We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Location but not my type of hotel”
Review of The Crown Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Crown Hotel
Ranked #14 of 30 Hotels in Harrogate
Reviewed April 24, 2013

Stayed here for 1 night had a very large room although it had a fusty smell which along with the creaky floor boards was a bit disappointing. Its location is great, within easy walking distance to everywhere with lots of restaurants and bars nearby and conference centre. I arrived early and got a parking space, there is not many available. The hotel is magnificent when you first approach and many of the lobby areas are very impressive, breakfast was good.

Overall if you like a modern hotel this would not probably press your button so if you like grand and stately hotels with high ceilings the are a pice of heritage then this will be ideal.

Room Tip: 223 is at the front above the entrance, it only has a small window and so is very dark
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Neil A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrownHotel200, Manager at The Crown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 20, 2013

Dear EE Neil
Many thanks for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor, I wish to thank you for your feedback as you say the hotel is not a modern hotel and it may not be to everyones taste
Kind Regards
Helene Ballinger
Revenue Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,312)
There are newer reviews for The Crown Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

933 - 939 of 1,312 reviews

Reviewed April 18, 2013

A landmark Georgian Hotel in the centre of Harrogate, beautiful building and public rooms but some of the bedrooms are more than a touch "tired" - 247 is one of the better ones but be careful in 244 that the rotted bath window doesn't fall on someone. Staff in the main bar reluctant to serve coffee at 10-30pm - coffee machine already cleaned ready for a prompt 11pm departure! (Felt more Sheffield than Harrogate!) In fairness served free gourmet coffee and biscuits arranged by the manager when watching Lady Thatcher's funeral. - Very Harrogate!
Superb location for enjoying the host of bars, and very fine restaurants in Harrogate - all at reasonable prices. Some of the staff were brilliant whilst others a little less so.
Still worth a stay and would return if not now barred!

Room Tip: Go for 247
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BrickKilnStud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrownHotel200, Manager at The Crown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 20, 2013

Dear Brickilnstud

Many thanks for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor, I am pleased that overall you enjoyed your stay, please accept my apologies for the behavior of the bar staff this has been passed to the Place Manager and is being actioned, although i am pleased taht you enjoyed your complimentary coffee whilst the funeral was on!!
Kind Regards
Helene Ballinger
Revenue Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2013

Have stayed here for two days each year for the past three years on business. The Crown is located in a perfect position for the exhibition centre in Harrogate - less than a five minute walk away. Comfort wise, the rooms aren't huge, but they're nice enough and the food is pretty good. Overall, a good place to stay with what I'd consider to be around a three star hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GSRider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrownHotel200, Manager at The Crown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 20, 2013

Dear GSRider
Many thanks for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay,i look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel.
Kind Regards
Helene Ballinger
Revenue Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2013

I stayed here with my sister on a business trip during the Christmas Exhibitions and we stayed at the Crown Hotel just a few yards from the Exhibition Centre.
Absolutely gorgeous hotel and it made you feel somewhat special just staying there! Hotel staff were friendly and breakfast was superb. Comfy beds and very spacious twin room, everything in working order and no complaints what so ever. Would definitely visit again, love harrogate!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Izzyj90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrownHotel200, Manager at The Crown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 20, 2013

Dear Izzyj90
Many thanks for your review on Trip Advisor I am thrilled that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back again very soon
Kind regards
Helene Ballinger
Revenue Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Had a good stay. Brilliant location to the centre and no more than 10 mins to Aunty Betty's tea room. Close to convention centre and some lovely parks nearby.
Great breakfast.
I had a newlynrefurbed room so no complaints, nice design and clean.

Room Tip: Avoid wedding times if you want a quiet night but the same would apply to all hotels.
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank UJB1217
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrownHotel200, Manager at The Crown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2013

Dear UJB1217
Many thanks for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor, Im really pleased that you enjoyed your stay, we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the very near future
Kind Regards
Helene Ballinger
Revenue Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Just come back from our annual pilgrimage to Harrogate. Stayed at the Crown this time - right in the heart of everything. We had a room at the front which gave us a good view over the roundabout and across the end of The Stray. Enjoyed the breakfast but the decor in the room was a little 'tired'.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Abigail B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrownHotel200, Manager at The Crown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2013

Dear AbigailB
Many thanks for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor, I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay, hopefully we can welcome you back again very soon.
Kind Regards
Helene Ballinger
Revenue Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Stayed for 2 nights 5th & 6th April. Overall the hotel was fairly nice our problems were the very loud noise from event on Friday evening (even though we were on the second floor). No instant hot water, reception advised me that you have to run the tap for 10 mins to get the water hot as it comes from the boiler which is at the other end of the hotel. 10 mins is a long time to run a tap and its also a massive waste of water!!

My biggest problem with the hotel was I woke on Sunday morning to find the pillow case had started to come off my pillow, to show the nastiest of green and dark brown stains on the pillow (stomach turning!) There is now way that this could have been missed when the bed was made, I took a photo and showed it to a lady at reception. She didnt apologise or comment when I raised the issue about the hot water again, she just said she would tell housekeeping.

Room Tip: Ensure that you dont get a room facing the nightclub at the back as this is noisy from the club and...
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elliebrown_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrownHotel200, Manager at The Crown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2013

Dear Elliebrown_10
Many thanks for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor, firstly i wish to express my apologies re the hot water, unfortunately because it is an old hotel it can take some time for the water to filter through the system, with regards to the pillow protector the housekeeper has been made aware of this and she wishes to express her profuse apologies about this to you both, they are checked on a regular basis and she really has no answer as to why this has happened.
We really appreciate your feedback and i apologise that we fell short on this occasion, but i thank you for taking the time to write a review.
Kind Regards
Helene Ballinger
Revenue Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Harrogate hotels
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Harrogate
Crowne Plaza Harrogate
#9 of 30 in Harrogate
184 reviews
0.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Cedar Court Hotel
0.2 mi away
The Majestic Hotel
The Majestic Hotel
#18 of 30 in Harrogate
2,859 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Old Swan Hotel
Old Swan Hotel
#17 of 30 in Harrogate
1,720 reviews
0.4 mi away
The West Park Hotel
The West Park Hotel
#2 of 30 in Harrogate
621 reviews
0.4 mi away
Kimberley Hotel
Kimberley Hotel
#6 of 30 in Harrogate
1,743 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Crown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Crown Hotel

Address: Crown Place, Harrogate HG1 2RZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Harrogate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Harrogate
#9 Romantic Hotel in Harrogate
Price Range: $77 - $191 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Crown Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crown Hotel has become one of the premier venues in Harrogate for business and pleasure. The hotel has created a contemporary environment which complements its historic architecture and pays homage to its heritage as a great town centre property. Placed just a couple of minutes walk from the Harrogate International Centre, Turkish Baths, Betty's Tea Rooms and the picturesque town centre with its antique stores, Victorian arcades and boutique shops the Crown Hotel Harrogate is the perfect location for your business trip or weekend away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Crown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crown Hotel Harrogate
The Crown Hotel Harrogate, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing