We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly family run hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ascot House Hotel Harrogate

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Ascot House Hotel Harrogate
Ranked #3 of 31 Hotels in Harrogate
Certificate of Excellence
Nottinghamshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Friendly family run hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here on Saturday night and was looking forward to it as had read some great reviews and it did not disappoint. We were in the attic room and it was bigger than we expected, well furnished with modern bathroom fittings. Very friendly staff and a fab Yorkshire breakfast. Car park very tight so may want to try on street parking instead. Ideal for 10 minute walk to the shops. Will definitely recommend.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank PA140
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

853 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    661
    158
    26
    6
    2
See reviews for
95
532
25
80
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (186)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
90 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2014

stayed here with a friend for a saturday night whilst at a conference. had spoken to the owner on the phone to confirm my booking & he was very friendly so looking forward to getting there. hotel easy to find just on the main road into Harrogate and great for walking down to the conference centre and restaurants in the town.
lovely exterior, gorgeous plants in the pots by the door & Victorian furniture in the garden. a polish (I think) lady checked us in & took us up to the room, very polite and smiley, she was the same at breakfast, a credit to the hotel!. the room was described as a cosy double but it wasn't as small as I expected, think it referred to the bed which was a standard double! nicely decorated & loved the shutters at the windows. contemporary bathroom fittings looked fairly new.
slept ok but the room was quite warm perhaps because of the heat of the day, maybe close the curtains or shutters before guests arrive to keep the room cool. not much noise from the corridors or other guests.
breakfast was good....nice choice of fruit, cereals, yoghurt to choose from & lots of variety of cooked breakfast, e.g. kippers, black pudding, porridge, poached eggs on toast. we both had the full English and this was lovely. good, efficient service from the same lady who checked us in. offered more toast but didn't need it as we were stuffed.
only a couple of minuses which were: the carpet was marked in several places so I wonder if this was due to either be renewed or cleaned, & also the boutique feel of the room was marred by the mismatched furniture. the painted beside cupboards were quite nice but the dark mahogany chest of drawers was a bit cheap looking!
would definitely recommend this hotel for the quiet elegance, convenient location but most of all the friendliness of the staff, especially as previously mentioned the Polish lady. thank you for a lovely welcome and stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank beebee40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lincoln
Level Contributor
153 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2014

Lovely hotel with very efficient team of staff. Bedroom was well furnished with huge comfy bed & quality soft furnishings. En suite just as impressive & not just a cupboard inside the room like in so many places. Everywhere was immaculately clean & tidy. Breakfast was great, plenty of choice & well cooked & presented. The waitresses were on the ball and catered for our every whim. Will definitely visit again

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sunnydaysLincoln
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2014

My friend and i went for an overnight stay at Ascot House for a shopping trip,it is a beautiful house .It is a ten minute walk into town,so perfect for us. Everyone was very friendly.We arrived at 11am and check in wasn't until 2pm , but they kindly let us park in the car park.Our room was lovely and quiet and at the side of the hotel,it was quite spacious and had everything we needed.The breakfast was really nice and a good choice.Would definitely stay there again if in Harrogate.

Room Tip: We had room 4 on the ground floor level which is either a large double or 2 singles. It is very comf...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ennis, Ireland
Level Contributor
31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2014

We arrived early and greeted by a lovely member of staff. She had to room ready for us in 5 minutes. The décor is beautiful and compliments the old building perfectly. As requested we got a quiet room in the back. It was advertised as a snug room but was not so small with a good sized walk in wardrobe for the cases and clothes mess! The room and hotel were spotless. The shower was good size and quality. Breakfast was excellent. There was a good selection of fruit and cereals. Full Yorkshire was very tasty with plenty of coffee and toast to keep us going for the day ahead. Would highly recommend and we will return!

Room Tip: They give you what you ask for.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank M W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worksop Notts
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2014 via mobile

Stayed for just one night pre flying from Leeds/ Bradford airport and wish we could have stayed longer. A beautiful hotel great staff and a delicious breakfast.
We will come back and stay longer next time.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank SteveM1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
verwood
Level Contributor
25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2014

Yes we are back again after visiting last September and the hotel is just as good. This family run hotel and working staff are so friendly it is like being home from home.
This year the hotel dining room has been refurbished with the evening meal a must However if you do not want a full meal there is a good menu to choose from in the bar area

Breakfast is just as good and sets you up for the day

The hotel is five minutes walk to the conference centre and town so no need to take your car.

Then visit the Yorkshire Dales, a must is Skipton and York(go into York with the park and ride).

Finally just hope the weather is good and it will be a holiday to remember

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ahallverwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Harrogate hotels
2.6 mi away
Rudding Park Hotel
Rudding Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Follifoot
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4,400 reviews
0.8 mi away
The West Park Hotel
The West Park Hotel
#2 of 31 in Harrogate
4.5 of 5 bubbles 552 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#13 of 31 in Harrogate
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Studley Hotel and Orchid Restaurant
0.3 mi away
The Majestic Hotel
The Majestic Hotel
#17 of 31 in Harrogate
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,565 reviews
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Harrogate Town Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ascot House Hotel Harrogate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ascot House Hotel Harrogate

Property: Ascot House Hotel Harrogate
Address: 53 Kings Road, Harrogate HG1 5HJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Harrogate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Harrogate
#2 Family Hotel in Harrogate
#2 Romantic Hotel in Harrogate
#5 Business Hotel in Harrogate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ascot House Hotel Harrogate 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Ascot House Hotel Harrogate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ascot Hotel Harrogate
Ascot House Hotel Harrogate Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing