We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very comfortable”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ascot House Hotel Harrogate
Ranked #3 of 30 Hotels in Harrogate
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Very comfortable”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2012

A very clean and comfortable hotel within short walk of Harrogate town centre. I do not like UHT milk that so many hotels provide with the 'in room' tea tray, but this was not a problem as I was brought a jug of fresh milk - super service. I only stayed one night as I was en route, but would love to spend a long weekend there.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank minder9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

862 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    669
    159
    26
    6
    2
See reviews for
95
538
25
82
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (186)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Barrow in Furness, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2012

Stayed on Friday 16th November and for the price, was excellent value for money. Upon arrival, we were greeted with a very warm welcome. The room was excellent, well equipped, warm and inviting and also very quiet. Breakfast was very good, and again, the staff were efficient and friendly and couldn't do enough for us. Ascot house is a Jewel and we will definitely return.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karl W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keswick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2012

Just returned from two nights at Ascot House after spending three nights there in August,once again the service,food,cleanliness was top notch.If you book in for b&b be sure to have dinner there as well,the food is delicious.Also the best nights sleep on a lovely comfortable bed.If in Harrogate give the Ascot a try,you will not regret it.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 9 in August and 19 in November both were clean and very comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Morag E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Altrincham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2012

I recently took a group (retired males) for a 2 night, 3 day golfing break in Harrogate.
I am SO PLEASED that I chose this hotel for our stay (I had been to Harrogate & done a survey of several who were interested in having us).
Everything was perfect. ALL the rooms & ensuites were superb. The dinner we had on our first night was very good.

All personnel really showed that they are proud of their hotel, and could not do enough to help.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pantastic1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Level Contributor
120 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2012

Stayed recently for 3 nights. Location is perfect for Harrogate town centre which you can walk to within 10 mins. The room was clean and the bed comfortable. Bathroom likewise with possibly the most fluffiest towels I have ever used in a hotel. Good restraunt with choices of 3 course meals to suit all tastes. The food was excelent freshly prepared to order and served by polite and friendly waiters and waitresses. If I had one very small complaint it would be the choice of music played in the restraunt but for everything else I can tell you that was a very small price to pay.
There is on site parking but if you have a particularly large car or are not a good parker there is room in the side street. Local attractions well worth a visit Fountains Abbey and Sudley Royal, Brimham Rocks and Colstone Cut all within about 1/2 hour. If you want to go to York use the park and ride.
There are lots of hotels to choose from in Harrogate, this one certainly lives up to its reputation as the best.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank shelemar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2012

My husband booked the Turret room as a birthday surprise. We arrived an hour early just expecting to drop our luggage off and return later, we were greeted by a lovely lady who checked to see if our room was ready and it was. What a fabulous room, good quality furnishings, bedding and towels. Spotlessly clean throughout. Plenty of tea, coffee and biscuits + a jar of sweets ( nice touch). Breakfast was great, plenty of lovely fresh good quality ingredients and nothing was too much trouble. Bar prices good value too unlike most other hotels we have stayed in. Only 10 min walk into Harrogate and only £4.00 for taxi to railway station. I really can't fault this hotel and will recommend to friends. The only down side was we only stayed 2 nights. We hope to be back soon

Room Tip: If possible book room 22 The Turett Room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Beverly H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amersham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2012

We stayed in the twin room above the lounge. Attractive view of the trees and houses across the road, which is pleasant for a city hotel. The most comfortable bed I have had in a hotel for a while.
Bathroom made the most of the space available, (difficult in conversions I think to make bathrooms look as though they are meant to be there.). Clean and elegant decor.
Staff friendly, smiley and efficient. Great breakfast with good choices, although I was a little confused that when I changed my choice to just mushrooms, tomato and baked beans the portion sizes didn't increase. It looked very lonely on the plate!
Very easy walk into harrogate, it felt safe at night even in fog (as I called it, slight mist as my Yorkshire friend termed it.) They were happy to store our cases on our last day, and also called us a cab when we went back for them. Will definitely be going back. A home from home.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fionahw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Harrogate hotels
2.6 mi away
Rudding Park Hotel
Rudding Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Follifoot
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4,452 reviews
0.8 mi away
The West Park Hotel
The West Park Hotel
#2 of 30 in Harrogate
4.5 of 5 bubbles 569 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#12 of 30 in Harrogate
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Studley Hotel and Orchid Restaurant
0.3 mi away
The Majestic Hotel
The Majestic Hotel
#16 of 30 in Harrogate
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,608 reviews
0.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Cedar Court Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ascot House Hotel Harrogate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ascot House Hotel Harrogate

Property: Ascot House Hotel Harrogate
Address: 53 Kings Road, Harrogate HG1 5HJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Harrogate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Harrogate
#2 Romantic Hotel in Harrogate
#2 Family Hotel in Harrogate
#5 Business Hotel in Harrogate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ascot House Hotel Harrogate 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Ascot House Hotel Harrogate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ascot Hotel Harrogate
Ascot House Hotel Harrogate Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing