We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wedding Stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Crown Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Crown Hotel
Ranked #13 of 31 Hotels in Harrogate
Southampton, UK
Level Contributor
33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Wedding Stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013

Stayed in the Crown Hotel for a wedding in a twin room and thought the hotel very pleasant. The rooms were a good size, clean and with none of the heat issues described in other reviews. Bathrooms were very clean and well stocked. You can tell the hotel has a lot of history and is old, but I don't think that detracts from the cleanliness or quality of decor. All in all I had a very pleasant stay and would definitely return.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hotbox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrownHotel200, Guest Relations Manager at The Crown Hotel, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Dear Hotbox
Thank you for taking the time to write a reveiw and I am so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. The Crown Hotel is a very old building and we include a history of it in the Guest Information folder in the rooms, which a lot of visitors find interesting. Our Head Housekeeper takes pride in the bedrooms and their cleanliness so I will pass your comments to her. I hope that you make a return visit and enjoy your stay again.
Warm regards
Jo Stockwell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,197 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    331
    464
    243
    99
    60
See reviews for
157
539
48
210
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (307)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2013

Several of us stayed here for a hen party on 20th July. The room was clean and large, but it was somewhat dated and incredibly hot, as was the same in all the rooms taken by our party. The windows only opened a few inches and no fresh air could come into the room. Though it wasn't any where near the hottest weekend we've had this year, the room was stuffy and far too hot, despite having a fan washing over us all night and sleeping on top of the beds. Staff were apologetic and provided a fan and tried to see if an alternative room was available (none were) but it was not conducive to a pleasant stay.
Breakfast was average - croissants kept running out then came out very undercooked, sausages ran out, and the toaster kept breaking.
Overall, disappointing. I wouldn't return.

Room Tip: If you like it hot and stuffy take any room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SophieKingo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrownHotel200, Manager at The Crown Hotel, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Dear Sophiekingo
Many thanks for taking the time to write a review on trip Advisor, my apologies that you felt your stay wasnt up to expectations, as you are aware we have been experiencing unseasonal hot and humid weather, which in turn makes the rooms hot, I understand that you were provided with a fan which appeared to be inadequate, due to health and safety reasons we are not allowed to have the windows open over a certain height.
My apologies regarding the breakfast, the Head Chef has been made aware of it
Thank you once again for bringing this to my attention
Kind regards
Helene Ballinger
Revenue Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dalkeith, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2013

We have just returned from Harrogate the Hotel was very nice rooms clean and comfotabel but very warm, food could be better very small portions, the staff were very nice and helpful, it was a Glenton tour and every one was all full of fun.As for Harrogate it is very hillie for elderly people and just full of shops that you get at home. anyone that wants to go to Bettys take plenty money.Thanks again to the staff.

Room Tip: try and get a front room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrownHotel200, Manager at The Crown Hotel, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Dear Jennifer H
Many thanks for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor, I am really pleased that you enjoyed your still with Glenton Holiday and the hotel, we look forward to welcome you back again!!
Harrogate is very hilly but im sure that your trip to bettys was worth it!!
Kind Regards
Helene Ballinger
Revenue Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mollymook, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2013

My wife and I stayed in this hotel for two nights on 26-27/07/2013. It is an impressive three level old Victorian sandstone building right in the centre of Harrogate with limited parking in the forecourt and overflow in a lane way at the rear. In keeping with its exterior it is of course very old world inside but nonetheless clean and tidy. We were given room 344 on the top level which was spacious and comfortably furnished but for some reason or other was extremely hot. While the entry level of the hotel with its reception, lounges, restaurants and bars was quite comfortable on leaving the lift on the third level we noticed a warming and as we walked to the room up a few steps the temperature increased noticeably. Inside the room it was warmer still. All through the night we laid awake perspiring inasmuch as there is neither air conditioning nor fans. We reported it to reception on checking out but I doubt if anything will be done. While the breakfast room and the food were great we didn't dine at the hotel in the evening as we had intended inasmuch as neither the restaurant nor its menu encouraged us. To my knowledge it had neither a pool nor a fitness centre.

However Harrogate aside is a very neat and tidy city and is real gem with its wonderful commons, gardens and street floral displays and sites. One could say it is a wealthy area and I would heartily recommend it tourists to spend a few days there. One of its icons is Berry's Tea Rooms which is a short walk from the hotel and is a real must for visitors with its devonshire and high teas plus wonderful cakes and pasties. It is more or less open seven days a week from early morning till after dark. It must be an absolute goldmine.

Harrogate also has many many nice restaurants and shops and is a fine jumping of point for a visit to York. The latter is only 40m away by train which allows you to leave the car at the hotel and so avoid parking there. There you can visit the British Rail Museum, the York Minster, The Shambles and the Viking Centre. Having been there in 2004 we drove up to Goatland which is a half day trip to the north east to see the site of the long running British television series Heartbeat. On our return we called at in at Knaresborough and walked along the river with its cafes and tourists to see the rail viaduct. All in all a real plus to our holiday at McDonald Old English Hotel at Bowness on Windermere in the Lakes and a fabulous Globus Highlands and Islands tour of Scotland.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms of level three
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ken S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrownHotel200, Manager at The Crown Hotel, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Dear Ken S
many thanks for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor, I am really pleased that overall you enjoyed your stay at the hotel, my apologies for it being too hot, as you can appreciate we are experiencing so very warm hunid weather at present, which in turn rises and makes the hotel warmer.
Thank you for taking the time to give feedback to me though it is very much appreciated
Kind Regards
Helene Ballinger
Revenue Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2013

so we decided to go to thirsk races,but couldnt get hotel within 15 miles.as a last resort went onto booking .com they come up with crown hotel harrogate,so we just booked it there and then without seeing it,what a surprise when we got there.it commands great views overlooking gardens,central to harrogate town.the hotel was built in 1797 and is huge with some 141 rooms and conference rooms.hotel is clean and beds were really comfy.plenty of small bars around.the breakfast was great with a wide variety to choose from.but the main thing was the price great value we booked 3 rooms with breakfast and it was only 271 for all of us 54 pounds each for great hotel great food and stunning location.well worth a visit.

Room Tip: try the live music bar across the road brill night
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank stephen s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrownHotel200, Manager at The Crown Hotel, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Dear StephenS
Many thanks for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor, I am really pleased that you enjoyed your stay and that you had a good time at the races, look forward to welcoming you back again very soon
Kind Regards

Helene Ballinger
Revenue Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shropshire
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013

We stayed here on our wedding night 40 years ago so came back for the weekend. The staff could not have been friendlier or more efficient. The decor however is dated, the room was clean and well serviced but very stuffy and hot and the windows did not open (health and safety!!). The room faces the front and you are always going to get some noise but they are resurfacing the road outside and we were serenaded by pneumatic drills until the early hours. The bathroom was lovely and spacious but for some reason the toilet was positioned so close to the wall that you almost had to sit sideways - it would have been difficult for someone large. We couldn't get a parking space so had to juggle the car in the nearby streets. We had a good reason for choosing the Crown this time but could get better/as good for much less money in the area.

Room Tip: Avoid the top floor (heat rises) and the front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ShropshireParkers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrownHotel200, Manager at The Crown Hotel, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Dear ShropshireParkers
Many thanks for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor, I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay overall, unfortunately the road works were at last minute decision by the council which was made worse by the fact they penetrated a water pipe hence having to dig up the road again, which may the problem worse.
Im sorry that you didnt think your room was up to expectations but as you requested that room for sentimental reasons we accommodated you in that room.
I recall chatting to you upon check out and there was no indication that your stay was less than satisfactory other than the heat in the room.
I wish to thank you for your feedback though and really hope you will be back for another anniversary in the next few years
Kind Regards
Helene Ballinger
Revenue Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2013

The two most important priorities for my husband when staying in a hotel are, a comfortable bed and a decent breakfast. The Crown matched both of these. The breakfast was excellent with a continental choice or full English and as much as you could eat.
Granted it is an old hotel but I would say one with character. The rooms were clean and spacious and we survived without airconditioning. We have stayed in airconditioned hotel rooms before and always been troubled with the noise or sore throat afterwards. The location enabled us to walk into the town or the Montpellier quarter in minutes to soak up the atmosphere, which we so much enjoyed. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dorothy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrownHotel200, Manager at The Crown Hotel, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Dear Dorothy L
Many thanks for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor, I am really pleased that you enjoyed your stay and i look forward to welcoming you back again very soon

Kind Regards

Helene Ballinger
Revenue Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Harrogate hotels
0.2 mi away
The Majestic Hotel
The Majestic Hotel
#17 of 31 in Harrogate
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,561 reviews
2.5 mi away
Rudding Park Hotel
Rudding Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Follifoot
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4,394 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ascot House Hotel Harrogate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Cedar Court Hotel
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn
#12 of 31 in Harrogate
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,425 reviews
0.4 mi away
The West Park Hotel
The West Park Hotel
#3 of 31 in Harrogate
4.5 of 5 bubbles 551 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Crown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Crown Hotel

Property: The Crown Hotel
Address: Crown Place, Harrogate HG1 2RZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Harrogate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Harrogate
#9 Romantic Hotel in Harrogate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Crown Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crown Hotel has become one of the premier venues in Harrogate for business and pleasure. The hotel has created a contemporary environment which complements its historic architecture and pays homage to its heritage as a great town centre property. Placed just a couple of minutes walk from the Harrogate International Centre, Turkish Baths, Betty's Tea Rooms and the picturesque town centre with its antique stores, Victorian arcades and boutique shops the Crown Hotel Harrogate is the perfect location for your business trip or weekend away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your The Crown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crown Hotel Harrogate
The Crown Hotel Harrogate, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing