We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Service could be better - but sorted by excellent Manager” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Crown Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Crown Hotel
Ranked #13 of 31 Hotels in Harrogate
Lancs
Level Contributor
34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Service could be better - but sorted by excellent Manager”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2012

Ok a bit of a tricky one first the bad points - 1/ car parking is limited, they do have places behind the hotel though, and we found one on a Saturday afternoon.
2/ stayed just Saturday night, the hotel is in a central position and it can be noisy outside due to pubs/clubs late at night, I suspect it is a listed building and cannot install double glazing.
3/ stayed on a DBB deal - service could have been better especially around the evening meal time.
Good points - 1/ Great central position walking distance to all shops/restaurants & bars.
2/ Room on 3rd floor was brilliant paid £20 extra to get upgrade, had a seperate lounge room with sofa with another TV - very large rooms.
3/ Value for money booked on champagne deal.
4/ Service poor in restaurant - Manager came to talk to us (we didn't ask to see her) she made a MAJOR concession on the price - that goes a long way with me, recognise the mistake and put things right.
So yes I would go back to this hotel - it ain't perfect but what I paid put a smile on my face!

Room Tip: Be aware at weekends you may hear people on the streets late at night
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PaulCWigan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrownHotel200, Manager at The Crown Hotel, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Dear PaulCWigan

Many thanks for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advsior, overall im pleased that you enjoyed your stay and that te issues that you did have were resolved to your satisfaction.

I look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.

Kind Regards

Helene Ballinger
Revenue Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,197 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    331
    464
    243
    99
    60
See reviews for
157
539
48
210
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (307)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Warrington, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2012

Me and my partner stayed at The Crown Hotel on 10/11/12 for 1 night,

And we can HONESTLY say what a joy it was to be greeted with a friendly smile from GEORGII and JO-JO!!!

They both couldnt do enough for us!!

Our room was spotless, clean, comfy beds, great location and best of all the breakfast!!!!!

We will definatley be staying here again soon!!!!

Room Tip: Ask for room 245 if you want a twin room, spacious and nice and quiet especially if a wedding going...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank martin_dvs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrownHotel200, Manager at The Crown Hotel, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Dear martin_dvs

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor, I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay,
Looking forward to welcoming you back again in the near future

Kind Regards

Helene Ballinger
Revenue Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
N/A
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2012

Great central location, but limited parking, friendly helpful staff, clean tidy & attractive public areas, rooms are nicely appointed & clean.

Food wise we had a tapas snack early evening & breakfast, both meals were good value & good quality.

Sleep quality was good, rooms have decent sound proofing & comfy beds. The rooms are also adequately sized & have good storage.

Overall the hotel represents reasonable value for money for what it has to offer, we'd stay again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DHindle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrownHotel200, Manager at The Crown Hotel, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Dear DHhindle

many thanks for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor, I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind Regards

Helene Ballinger
Revenue Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bingley, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

We would just like to thank all the staff at The Crown Hotel for the best weekend of our lives. From start to finish we were treated like royalty and nothing was too much trouble. We would particularly like to thank Lucy our Events co-ordinator who made our whole experience of planning our wedding so much easier and to Keir our Master of Ceremonies who calmed us down and made the day run like clockwork. All our family and friends commented on how well looked after the hotel is and how helpful and friendly the staff were. Our suite (130) was excellent I didn't want to leave. We would like also like to thank the chef/s for the fabulous food.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrownHotel200, Manager at The Crown Hotel, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Dear Sarahz

Many thanks for taking the time to write such a lovely review on Trip Advisor, I am thrilled you you held your wedding at the hotel and that everything went as planned for you.
Thanks again for your kind comments re the staff.

Kind regards

Helene Ballinger
Revenue Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rugby warwickshire england
Level Contributor
60 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

This hotel is in a nice central position for visiting Harrogate and surrounding areas,

The staff were very helpful and polite, the breakfast was good with many selections, we also had dinner in the hotel the food we found fairly average with little selection the starters were much better than the main courses...
Our room was large and the bed comfortable and very clean,,the bathroom was very small and very little space for your toilettries.
The main drawback was that we were awoken at 6am by the loud noise from the kitchen fans this spoiled the stay for us, we had a room that was on the first floor and faced the inside, rooms on the outside would probably have been better.

Room Tip: rooms at the front are probably quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rugbytrisha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrownHotel200, Manager at The Crown Hotel, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Dear RugbyTrisha

Many thanks for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor, I am pleased that overall you enjoyed your stay, I wish to apologise that you found the room a little noisy, hopefully if you should stay with us again, then we can accommodate you in one of the quieter rooms.

Kind Regards

Helene Ballinger
Revenue Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2012

Just returned from a fantastic murder mystery at the crown. The murder mystery was amazing and great fun and took place in this wonderful hotel. positioned in the perfect location meaning you can explore Harrogate on foot, the Crown provided nostalgic luxury and comfort. All staff were professional and polite and the rooms very large spacious and comfortable (beds and pillows included).
Breakfast highly recommended and the best breakfast we have had on a weekend break in a long time.
We will definately be returning to The Crown in the near future.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Carol M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrownHotel200, Manager at The Crown Hotel, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Dear Carolm

Many thanks for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor, The Murder Mystery Events are always popular and i pleased that you enjoyed it plus your breakfast the next day.

Hope to welcome you back in the near future


Kind Regards

Helene Ballinger
Revenue Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2012

We drove into Harrogate on a dank and dreary Sunday afternoon of fog. The motorway had been blocked and we were both weary. We entered the hotel in hope as we were without a booking. Then we met Emma who was just so welcoming and keen to look after us. We were given a room which was fresh and airy and thankfully devoid of fog. The en suite bathroom was huge.The bed was soft and kingsize and was to prove remarkably comfortable. Our room was well maintained when we were out and fresh towells provided by a young woman with an endearing smile.This proved to be the case for our three nights occupation. Dinner in The Place was excellently prepared and presented and the staff were just so keen to be helpful while at no time being intrusive. We were well looked after by Ben Luke and Keir. We loved It.

Room Tip: Be nice to people and they will be nice back!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Denis N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrownHotel200, Manager at The Crown Hotel, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Dear Dennis N

Many thanks for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor, I am thrilled that you enjoyed your stay and I hope to welcome you back to The Crown Hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards

Helene Ballinger
Revenue Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Harrogate hotels
0.2 mi away
The Majestic Hotel
The Majestic Hotel
#17 of 31 in Harrogate
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,562 reviews
2.5 mi away
Rudding Park Hotel
Rudding Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Follifoot
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4,395 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ascot House Hotel Harrogate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Cedar Court Hotel
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn
#12 of 31 in Harrogate
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,426 reviews
0.4 mi away
The West Park Hotel
The West Park Hotel
#2 of 31 in Harrogate
4.5 of 5 bubbles 551 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Crown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Crown Hotel

Property: The Crown Hotel
Address: Crown Place, Harrogate HG1 2RZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Harrogate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Harrogate
#9 Romantic Hotel in Harrogate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Crown Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crown Hotel has become one of the premier venues in Harrogate for business and pleasure. The hotel has created a contemporary environment which complements its historic architecture and pays homage to its heritage as a great town centre property. Placed just a couple of minutes walk from the Harrogate International Centre, Turkish Baths, Betty's Tea Rooms and the picturesque town centre with its antique stores, Victorian arcades and boutique shops the Crown Hotel Harrogate is the perfect location for your business trip or weekend away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your The Crown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crown Hotel Harrogate
The Crown Hotel Harrogate, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing