We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not Impressed” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Holiday Inn
Ranked #12 of 31 Hotels in Harrogate
Scotland
Level Contributor
98 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Not Impressed”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2013 via mobile

My husband is a priority club member and had booked a special two for 1 deal. Because it was our anniversary we decided to treat ourselves to a suite....all I can say is I am glad we did not pay full price....I was disappointed at half price. The suite was really just two rooms with the adjoining door open and was so packed full of furniture you could hardly move. It was dated and did not feel in anyway special. One plus of the room was the huge and comfy bed. Little things like there being no decaf coffee in the room and no glasses for drinking out of let it down.

The bar area was nice enough with tvs and all the staff we dealt with were nice. The hotel is in a really good location for exploring harrogate. However it is pretty dated and tired. I've stayed in much better holiday inns.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ScotlandLJane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnHarrogate, General Manager at Holiday Inn, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Dear ScotlandLJane,

Thank you for your observations concerning your recent stay. Please accept our sincere apologies for the dissapointment you have felt with your Suite and subsequently with your anniversary. The Team understands that such occassions are special and rest assured that your feedback is used in a constructive manner to enhance memorable Guest experiences.

Thank you once more and best regards,

Holiday Inn Harrogate Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,432 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    395
    595
    309
    98
    35
See reviews for
155
669
42
320
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (350)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2013

Good customer service with the staff been very helpful in everyway possible. Rooms were to a very high standards. Food was very good and presentation was great.Breakfast was excellent with plenty of choice. the hotel is walking distance of the railway station. would definitely choose this hotel if we visit Harrogate in the future.

Room Tip: Rooms on the north have great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jamesgaines
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnHarrogate, General Manager at Holiday Inn, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Dear jamesgaines,

Thank you for the positve feedback regarding your recent stay. The Holiday Inn Harrogate Team is delighted to have provided you with the service and services your deserve. We look forward to welcoming you back again very soon.

Best regards,

Holiday Inn Harrogate Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2013

We visited the hotel last week during the bad weather, and the hotel was a wonderful oasis in a desert of white!
The staff are excellent, as I would expect in a hotel of this size and standard, invariably polite and helpful, and always with a smile. I cannot fault the cleanliness of the executive room, or with the hotel in general. Admittedly, I wasn't running my finger along the top of the window or looking for hairs in the sink, but it all looked in pretty good order. A hotel as big as this will always have on-going maintenance issues, but there was nothing that would spoil anyone's visit for heaven's sake.
I would take issue with the dining restaurant though, when there are only 6 to 8 tables to serve,
it shouldn't take an hour to get to the main course stage on the first night, and be told that it would take 25 mins. for the steak & ale pie to be served the following night. I was also confused by my pre-paid dinner allowance as against the "offer" of £29.99 for two, including a glass of wine each. The staff seemed unsure of what I could get from the menu, or what I had pre-paid, and there was no wine waiter or anyone remotely clued up on wine. Plenty of staff though, so it wasn't a staffing problem. Unfortunately, the food was no better than decent pub food, and
I'm not sure the hotel actually want dinner guests, as they could service them just as well in the ground floor bar area !
The young staff didn't deserve a grouchy diner, however, and it didn't spoil our visit in the slightest.......the snow did........and the struggle up the snowy hill out of the car park was a triumph for man and machine against the elements.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HolidayInnHarrogate, General Manager at Holiday Inn, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Dear Jim C,

Thank you for your both positive and constructive feedback regarding your recent experience at the hotel. Your observations have been discussed with the Team. Please accept our sincere apologies for the poor weather and your dinner experience. We do indeed wish to encourage our Guests to dine with us which highlights the importance of feedback such as yours. This helps us to improve our Guests' experience over time and we sincerely hope we will have the opportunity to demonstrate this to you first hand on your next visit.

Thank you once more and best regards,

Holiday Inn Harrogate Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2013

Recently stayed at this hotel and was pleasantly surprised.The staff were wonderful,going out of their way to make our stay enjoyable even providing ice bucket and champagne glasses even though we brought our own champagne .Rooms were ok but the beds were very comfortable.As it was my sons graduation we spent quite a bit of time at the bar which I must say was very expensive. Reception staff were lovely girls and very friendly. All in all I would strongly recomend this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank julie945
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGHIHarrogate, Manager at Holiday Inn, responded to this review, March 23, 2013
Dear Julie945

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments following a recent stay at the Holiday Inn Harrogate, I would like to assure you that we value all feedback and use it to evaluate our customer’s experiences for the future.

I was delighted to see that you enjoyed your stay here, please pass on my congratulations to your son on his graduation, I have passed on your kind comments to the team and noted the comments reference the bar prices.

I do hope we see you again in the near future and if there is anything further I can help with then I would be delighted to assist you, please contact myself over the phone or via email, I can be contacted on 01423 849988 or on ops.hiharrogate@qmh-hotels.com.



Yours Sincerely

Peter Byard

Hotel Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2013

We stayed for two nights here with 6 friends. The hotel was great, location excellent and walking distance from the train station. The breakfast was delicious with plenty of choice and the rooms were clean and comfortable. We found the staff to be friendly and accommodating. Would definitely choose this hotel if we visit Harrogate again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Deana K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGHIHarrogate, Manager at Holiday Inn, responded to this review, March 23, 2013
Dear Deana K,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments following a recent stay at the Holiday Inn Harrogate, I would like to assure you that we value all feedback and use it to evaluate our customer’s experiences for the future.

I was delighted to see that you and your group enjoyed your stay with us and your time in Harrogate, I will of course pass your kind comments on to the team here at the hotel.

I do hope we see you again in the near future and if there is anything further I can help with then I would be delighted to assist you, please contact myself over the phone or via email, I can be contacted on 01423 849988 or on ops.hiharrogate@qmh-hotels.com.



Yours Sincerely

Peter Byard

Hotel Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester, uk
Level Contributor
32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013

Recently stayed at Holiday Inn, Harrogate (our 2nd visit).
A bit disappointed this time, room basic and corridors a little tired, could do with a lick of paint.
However the location made up for that as it is a short walk from the centre of town (5-10 mins).
Hotel staff pleasant and parking £5 per night.
Didn't eat in hotel, breakfast £10 pppn which I thought was a bit steep. We ate a hearty breakfast in town for less than £5 each with drinks.
Overall, ideal place to stay in a lovely town and we would stay here again but maybe upgrade the room from a standard double. However we did get a 2 for 1 deal so didn't mind but if we'd paid full price would have been disappointed with the room we had.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sah897
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGHIHarrogate, Manager at Holiday Inn, responded to this review, March 23, 2013
Dear Sah897,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments following a recent stay at the Holiday Inn Harrogate, I would like to assure you that we value all feedback and use it to evaluate our customer’s experiences for the future.

I was of course concerned to read that you felt the room was basic, all rooms adhere to the Holiday Inn Brand standards, however if there is anything you would like to see added in please feel free to contact me directly. In terms of the corridors we are currently under taking a rolling redecoration of bed room corridors so this is in hand. I do hope that this didn’t mar your stay too much and that you enjoyed everything Harrogate has to offer, please accept my apologies for the room and corridor not being to your requirements.

I do hope we see you again in the near future and if there is anything further I can help with then I would be delighted to assist you, please contact myself over the phone or via email, I can be contacted on 01423 849988 or on ops.hiharrogate@qmh-hotels.com.



Yours Sincerely

Peter Byard

Hotel Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

This is one of my favourite Holiday Inn's in the UK. Easily found, good location, exceptionally clean and friendly staff. I have stayed here mostly on business, however i brought my partner for a weekend stay, we were not disappointed. Receptionist was pleasant and recognised that i had stayed before, which was a nice touch.
We had dinner out in the town, however we did have some drinks in the bar before we left which was nice and peaceful for a Saturday night. Town centre is just a short walk, handy for Betties Tea room.
Breakfast was busy on the Sunday morning with large groups, but this did not disturb us, the staff seemed calm and collected. Breakfast was hot and tasty.
The only moan i would have, is the wifi should be free!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank James P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGHIHarrogate, Manager at Holiday Inn, responded to this review, March 23, 2013
Dear James P,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments following a recent stay at the Holiday Inn Harrogate, I would like to assure you that we value all feedback and use it to evaluate our customer’s experiences for the future.

I was delighted to read that you rate us so highly amongst not only our competitors but other Holiday Inns in the UK, fantastic also that you enjoyed your stay with us and Harrogate as a destination, I have passed on your kind comments regarding the team for them to review. In addition I have also noted your comments about the Wifi for the future.

I do hope we see you again in the near future and if there is anything further I can help with then I would be delighted to assist you, please contact myself over the phone or via email, I can be contacted on 01423 849988 or on ops.hiharrogate@qmh-hotels.com.



Yours Sincerely

Peter Byard

Hotel Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Harrogate hotels
0.1 mi away
Premier Inn Harrogate Town Centre Hotel
0.3 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#13 of 31 in Harrogate
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,199 reviews
0.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Cedar Court Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Ascot House Hotel Harrogate
0.2 mi away
The Majestic Hotel
The Majestic Hotel
#17 of 31 in Harrogate
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,565 reviews
2.5 mi away
Rudding Park Hotel
Rudding Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Follifoot
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4,400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn

Property: Holiday Inn
Address: Kings Road, Harrogate HG1 1XX, England (Formerly Harrogate Moat House)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Harrogate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Harrogate
#7 Luxury Hotel in Harrogate
#11 Romantic Hotel in Harrogate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 214
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Harrogate is a 4-star hotel, ideally located in the town centre adjoining the Harrogate International Conference Centre. This 214 bedroom hotel is only 8 miles from the A1(M).Many rooms have stunning views across both the famous Yorkshire Spa town and the surrounding countryside. Both contemporary and welcoming, the fantastic Classics bar and Restaurant 701 offers a wide variety of traditional and International dishes from around the world. All guests can benefit from our association with The Academy nearby, Harrogates premier health and fitness Club providing complimentary use of the indoor heated swimming pool, gym, sauna and steam room. The club is conveniently located less than a mile from the hotel. Our flexible range of conference and meeting rooms provide excellent facilities for up to 360 delegates with extensive break-out facilities, all air-conditioned for your comfort. Our meeting rooms feature the very latest conference equipment and high-speed Internet access.Holiday Inn Harrogate is the ideal base to explore the delights of the Yorkshire Countryside including Bolton Abbey, Ripon Cathedral, Harewood House, Richmond Castle, Fountains Abbey and the Lightwater Valley Theme Park. In accordance with English law this hotel is now non-smoking throughout. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, IHG, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Holiday Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Hotel Harrogate
Holiday Inn Harrogate, Yorkshire
Harrogate Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing