creaking floor boards, Additionally we were disturbed by some noisy guests, but we put up with these in the belief that they too were on holiday.
The hotel is situated in the lower part of the town and is of no inconvenience for those who are able bodied and able to walk. It can be difficult for disabled persons to get around.
This was our 2nd visit to this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask at Reception if you can check the room before accepting.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheTyneGeordie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrownHotel200, Guest Relations Manager at The Crown Hotel, responded to this review, November 9, 2013
Dear The TyneGeordie
Thank you for taking time to write a review of the hotel and I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. It is sometimes worth taking time to discuss with the reception team the type and location of the available rooms so that you have one that is most suited to your needs. The team, along with the Head Housekeeper, are always happy to show you available rooms should you ask. The hotel is a few hundred years old so some of the floorboards do creak, although we are looking to solving this problem in the future and I am pleased that you found the hotel clean and the bed comfortable.
The Crown is situated next to The Valley Gardens and The Pump Room in the lower part of Harrogate, however for those with walking difficulties we are more than happy to order a taxi to take them to the town centre a few minutes away.
I do hope that should you revisit Harrogate we can welcome you back to The Crown.
Warm regards
Jo Stockwell
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lymm, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
281 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 182 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2013

The Crown has the look and feel of a hotel that was once the pride of the town but which has perhaps shows the ravages of time a little more these days. Although it has apparently undergone a refurbishment in recent years there isn't a huge amount of evidence of what was done - don't get me wrong, it is a pleasant enough place but huge vaulted ceilings, wooden paneling and fluted columns (even when freshly painted) suggest an old fashioned grandeur rather than a modern hotel.

Furnishing in the rooms are distinctly old fashioned too, not least the bed itself. A soft mattress on a slightly shakey old frame did not make for the most restful of night's sleep, sadly. The staff and service were good, the general cleanliness beyond reproach, and overall there's not all that much to complain about. It is, however, an average hotel in a good location. Difficult to say more in it's favour than that.

Room Tip: If you want to use the stairs, don't take a room on the third floor - it seems impossible to rea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sionel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrownHotel200, Guest Relations Manager at The Crown Hotel, responded to this review, November 10, 2013
Dear Sionel
Thank you for taking time to write a review of the hotel and I am pleased that you found some positives during your stay including the staff, the cleanliness and the service you recieved.
The hotel is over 400 years old and was last refurbished 7 years ago. The owners wanted to retain the grandeur and elegance of the building, which I believe they have, and which is in keeping with Harrogate and the surrounding area.
The bedrooms were also refurbished 7 years ago and we are looking to update them in the next few years, and we also have an ongoing programme to replace the matresses.
I do hope that should you come back to Harrogate, you stay with us again to enjoy the atmosphere of the hotel as well as the nearby amenities.
Warm regards
Jo Stockwell
Guest Services Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Harrogate hotels
0.2 mi away
The Majestic Hotel
The Majestic Hotel
#16 of 30 in Harrogate
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,610 reviews
0.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Cedar Court Hotel
2.5 mi away
Rudding Park Hotel
Rudding Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Follifoot
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4,454 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Ascot House Hotel Harrogate
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Harrogate
Crowne Plaza Harrogate
#17 of 30 in Harrogate
4.0 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
0.4 mi away
The West Park Hotel
The West Park Hotel
#2 of 30 in Harrogate
4.5 of 5 bubbles 569 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Crown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Crown Hotel

Property: The Crown Hotel
Address: Crown Place, Harrogate HG1 2RZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Harrogate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Harrogate
#9 Romantic Hotel in Harrogate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Crown Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crown Hotel has become one of the premier venues in Harrogate for business and pleasure. The hotel has created a contemporary environment which complements its historic architecture and pays homage to its heritage as a great town centre property. Placed just a couple of minutes walk from the Harrogate International Centre, Turkish Baths, Betty's Tea Rooms and the picturesque town centre with its antique stores, Victorian arcades and boutique shops the Crown Hotel Harrogate is the perfect location for your business trip or weekend away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Crown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crown Hotel Harrogate
The Crown Hotel Harrogate, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing