We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More than met our expectations”
Review of The Crown Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Crown Hotel
Ranked #14 of 28 Hotels in Harrogate
Reviewed July 31, 2012

The hotel is centrally located and is quite an impressive building with lots of history. On arrival at the hotel i was fortunate enough to get a car park space immediately in front of the hotel. The receptionist was polite and check-in wasn’t a problem. My room was at the front of the hotel was overlooking parkland. It was well laid out and had a separate bathroom including a bath, shower and W.C. Everything in the room was of a good standard and was clean. I had a very good 3 course evening meal each of the 2 nights I stayed in The Crown and could well recommend the food. The service too was excellent.

Checking out was straight forward. My only concern with the Crown is the car parking. I was lucky in that on each occasion I need to find a space there was one available. However, due to the fact the building is quite old, car parking space wouldn’t have been a significant criteria in the original design.

I enjoyed my stay in Harrogate at The Crown and would certainly be happy to return there or to recommend it to friends or other T.A. members.

Room Tip: Lots of history.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laughingbear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrownHotel200, Manager at The Crown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2012

Dear Laughingbear

Many thanks for taking the time to write a review, i am pleased that you enjoyed your stay at The Crown Hotel and i look forward to welcoming you back in the near future

Kind Regards

Helene Ballinger
Revenue Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,357)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,104 - 1,110 of 1,357 reviews

Reviewed July 30, 2012

Dinner and breakfast very good.

Bedroom didn't live it up to expectation - even though Receptionist said she thought it was their best double bedroom. Had a terrible night sleep due to the constant loud noise coming from other hotel residents all night long. Reception apologised for this, however hotel said their policy is not to give guests any money off their stay - not impressed with their customer service. Not worth the amount we paid or the way the hotel deals with customer feedback.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Feedback123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrownHotel200, Manager at The Crown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2012

Dear Feedback123

Many thanks for taking the time to write a review, i am sorry that you felt the room was expensive and didnt live up to expectations, Bedrooms are priced on demand so prices can fluctuate if it is at a premium time. Receptionists are not allowed to give refunds it has to be sanctioned via the General Manager, please feel free to email the hotel should you wish to discuss the matter further.

Thank you for your feedback

Kind Regards

Helene Ballinger
Revenue Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2012

We stayed here 28 July 2012 on arrival there were no car parking spaces and was told by receptionist to go and find one somewhere in the town which was all pay and display and a max of 2 hour stay .... After 2 hours of riding round trying to find somewhere we finally found one on the car park . First time we went to check in was told leave it another half an hour as no rooms were clean found it very unsatisfactory for the price we paid 158.00 for one night including breakfast which was a buffet and very sub standard wouldn't stay here again although Harrogate is a beautiful place .

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Moms_iphone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrownHotel200, Manager at The Crown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2012

Dear mums_iphone

Many thanks for taking the time to write a review concerning your recent stay at The Crown Hotel, unfortunately we are unable to enlarge the carpark and it is on a first come first serve basis, with regards to the rooms costs hotels are like airlines and the prices fluctuate and decrease with demand, and the weekends are especially busy.

Thank you for your feedback though

Kind Regards

Helene Ballinger
Revenue Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2012

Having stayed at various places in Harrogate usually B&B's my husband and I decided to try the Crown as it's so central. The receptionist was very pleasant and when I asked if they had any double rooms a little larger than normal as my hubby is 6' 7" she said just leave it with me. Well the room she gave us was huge it even had it's own little entrance hall plus the bathroom had a bath with shower and a separate walk in shower very luxurious!!! Breakfast in the morning had so many choices I had to drag my hubby out of the lovely breakfast room as he would have stayed to sample everything! As other people have said parking is not great and it can be noisy if you have your windows open but they can't do anything about those two things. All in all a great place and wonderful staff.

Room Tip: Room 236 is great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janice H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrownHotel200, Manager at The Crown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2012

Dear Janicej

many thanks for your trip advisor review, i am pleased taht you enjoyed your recent stay at the hotel room 236 is a lovely room i hope to welcome you back in the not too distant future

Kind Regards

Helene Ballinger
Revenue Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2012

Have stated at the Crown many times over the years and I love it. The staff are friendly and welcoming. The place restaurant is a great snack bar, the burgers are amazing. Very central and a 10 minute walk from the station.

The rooms are always clean, though this week was very hot with no air con or fan, I am sure had I asked they would have supplied one. Free wifi in the downstairs area.

Plan to come back in September

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AndrewJ007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrownHotel200, Manager at The Crown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2012

Dear Andrewj007

Many thanks for your recent review i am pleased that you enjoyed your stay at the Crown Hotel Harrogate, we most definately would have been able to provide you with a fan!! we look forward to welcoming you back in September.


Kind Regards

Helene Ballinger
Revenue Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2012

We chose the Crown for our daughter's wedding reception and evening party, and I couldn't fault the service we received. It was well organised from start to finish, parents of bride and groom automatically upgraded to superior rooms which were very nice.
The meal was excellent, actually better than I expected as some large dinners can have a very 'corporate' blandness to them. Some of our guests said it was the best lamb they had had. Even tho some guests found better deals on websites such as booking.com etc the hotel was happy to make good the difference for the Friday night.

Breakfast was excellent,a good buffet selection with locally sourced bacon and sausages. Tiny gripe was having to close the window at night due to revellers spilling out from a local nightclub in the early hours, but that's hardly the hotel's fault.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yorkiecorkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrownHotel200, Manager at The Crown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2012

Dear Yorkie Cookie

mant thanks for your lovely email i am delighted that you enjoyed the wedding and your stay at the Crown, its great to hear such posotive feedback.

Hope to welcome you back again in the near future.

Helene Ballinger
Revenue Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2012

stayed here in march 2012, very nice experience overall. hotel very clean and nicely decorated. attentive staff. would return. the breakfast was very good, wide selection and the breakfast area was in a lovely room. enjoyed two evening meals in the hotel in the more formal dining area, and cant complain at the quality and taste, very enjoyeable.
the only down side is the parking, not enough space at the front of the hotel, but was given a parking permit to enable parking on roadside parking near the hotel. which worked ok, was able to park outside the hotel on the sunday as it was more quiet.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank keeUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CrownHotel200, Manager at The Crown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2012

Hello

many thanks for your email regarding your recent stay at The Crown Hotel, i am pleased taht you had an enjoyable stay, unfortunately the car park is the size it is, but as you found out there are plenty of places nearby.

I look forward to welcoming you back to The Crown Hotel in the near future

Kind Regards
Helene Ballinger
Revenue Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Harrogate hotels
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Harrogate
Crowne Plaza Harrogate
#6 of 28 in Harrogate
292 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Majestic Hotel
The Majestic Hotel
#16 of 28 in Harrogate
3,029 reviews
0.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Cedar Court Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Kimberley Hotel
Kimberley Hotel
#8 of 28 in Harrogate
1,774 reviews
0.2 mi away
Old Swan Hotel
Old Swan Hotel
#17 of 28 in Harrogate
1,761 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cairn Hotel
Cairn Hotel
#11 of 28 in Harrogate
1,497 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Crown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Crown Hotel

Address: Crown Place, Harrogate HG1 2RZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Harrogate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Harrogate
#9 Romantic Hotel in Harrogate
Price Range: $59 - $166 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Crown Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 114
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Crown Hotel has become one of the premier venues in Harrogate for business and pleasure. The hotel has created a contemporary environment which complements its historic architecture and pays homage to its heritage as a great town centre property. Placed just a couple of minutes walk from the Harrogate International Centre, Turkish Baths, Betty's Tea Rooms and the picturesque town centre with its antique stores, Victorian arcades and boutique shops the Crown Hotel Harrogate is the perfect location for your business trip or weekend away. Whilst our central location means that parking on site is limited, there are a number of parking areas close by. Guests are invited to drop of luggage at reception before parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Crown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crown Hotel Harrogate
The Crown Hotel Harrogate, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing