We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Visit to friends and Harrogate” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Holiday Inn
Ranked #12 of 31 Hotels in Harrogate
Abu Dhabi
Level Contributor
223 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Visit to friends and Harrogate”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2013

We were looking for an overnight accommodation that was not too expensive but comfortable as we had friends to visit the next day, This hotel was fairly easy to find with at Sat. Nav. but the entrance took a bit of working out. The reception gave a very warm and helpful welcome. After insisting that we joined the advantage card thing (free of charge) we got two free drinks in the bar, whatever you want. The room was excellent with plenty of milk (8 cartoons) for the self service room tea and coffee facilities. We didn't go into the restaurant or have breakfast as meeting friends for lunch at Bettys. The car park was 5GBP extra but we were given 24 hours and could leave later the following day. My only criticism was that the corridors were slightly drab?

Room Tip: Go straight into the car park and get a ticket, reception will sort it out for you later.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BrendaPhew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnHarrogate, General Manager at Holiday Inn, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Dear BrendaPhew,

Thank you for your feedback, the Team and I appreciate your observations. We are pleased the hotel suited your needs during your visit and concerning the corridors, although they will at some time in the future be brightened up, we do prioritise our efforts where it matters most to you: in our bedrooms, food and drink outlets and public areas.

Thank you once more and best regards,

Nicolas Craninx
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,425 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    391
    593
    308
    98
    35
See reviews for
154
663
42
320
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (350)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
85 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2013

Stayed here whilst on business in Harrogate. We had a room on the 8th floor, very clean, quiet, everything worked, not too hot and a comfy bed. Perfection. The breakfast is buffet style, my made to order poached eggs were just right. Check out was quick and the staff helpful and friendly. This was my second stay here and it was just as good as the first.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jo B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnHarrogate, General Manager at Holiday Inn, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Dear Jo B,

Poached egg for breakfast is the best! It makes me hungry just reading your review. Thank you for the delightful feedback and for chosing to return to Holiday Inn Harrogate. The Team and I are glad to hear about your sentiments and hope to welcome you back again soon.

Best regards,

Nicolas Craninx
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, England
Level Contributor
87 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 3 nights. Over a weekend. Was concerned the hotel would be a bit out of the way but it's perfectly located for exploring Harrogate. Everything can be reached with a short walk.

The exterior of the hotel and the reception is very nice and modern.The rooms and corridors are very dated however. The rooms have what you'd expect. Flat screen tva ect but the decor is old and doesn't suit with what you expect when you see the exterior.

Service was fine. The bar was fine just quiet. The barman. Leroy I think his name. Was excellent.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RigaFanUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnHarrogate, General Manager at Holiday Inn, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Dear Gareth W,

Thank you for your feedback and Leroy will be delighted to hear he made a positive impact on your visit. I am sorry to hear the room was not to your liking, but we are continuously looking to improve both our facilities and service which makes reviews like yours very helpful indeed.

Thank you once more and best regards,

Nicolas Craninx
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walsall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
141 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2013

Stayed here on route to a meeting in Stockton. Took about 10-15 mins from the M1, but easy to find. The car park is very tight, no really tight. If it was full a normal size car would have difficulty. The hotel is fine and looks like every other HI. The reception was good and quick. Room clean and tidy. I asked for suggestions to have a pint of real ale and some good food. I was given a map and the very friendly receptionist drew on quite a few suggestions, all within easy walking distance. Breakfast was good, but why can they not offer real decaff coffee?

Room Tip: Higher up the better
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nik2212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnHarrogate, General Manager at Holiday Inn, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Dear Nikandlesley,

Thank you for your recent review and I am please our Reception Team was able to assist you in enjoying Harrogate. I do agree that during peak time, some parking spaces may be tight but it is safe and dry. Thank you also for the compliment concerning breakfast. I do understand your sentiment about us not having real decaffinated coffee, however demand for it is too low for us to have it, hence we have chosen to provide the instant dried variety instead.

Thank you once more, we look forward to welcoming you back.

Best regards,

Nicolas Craninx
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2013

Very nice and clean Very nice and clean Very nice and clean Very nice and clean Very nice and clean Very nice and clean Very nice and clean Very nice and clean Very nice and clean Very nice and clean Very niceVery nice and clean Very nice and clean VeryVery niceVery nice and clean and clean nicVery nice and clean e and Very nice and clean clean andVery nice and clean clean Very nice and clean

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dxb289
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnHarrogate, General Manager at Holiday Inn, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Dear dxb289,

Wow! What else can I say but: "Thank you! Thank you! Thank you! Thank you! Thank you! Thank you! Thank you! Thank you! Thank you!Thank you!", and thanks.

Hope you enjoyed Harrogate too.

Best regards,

Nicolas Craninx
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
85 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

We stayed 3 nights in this hotel and found it to be clean, with good rooms and friendly and efficient staff. Our room had a separate room we could relax in, not having to sit on the bed or similar, and it had a good t.v. in there also. There was a good restaurant and bar. But the best ting was its position almost in the centre of Harrogate and having an underground car park made this a good choice if you are touring.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bettysmate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnHarrogate, General Manager at Holiday Inn, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
Dear Bettysmate,

The Team and I are really pleased you had a pleasant experience at Holiday Inn Harrogate and that both the service and facilities were to your liking. I agree that our location is ideal for a stroll around town, with the knowledge that your car is safe.

We look forward to welcome you back again very soon.

Best regards,

Nicolas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle-under-Lyme, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
204 reviews
132 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 266 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2013

Stayed here for just one night as part of a group.

Positives: 1) The staff - who were universally excellent. From the friendly, efficient check-in to the helpful bar staff and brilliant breakfast team. All were polite and friendly and genuinely made you feel welcome. 2) The breakfast was excellent - nice choice (although the pastries looked like someone had nipped to Asda and bought a handful) and fast, friendly service. 3) ermm - that's about it really :(

Negatives: As many other reviews here appear to say, the hotel is very tired and in desperate need of an overhaul. There's no air conditioning which meant a very hot night and interrupted sleep and the rooms are tiny and worn.

I wouldn't choose to stay here again and, unless you're doing something at the adjacent conference centre, then I'd suggest you look around for something better.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank simonp820
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnHarrogate, General Manager at Holiday Inn, responded to this review, June 25, 2013
Dear SimonP820,

Thank you for completing a review following your recent stay at the hotel. I was disappointed to read your sentiments about the condition of the hotel, and as indicated in past reviews we do have a rolling plan in place to freshen those areas in which they are required. Although it is unfair to state that whole hotel in is need of refurbishment, as past reviews clearly indicate that this is not the case.

The Team are delighted to hear you found their service both friendly and genuine.

Best regards.

Nicolas Craninx
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Harrogate hotels
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn Harrogate Town Centre Hotel
0.3 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#13 of 31 in Harrogate
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,197 reviews
0.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Cedar Court Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Ascot House Hotel Harrogate
0.2 mi away
The Majestic Hotel
The Majestic Hotel
#17 of 31 in Harrogate
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,561 reviews
2.5 mi away
Rudding Park Hotel
Rudding Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Follifoot
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4,394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn

Property: Holiday Inn
Address: Kings Road, Harrogate HG1 1XX, England (Formerly Harrogate Moat House)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Harrogate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Harrogate
#7 Luxury Hotel in Harrogate
#11 Romantic Hotel in Harrogate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 214
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Harrogate is a 4-star hotel, ideally located in the town centre adjoining the Harrogate International Conference Centre. This 214 bedroom hotel is only 8 miles from the A1(M).Many rooms have stunning views across both the famous Yorkshire Spa town and the surrounding countryside. Both contemporary and welcoming, the fantastic Classics bar and Restaurant 701 offers a wide variety of traditional and International dishes from around the world. All guests can benefit from our association with The Academy nearby, Harrogates premier health and fitness Club providing complimentary use of the indoor heated swimming pool, gym, sauna and steam room. The club is conveniently located less than a mile from the hotel. Our flexible range of conference and meeting rooms provide excellent facilities for up to 360 delegates with extensive break-out facilities, all air-conditioned for your comfort. Our meeting rooms feature the very latest conference equipment and high-speed Internet access.Holiday Inn Harrogate is the ideal base to explore the delights of the Yorkshire Countryside including Bolton Abbey, Ripon Cathedral, Harewood House, Richmond Castle, Fountains Abbey and the Lightwater Valley Theme Park. In accordance with English law this hotel is now non-smoking throughout. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Travelocity, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Holiday Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Hotel Harrogate
Holiday Inn Harrogate, Yorkshire
Harrogate Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing