We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just Great at The Ascot House”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ascot House Hotel Harrogate
Ranked #3 of 30 Hotels in Harrogate
Certificate of Excellence
Barton-upon-Humber, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Just Great at The Ascot House”
Reviewed March 27, 2014

We had a prompt and friendly greeting which gave me a good feeling which only got better during our stay.
The room was lovely, clean, warm, quiet and with sufficient space. The ensuite was immaculate and a real pleasure to use. We had a tv, wifi and a DAB radio with alarm facility. Our bed was really comfortable and gave us a good nights sleep.

We decided to stay in for our evening meal and it was excellent. The food looked good and tasted better and the staff were concerned about ensuring that there was no problem with dietary requirements. The dining room was airy and comfortable which added to the pleasure of our evening meal which we enjoyed with a good bottle of wine. The dining room staff were friendly, attentive and efficient both for the evening meal and for breakfast. The breakfast was like the evening meal beautifully cooked - the mushrooms were really succulent.

We will definitely stay at the Ascot House again as not only is it a great hotel but the location suits us for our business trips as it is a short walk into town and has good access to the main roads nearby.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bill B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

882 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    680
    167
    27
    6
    2
See reviews for
101
549
25
83
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (188)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2014

We stay in Harrogate quite regularly, visiting family who live there but have never stayed in this hotel before but it will be our first choice from now on. We arrived a little early hoping to just leave our car but the guy on reception made us feel very welcome and checked to see if our room was ready - it was - and it was no problem at all to book in straight away. The room was lovely - well furnished with a large comfortable bed and modern en-suite shower room. Tea, coffee and biscuits were there for our use. The cleanliness throughout the hotel was exceptional. The breakfast was excellent with everything you could wish for in fruit and cereals and a great choice for cooked breakfast. Every member of staff gave service with a smile and nothing seemed too much trouble. We will definitely book this hotel again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ChrissyMay2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2014

I booked this hotel for a two-night stay weekend away with friends having read the positive reviews on Tripadvisor. We were not disappointed! The hotel was excellent, rooms clean and fresh and nicely decorated and the service within the hotel was exactly as it should be. We had a meal in the restaurant the first night and that too was excellent. If we come to Harrogate (which incidentally was a great place to spend a weekend) again this will be the place to stay

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed March 20, 2014

My husband and I stayed at this hotel for the first time in March 2014, whilst attending a conference. The room was excellent and of the highest quality and the downstairs rooms were very attractive and in keeping with the era of the hotel. The stained glass windows on the stairway were particularly lovely. What made this hotel exceptional, however, was the delicious food and the service offered by each and every member of staff. Nothing was too much trouble for them and everything was done with good grace and humour. We will definitely return.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nevjan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Helens, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2014

I have recently used this fantastic hotel for two staff members from Willowbrook Hospice in Prescot, Merseyside to attend a conference and they have both reported that the hotel, staff and breakfast are excellent, in fact one staff member will be going back with her family.
many thanks to the team @ Ascot House.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Willowbrook2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
109 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2014

We had a two night stay at the Ascot House for a weekend away.

This privately owned hotel is superb. It looks as though it's been recently refurbished and a lot of care has gone into the decor and fixtures, which are all of high quality.

On check in we were shown to our room by a friendly staff member. The bedroom had two tub chairs for relaxing in, something which is often overlooked in hotels and had a warm and welcoming atmosphere. The bathroom was a tad on the small side but perfectly adequate, and both the bedroom and bathroom were scrupulously clean.

We didn't eat in the restaurant in the evening but had breakfast both days..........Superb!!!!!

The location is terrific, being less than a ten minute walk to the town centre with it's plethora of bars and restaurants, and even less to the HIC.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank EV97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 9, 2014

I am reviewing this for the food rather than the accomodation as I havent stayed here.

We have been on numerous occassions over the years for family Birthdays and Easter Sunday etc. The meals we have had are Sunday lunch and have are always of the highest quality. The choice is good with often choice of 5 mains including Beef, Pork, Chicken, Lamb, Fish and vegetarian. Whatever you choose the meat is of high quality with plenty of fresh veg, crispy roasties and huge Yorkshires. Everyone in our family feels the same about the Ascot House Hotel, hence why we keep going back!

Service is great and just creates a very relaxed meal. The owner is very attentive and friendly.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Louisa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Harrogate hotels
0.8 mi away
The West Park Hotel
The West Park Hotel
#2 of 30 in Harrogate
586 reviews
2.6 mi away
Rudding Park Hotel
Rudding Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Follifoot
4,531 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#14 of 30 in Harrogate
1,257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Cedar Court Hotel
0.5 mi away
Studley Hotel and Orchid Restaurant
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Harrogate
Crowne Plaza Harrogate
#11 of 30 in Harrogate
105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ascot House Hotel Harrogate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ascot House Hotel Harrogate

Property: Ascot House Hotel Harrogate
Address: 53 Kings Road, Harrogate HG1 5HJ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Harrogate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Harrogate
#2 Family Hotel in Harrogate
#3 Best Value Hotel in Harrogate
#5 Business Hotel in Harrogate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ascot House Hotel Harrogate 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cheap Tickets and HRS so you can book your Ascot House Hotel Harrogate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ascot Hotel Harrogate
Ascot House Hotel Harrogate Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing