We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Birthday treat”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Studley Hotel and Orchid Restaurant
Ranked #4 of 28 Hotels in Harrogate
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 3, 2014

After a fantastic meal in the orchid restaurant about 6weeks ago we decided to book the Sunday night offer for my husbands birthday I can say from the moment we arrived we were very pleased, very friendly staff to welcome us from beginning to end our room was very comfortable and quiet and cleaned to a high standard our meal on the evening was fantastic once again very at tentative staff who very very friendly and we returned back to our room for a very comfy night sleep breakfast the next morning was served until a generous 9.30 we came down to the restaurant to be greeted by a lovely lady who was our waitress there was still plenty of cereal fresh croissant s and fruit on offer and our order taken for a lovely cooked breakfast that was delicious I will most defiantly be returning to the studley hotel and recommending to friends and family

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Clareeebell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (754)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

430 - 436 of 754 reviews

Reviewed February 21, 2014

Ok but not worth the price difference to other rooms we've stayed in at the hotel. Lots of chipped paint and naff furniture. Toilet light comes on automatically day AND NIGHT ! No control of main room light from bed. Staff great, though someone from housekeeping left keys in our room door most of day - not too secure. Stay here because of staff and location but don't bother with extra money for Trimbach suite

Room Tip: Don't bother with Trimbach suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank paddy5658
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bmc1, General Manager at Studley Hotel and Orchid Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded March 1, 2014

Dear Paddy 5658,

Thank you for taking your time to comment on your experience on Tripadvisor following your recent visit to the Studley Hotel, our team consider guest satisfaction our primary mission and feedback from our guests is very important to us.
We are sorry to read you disliked the Trimbach Suite which has an additional room and it's features. However, we had talked to you during your stay and at check out yet you failed to mention your dissatisfaction.
I can assure you that we strive to ensure that all guests are given our full attention and that the quality and standard of our food and operation is always at the fore of our minds. We note the points raised as we strive to improve what we do.
Thank you once again for your valued feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2014

we stayed in the Trembold suite and dined in the Orchid. The reception and bar area of this hotel are great, modern, comfortable and pleasent to sit and drink, however the room was dated in my opinion and being the best room in the hotel i was dissapointed, woodchip ceiling, cheap curtains and cheap, black ash furniture really let the hotel down and not worth the £165 per night price tag. the TV on the wall was small and had awful reception. The food and the service in the restaurant was second to none, great quailty, taste and fantastic service, it really is anoying to have been let down by the room.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2014

As the title says, overall our night at the studley was amazing.
The location of the studley is great, just a short, gentle walk into town.
We stay away frequently and often find reception staff standoffish. I found the reception staff at the Studley really friendly, parricularly Clemence who was really helpful and able to answer our questions.
I'd booked an orchid superior room which did not disappoint. Very clean and well equipped.
My only issue was that there is no soundproofing, we heard the people next door vomiting the next morning after what can be assumed was a heavy night for them!
The bed was comfy, albeit on the firm side and our room was on the car park side so no noise.
If staying here, the O bar is awesome with a huge selection of cocktails and the orchid restaurant lives up to previous reviews, amazing.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lauren M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2014

We arrived on Valentines Day to a very friendly and helpful receptionist Edward, on entering our room it was freezing cold and the radiator completely turned off, room on the small side and quite dated but the bathroom was modern and all was clean.

We had booked the valentines special which included a 4 course thai meal in the orchid restaurant, our table was booked for 9.15pm but we had been phoned a few days before to say as they were very busy (probably overbooked in my opinion) that we had to sit in the private room near the bar area, we asked several times to be put in the restaurant but it was a no, we arrived at 9pm for our free cocktail and was still sat waiting to be seated at 9.35pm, a member of staff took our order at the bar so we finally sat down to eat our starters gone 9.45pm, the food was nice very spicy for my liking but there was lots of flavour and choice and certainly lots of it! The private area was'nt bery romantic as only 4 couples in there and we could hear every word they were all talking about

The rooms i feel do need sound proofing i understand it was a romantic day of the year but we could hear everything form every angle!! finally at 2am when we got to sleep we were woke up at 5.30am by beds creaking, toliets flushing, water running and just general banging and clattering of some sorts....so in a nutshell not a good nights sleep, friendly staff, a good breakfast, lots of thai food, but would i recommend?? Hmmmm probably not :-(

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LadyJo79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2014

Staff friendly and rooms very relaxing. Ideal location for shops and food. Car parking around the back. Ideal stay. We did not have night meal but very busy . Really god selection at. Breakfast. Our too. Also had huge bath.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank glasfrynPorthmadog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2014

We visited this Harrogate hotel in February this year. It is situated on Swan Road a few yards from the iconic Swan Hotel where Agatha Christie 'disappeared' to. The building itself is lovely on both the outside and in. The owners have not spared expense on decor with rooms well appointed with large comfy beds and great bathrooms. Parking is provided at the rear of the hotel on a first come first served basis. We were in room 12. This room is directly over the Mirabelle restaurant. We had an issue with noise from this restaurant until 1240am on a Tuesday night that was unacceptable. This was not the fault of the hotel however as this restaurant is in no way associated with the Studley. When the owners of the restaurant learned of our experience they were extremely devastated and quite frankly horrified. We ate breakfast at the hotel and it didn't disappoint.

Harrogate centre is a mere few minutes walk away.

Our experience with room 12 should not put prospective visitors off as in my view the Studley is an excellent hotel and represents great value for money.

Room Tip: If you are allocated room 12be aware if the restaurant below and a possible noise issue.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RADCTurton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Harrogate hotels
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Harrogate
Crowne Plaza Harrogate
#6 of 28 in Harrogate
291 reviews
0.5 mi away
The West Park Hotel
The West Park Hotel
#2 of 28 in Harrogate
643 reviews
2.6 mi away
Rudding Park Hotel
Rudding Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Follifoot
4,741 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Ascot House Hotel Harrogate
0.4 mi away
Kimberley Hotel
Kimberley Hotel
#7 of 28 in Harrogate
1,773 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#14 of 28 in Harrogate
1,357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Studley Hotel and Orchid Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Studley Hotel and Orchid Restaurant

Address: 28 Swan Road, Harrogate HG1 2SE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Harrogate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Harrogate
#3 Romantic Hotel in Harrogate
#5 Family Hotel in Harrogate
#7 Business Hotel in Harrogate
Price Range: $85 - $158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Studley Hotel and Orchid Restaurant 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Next to the Valley Gardens in central Harrogate, the Studley Hotel has a refurbished lounge, cocktail bar and terrace. The friendly, 4-star hotel has an award-winning restaurant and free Wi-Fi. The rooms all have contemporary decor and modern bathrooms and shower rooms. Rooms also feature a flat-screen TV, tea/coffee facilities and a hairdryer. Some rooms have PlayStations, MAC mini-computers and iPod docks. Guests can relax in the O Bar, which offers light snacks and classic cocktails. With 2 AA Rosettes, the Orchid Restaurant offers authentic East Asian cuisine and specialties from the Pacific Rim. Studley Hotel offers free parking permits and some on-site parking, and guests receive free passes for a local leisure centre (restrictions apply). International Conference & Exhibition Centre, Betty’s Tea Rooms and the Montpellier Quarter are just a few minutes’ walk away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Studley Hotel and Orchid Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Studley Hotel And Orchid Restaurant Harrogate, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing