We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“John and Mo's trip to Yorkshire” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Holiday Inn
Ranked #12 of 31 Hotels in Harrogate
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“John and Mo's trip to Yorkshire”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013

The hotel was generally very good. The service was good. Dinner was cramped with our group and it was difficult to get to the carvery. On the second night I objected to sit on the 8 seating table and should have been a 6 seater. It was sorted and it was OK. On the last 2 nights we sat in a separate room and it was much better. It appears many groups stayed in this hotel. As I said the hotel was nice and the service was good.

Room Tip: I was on the 10th and by the lift and heard no noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Edward M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnHarrogate, General Manager at Holiday Inn, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Dear Edward M,

Thank you for your four-star review and I am pleased the Team was at hand to assist you in making your stay more enjoyable. Your observations are appreciated will be discussed with the Team. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Best regards,

Nicolas Craninx
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,426 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    392
    593
    308
    98
    35
See reviews for
155
663
42
320
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (350)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newark, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013

My husband and I stayed here as part of a Treyn organised holiday, visiting steam railways in Yorkshire. The room was very clean, and the bathroom was too. The room was very hot and there is no air conditioning in the hotel - however, all rooms have a fan but we needed to have ours on all through the night each night.

Housekeeping was iffy, one day we had no bathmat, another day we had no bath towels.

However, it was the meals that were disappointing - they were unimaginative. Although mainly well-cooked (vegetables were sometimes undercooked and not hot enough) it was predictable each night. There was no salad bar, and no salads were on the menu, so by Friday we were craving salad.

Had we been staying as a couple and not as part of an organised holiday, the experience might have been better as the menu was different. However, the bar food was very expensive.

As a group we felt it was 'cram them in and feed them quick'! Groups were organised by the colour of their napkins which denoted the time of the sitting.

Room Tip: Our friends' room was very noisy and they were on the odd-numbered side of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank joanrigby25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnHarrogate, General Manager at Holiday Inn, responded to this review, August 28, 2013
Dear joanrigby25,

Thank you for your feedback and I am sorry to hear you were disappointed with certain elements of your stay. These are being discussed with the Team in our endeavour to continuously improve Guest experiences. I must however point out that tour dinners are catered according to the operators' requests. We do generally receive good feedback about our vegetables, but apologies if these were not to your liking.

Thank you once more for sharing your observations.

Best regards,

Nicolas Craninx
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2013

We booked this very last minute through Superbreaks (4* mystery deal) and paid £158 for two nights B&B. We didn't really expect anything much with it being such a last minute booking but we were pleasantly surprised. Room was modern, clean and spacious. Plenty of choice at breakfast time and the staff were very friendly. Great location (two minutes walk to the centre). The only down side was the fact that we had to queue for food on our first morning but I suppose this could happen anywhere on a busy bank holiday. Would definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor, some great views over Harrogate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrea M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnHarrogate, General Manager at Holiday Inn, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Dear Andrea M,

Thank you for your four-star review. The Team and I are delighted we provided you with a pleasant surprise and look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Best regards,

Nicolas Craninx
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2013

Just spent a two night stay at this hotel. It is ideally situated for a 5 minute stroll to the town centre but parking is £7 a day for hotel guests. No swimming pool available and didn't fancy a twenty five minute walk to nearest health club so we gave this a miss.Our room ( executive) was large and clean with big fluffy towels and a nice supply of toiletries. Unfortunately no air conditioning and consequently was very warm.We did try sleeping with the window open but even though we were on a higher floor the noise from traffic below was very audible. Breakfast offered plenty of choice and I felt the food was well cooked but possibly due to a busy bank holiday weekend there were queues for table places and waits for fresh bacon/eggs and plates. On a positive note plenty of variety in the food on offer which should meet every taste- even fussy eaters. We also ate in the restaurant and bar in the evening- no complaints- food delicious and service prompt and friendly. Check in and out was also promptly dealt with. Would I stay here again? Yes, overall a very good standard, centrally located hotel with pleasant and helpful staff.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jms52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnHarrogate, General Manager at Holiday Inn, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Dear jms52,

And we would love to welcome you back again. I am pleased to hear that your overall experience was pleasant and will be sure to pass on your observations to the Team. I suppose such usual beautifull weather in August in Harrogate is a blessing, but the downside is that it does highlight air conditioning where it is normally not required, so do apologise if this made your night a little less comfortable.

Thank you for sharing your experience.

Best regards,

Nicolas Craninx
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2013

A good choice in Harrogate,only 5 mins walk to town .Rooms exceptionally well equipped and clean ,Food in restaurant and lounge very good and service good given the number of people.Waiters in lounge very good and receptionist John was very helpful.Issue with plumbing was well resolved.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank je4444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnHarrogate, General Manager at Holiday Inn, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Dear je4444,

Thank you for your feedback. The Team, including John and I are delighted with your observations and look forward to welcome you back again soon.

Best regards,

Nicolas Craninx
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Askam in Furness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2013

If you stay at this hotel beware staying in a room at the back. We were booked into room 405, which had a lovely view and king size bed, only to have our stay blighted by the noisy industrial fans that operated from the early hours of the morning until midnight....not relaxing at all! Also no air con so because we could not have the window open the room was unbearably hot. It did not stop there, we were rudely awoken twice by the housekeeping staff before 8.00am who wanted access to clean our room! When reported to the receptionist we were met with a very fake "sorry sir" And no other explanation...Perhaps a free drink or car parking would have compensated the utter inconvenience, but alas nothing offered here.

Room Tip: Do not book at the back oh the hotel ask for a room facing king street, at the front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tracy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnHarrogate, General Manager at Holiday Inn, responded to this review, August 27, 2013
Dear Tracy G,

Thank you for your review and I wish to apologise for the disturbances you experienced during your visit. I do admit that the air vents described do disturb some of our Guests and the Maintenance Team and I are currently review options to alleviate this. I will be sharing your comments with both housekeeping and reception to remind them of our procedures, but would encourage you to use the "do not disturb" door cards in the future.

Thank you once more for your feedback.

Best regards,

Nicolas Craninx
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire, England
Level Contributor
99 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013

Stayed here on a "Mystery Hotel" deal with Avios on the Sunday of our 30th wedding anniversary weekend, having previously been touring the Dales. The location is superb, just over a 5 minute walk into town.

Check in was great, really nice polite, efficient and friendly staff. Room was spacious and mostly clean. We have stayed in several Holiday Inns before and have had more facilities, such as air conditioning and a fridge, but didn't get these here. Also no free wifi, and you have to pay £7 for parking.

It was a warm night and the air conditioning units for another part of the hotel on the roof below us woke us in the middle of the night several times, making an intermittent noise not dissimilar to a phone ringing.

A couple of things were wrong with our room such as the standard lamp not working and one of the lights intermittently going off in the bathroom, but we didn't report this as we did not realise until late at night and didn't want to bother the staff. Had we complained I have no doubt this would have been dealt with quickly and efficiently and we reported it in the morning via their comments form.

Pillows were labelled as either soft or firm but these were the most uncomfortable pillows I have experienced in a Holiday Inn.

Breakfast was OK but a major gripe here is that the tables were too close together. We were asked to sit at a table for two which was 6 inches from a table to our left and 6 inches from a table to our right. We looked around and found a table which was not so crowded. Nice to have warm plates, but my husband almost dropped his as it was so hot, even though he was holding it with a napkin.

This is primarily a business hotel, so as such it lacks character, but the staff and location make up for this and if returning to Harrogate I would probably stay here again.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms over the air conditioning units.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MrsP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnHarrogate, General Manager at Holiday Inn, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Dear MrsP,

Thank you for your review and for your Guest Comment Card which we have received. I am sorry to hear that your sleep was disturbed by a ringing noise, which we are investigating. I can confirm it is not from the air flow units on the roof. There seems to be no such noise currently, but we shall continue to investigate what it may have been. Bed- and bathroom lights are checked daily, but as it goes, these can fail at anytime and I hope these did not spoil your overall experience.

I would encourage you to report any discomfort to the Team and I during your next visit, as we understand all our Guests have different needs which we are only too happy to provide for.

Thank you once more and best regards,

Nicolas Craninx
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Harrogate hotels
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn Harrogate Town Centre Hotel
0.3 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#13 of 31 in Harrogate
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,197 reviews
0.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Cedar Court Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Ascot House Hotel Harrogate
0.2 mi away
The Majestic Hotel
The Majestic Hotel
#17 of 31 in Harrogate
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,562 reviews
2.5 mi away
Rudding Park Hotel
Rudding Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Follifoot
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4,395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn

Property: Holiday Inn
Address: Kings Road, Harrogate HG1 1XX, England (Formerly Harrogate Moat House)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Harrogate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Harrogate
#7 Luxury Hotel in Harrogate
#11 Romantic Hotel in Harrogate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 214
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Harrogate is a 4-star hotel, ideally located in the town centre adjoining the Harrogate International Conference Centre. This 214 bedroom hotel is only 8 miles from the A1(M).Many rooms have stunning views across both the famous Yorkshire Spa town and the surrounding countryside. Both contemporary and welcoming, the fantastic Classics bar and Restaurant 701 offers a wide variety of traditional and International dishes from around the world. All guests can benefit from our association with The Academy nearby, Harrogates premier health and fitness Club providing complimentary use of the indoor heated swimming pool, gym, sauna and steam room. The club is conveniently located less than a mile from the hotel. Our flexible range of conference and meeting rooms provide excellent facilities for up to 360 delegates with extensive break-out facilities, all air-conditioned for your comfort. Our meeting rooms feature the very latest conference equipment and high-speed Internet access.Holiday Inn Harrogate is the ideal base to explore the delights of the Yorkshire Countryside including Bolton Abbey, Ripon Cathedral, Harewood House, Richmond Castle, Fountains Abbey and the Lightwater Valley Theme Park. In accordance with English law this hotel is now non-smoking throughout. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity and IHG so you can book your Holiday Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Hotel Harrogate
Holiday Inn Harrogate, Yorkshire
Harrogate Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing