We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel and great meal”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ascot House Hotel Harrogate
Ranked #3 of 30 Hotels in Harrogate
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 22, 2013

We stayed for one night just after Easter. We don't usually have evening meals at hotels we visit - we prefer to go out - but I was glad that we chose to 'eat in' here. The evening meal that we had was brilliant. Breakfast was good too. The hotel was a goood location to explore Harrogate, with plenty of parking and not too much of a walk from the town centre. Room was plenty spacious enough and everything clean; staff all friendly and helpful

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Schnoodel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (913)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

606 - 612 of 913 reviews

Reviewed April 21, 2013

We were particularly impressed by the staff at the hotel, who were friendly, welcoming, helpful and professional throughout our three nights stay. Our room (27) was lovely - well decorated and furnished and with everything we needed. Enormous, comfortable bed. Impressive standard of housekeeping. Quiet and peaceful.
Meals were also excellent - pleasant dining room, lovely breakfast and good menu for evening meal, especially considering this is not a large hotel. Bar was also a good place to start the evening. We would recommend this hotel as an excellent and better alternative to the usual large chains. A real treat! 

Room Tip: Room 27 on the top floor was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Witchend1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2013

Ascot House was chosen by Rotary District 1040 Rotarians for a weekend stay to attend the National Rotary RIBI Conference at the Harrogate international Conference Centre. The hotel is homely with a friendly and attentive staff. The meal quality is very good value and the hotel clearly has a clientelle base. There are bar facilities.

Room Tip: Room 9 is in a good quiet position. The en suite provides bath and shower and there is a small ward...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2013

I can highly recommend this family run hotel. Stayed here this weekend and everything was wonderful. Good food, great service, friendly staff and comfortable rooms.
With car parking and a location close to the shops it is a fabulous!

It is so good we will be returning again soon!

Room Tip: The turret room is wonderful
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chrissie21Yorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2013

We stayed for just one night, but really couldn't fault this hotel. It has a well decorated, light and pleasant atmosphere. We had one of the rooms right at the top which some have complained about. Personally I thought it was a spacious clean and pleasant room which had been very well adapted considering the tight roof lines in places. And if you have a room at the top of an old house you expect some stairs - keeps you fit!
The staff were all pleasant and efficient, and the breakfast absolutely first class. In the evening we had a drink in the large bar and the cost of that was good compared to some hotel bar prices. We didn't eat in the hotel in the evening so I can't comment on that. Instead we found an excellent Italian at the bottom of the hill opposite the conference centre. Finally considering that Harrogate is not a cheap place to stay, the price of our stay was very reasonable. We will be back.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ManOfClay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for two nights.We could not fault it from arrival to departure, exceptionally pleasant staff, spotlessly clean rooms and superb food. When we are in the area again we shall certainly stay here.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ruianCheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2013

I trusted the reviews on this website when booking the Ascot House Hotel in Harrogate. You were not wrong; this is a gem of a place, elegant and charming, in a good location a short walk from the shops. There's a lovely bar/restaurant just a few hundred yards from the hotel (Signatures) which was ideal for a mother and daughter walking back from the town centre in the early evening. Our room was tastefully decorated; the whole place marries seamlessly the traditional and the mod cons we've all come to expect. We loved this place; the staff are friendly and the service excellent. Breakfast was lovely. We're very tall and the bathroom ceiling in room 28 slanted (we were in the eaves) and we did need to be careful (my daughter did know her head once) so, if you're very tall you might want to ask whether there is another room available. But this didn't, by any means, spoil our stay and the room itself was gorgeous ... in fact it was like having a mini suite because between the bedroom and the bathroom was a small sitting room, with it's own TV, that we thought delightful. The place has history and the stained glass window on the landing is stunning. A good place to stay.

Room Tip: Room 28 is in the eaves and, if you're very tall, you might find the bathroom a bit awkward. Bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Julie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Harrogate hotels
0.8 mi away
The West Park Hotel
The West Park Hotel
#2 of 30 in Harrogate
629 reviews
0.2 mi away
Crowne Plaza Harrogate
Crowne Plaza Harrogate
#7 of 30 in Harrogate
210 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#14 of 30 in Harrogate
1,324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Rudding Park Hotel
Rudding Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Follifoot
4,679 reviews
0.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Cedar Court Hotel
0.1 mi away
Kimberley Hotel
Kimberley Hotel
#6 of 30 in Harrogate
1,752 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ascot House Hotel Harrogate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ascot House Hotel Harrogate

Address: 53 Kings Road, Harrogate HG1 5HJ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Harrogate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Harrogate
#2 Romantic Hotel in Harrogate
#3 Best Value Hotel in Harrogate
#5 Business Hotel in Harrogate
Price Range: $90 - $146 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ascot House Hotel Harrogate 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Evoline ltd and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Ascot House Hotel Harrogate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ascot Hotel Harrogate
Ascot House Hotel Harrogate Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing