We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Studley Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Studley Hotel and Orchid Restaurant
Ranked #4 of 28 Hotels in Harrogate
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 8, 2013

We paid a little extra for a bigger room but room 38 wasn't exceptional, the bedroom and bathroom had a full window which was lovely with an open outlook but a little on the cold side. The radiator in the room didn't appear to work, so we used the additional heater that was in the room, then at 2.30 am, I woke up and found the radiator knocking out the heat full pelt! I found my bed too soft and was disappointed in the overall fabric and furnishing of the actual bedroom. The public area by reception was also a little on the cold side. We weren't disturbed by any other noise within the hotel.
The hotel is ideally situated for visiting Harrogate and dinner in the restaurant is to be recommended, breakfast is tasty and they will serve a combination of requests, ie well toasted bread, extra pork sausages.
To be honest I think I would book to eat in the Orchid restaurant again but try another hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JeL592013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (754)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

447 - 453 of 754 reviews

Reviewed December 2, 2013

The hotel is good, but the star of the show is the Orchid restaurant and bar with a real buzz and fantastic food and service. We stayed in room 10 which was spacious but had a very noisy extractor fan right outside the window. The room was too warm but we couldn't open the window due to the noise so that was quite annoying. Being an old building, the sound-proofing is not good and the room above us were up late (2am) and up early (7am) so not the best nights sleep as we could hear their every move. The rest of our party were happy with their rooms. Breakfast was was good. We did have trouble getting parked as Harrogate was exceptionally busy, but once we found a space on the street the hotel gave us a parking disk.

Room Tip: Ask for a top floor room to avoid noise issues from rooms above.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maggle_412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2013

We usually stay down the road but they were full so we took a risk on available rooms at the Studley! And were we impressed! Excellent room, very clean and well stocked - iron, hairdryer etc. I locked myself in the toilet (duh!) - husband released me - and when we told them they fixed it all immediately. Couldn't have done more for us! Breakfast was excellent and efficiently served. We were 2 mins walk away from the Conference Centre - fabulous. And 5 mins walk from the centre of town. Would recommend.

My husband particularly liked the very hi-tech mirror in the bathroom - personally magnifying pieces of mirror don't do it for me! Automatically opening doors to leave the hotel certainly have a "wow" factor! We will go back!

Room Tip: I asked for a room away from the restaurant. Didn't hear a peep from anyone all night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lancashire_travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2013

I attended a business conference and I and several of my colleagues stayed at this hotel. It was an excellent choice. The staff are friendly and the room I had in the Annexe was large and very comfortable. We dined in the Orchid restaurant one night and it lived up to it's excellent reputation.
The only slight moan was that the car park at the rear of the hotel is pretty small and spaces are very tight. But I suppose being in the city centre, that is to be expected.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank soluta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2013

Lovely hotel with a prime position in the centre of harrogate. Rooms are spacious with everything you need. The only down point is the beds are slightly hard. The staff are lovely and the bar and seating area is very cosy. Breakfast was good with a big cooked breakfast lots of toast and a big teapot of tea and a pot of hot water provided without asking.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jane_168
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for one night at the studley. We got there earlier than check in time so had a drink and a starter from the menu. The staff are amazingly helpful nothing is to much trouble Serena was great to talk to.the hotel itself was abit of a surprise but in a good way.really nice inside extremely clean. The bar area is a great place to sit and have a drink.the food we had in the hotel was also great and not overpriced. Definitely try the cocktails they wer really good.all in all a great stay and can't wait to return.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shugknight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2013 via mobile

I am rather surprised by how good the revues are to be honest. Room 40 was really not suitable for anyone over 5 ft. tall. You bang your head in most of the sloping bathroom. Adding to that the bathroom door handle came off in my hand. Room 10 had a very noisy air conditioning unit directly outside the window and was also on the same floor as the bar.....about 30ft. away and subject to a lot of people passing. Stifling heat in room 40 too. Staff were very pleasant and to be fair, they fixed the door straight away. Breakfast ok and service fine.

Stayed: November 2013
Thank callmedave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Harrogate hotels
0.3 mi away
Crowne Plaza Harrogate
Crowne Plaza Harrogate
#6 of 28 in Harrogate
292 reviews
0.5 mi away
The West Park Hotel
The West Park Hotel
#2 of 28 in Harrogate
644 reviews
2.6 mi away
Rudding Park Hotel
Rudding Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Follifoot
4,741 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Ascot House Hotel Harrogate
0.4 mi away
Kimberley Hotel
Kimberley Hotel
#8 of 28 in Harrogate
1,774 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#14 of 28 in Harrogate
1,357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Studley Hotel and Orchid Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Studley Hotel and Orchid Restaurant

Address: 28 Swan Road, Harrogate HG1 2SE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Harrogate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Luxury Hotel in Harrogate
#3 Romantic Hotel in Harrogate
#7 Business Hotel in Harrogate
Price Range: $85 - $167 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Studley Hotel and Orchid Restaurant 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Next to the Valley Gardens in central Harrogate, the Studley Hotel has a refurbished lounge, cocktail bar and terrace. The friendly, 4-star hotel has an award-winning restaurant and free Wi-Fi. The rooms all have contemporary decor and modern bathrooms and shower rooms. Rooms also feature a flat-screen TV, tea/coffee facilities and a hairdryer. Some rooms have PlayStations, MAC mini-computers and iPod docks. Guests can relax in the O Bar, which offers light snacks and classic cocktails. With 2 AA Rosettes, the Orchid Restaurant offers authentic East Asian cuisine and specialties from the Pacific Rim. Studley Hotel offers free parking permits and some on-site parking, and guests receive free passes for a local leisure centre (restrictions apply). International Conference & Exhibition Centre, Betty’s Tea Rooms and the Montpellier Quarter are just a few minutes’ walk away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Studley Hotel and Orchid Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Studley Hotel And Orchid Restaurant Harrogate, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing