We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Short Break”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ascot House Hotel Harrogate
Ranked #3 of 30 Hotels in Harrogate
Certificate of Excellence
Chorley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Short Break”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2012

Just returned from 2 nights at Ascot House. Having visited Harrogate many times this is the
best hotel we have stayed at. The room was comfortable, spotlessly clean the food was
excellent and the staff very helpful, even arranged an early dinner for us before a visit to
the theatre.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gill60_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

863 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    670
    159
    26
    6
    2
See reviews for
96
538
25
82
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (186)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2012

I have to post this review... but I hope I can get a room next time I visit!
We arrived later than intended having got caught in traffic on the M1. We were served with soup and desserts in the bar. The soup was lovely and hot, with crispy croutons and warm rolls. The presentation of the desserts was beautiful, and they tasted so good. Our only regret was due to commitments we did not get to have dinner in the dining room during our stay, maybe next time...
Our room, number 28, is at the top at the front of the house. I loved it and my 6' husband soon learned where the ceilings sloped. The hotel was warm and cosy. The bed linens and towels luxurious and clean. There was ample hot water. The tea tray was well stocked, with different cookies each day.
The dining room is so well presented at breakfast. There is a good selection of juice, cereal etc without going OTT. I had porridge one day and it was delightfully creamy, with a side of Golden Syrup. The cooked breakfasts were super, and served on proper hot plates.
It is the little things and the attention to detail that make all the difference, and The Ascot House Hotel has truly impressed me.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank londonnewbride2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2012

Stayed here during the Christmas period. The hotel is located about a 10 minute walk from the station.

We had a lovely stay here. The staff were extremely helpful and friendly. The room was comfortable, although small, and the decor was slightly dated but this did not matter. Lots of sockets in the room for phone and laptop chargers and free wifi is included. The beds are comfortable and there is a bath (as well as shower) in the en-suite which is excellent. Breakfast is very good indeed.

The price was extremely reasonable, and we would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank IneffableAppetite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
66 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2012

A nicely presented hotel, comfortable rooms andan enjoyable dinner set menu. The maitre de was exceptionally friendly and really looked after us.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Stuart P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2012

We booked for a long weekend based on trip advisor: everyone was right! For the standard of hotel and money paid this was excellent. Standard room had king sized bed, ensuite with bath, VERY large walk in wardrobe, tea and coffee making facilities and was well heated. Highlights included good free wifi, the welcome (we arrived late and we were made lovely steak sandwiches at 9:30) and especially the food which is a complete bargain for the standard of food presentation and quality. The slow cooked pork and steak were especially memorable: all served with panache in presentation worthy of masterchef.
I must also complement the wine list which clearly had been the object of thought. The house red was excellent but interesting varietals for only £16-17 were even better.
Breakfasts are also excellent.
My partner was solicitously looked after when he cut his leg while out running.
The owners have clearly made this a labour of love in the little details, and although the decor was nice, I note new radiators arrived duing the stay, and so suspect there is a rolling improvement programme to improve the shared spaces even further.
We will certainly book again if in the area. We were in one of the standard rooms, so would love to come back to the luxury ones!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank danberney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2012

Carlsberg don't do hotels, but if they did.......

Arrival: We arrived early and went into the hotel to see if it was ok to park. Not only were we reassured about the parking, the very helpful lady on reception went upstairs to see if our room was available, of which it was.

Room: We were in room 12 which was clean, comfortable and nicely decorated. A real hairdryer, plenty of plug sockets and a clean spacious bathroom.

Bar & Restaurant: We had a drink in the bar before having our evening meal, the drinks & service were excellent and the prices were similar to pub prices (£3.40 Pint Guinness). The 3 course meal is excellent value at £22, and I have been to restaurants where they charge this sum for the main course alone. The quality of the food was again excellent, & is easily one of the best meals we have ever had.

Breakfast: The breakfast of help your self cereals, fruit & juices followed by a cooked to order breakfast, is the perfect way to start the day.

Overall this hotel is nothing short of superb & we will definately be returning

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank alcopop10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2012

We couldn't complain about anything. Great hosts, great room, great food, great price!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank pw516
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Harrogate hotels
2.6 mi away
Rudding Park Hotel
Rudding Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Follifoot
5.0 of 5 bubbles 4,455 reviews
0.8 mi away
The West Park Hotel
The West Park Hotel
#2 of 30 in Harrogate
4.5 of 5 bubbles 570 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#12 of 30 in Harrogate
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Studley Hotel and Orchid Restaurant
0.3 mi away
The Majestic Hotel
The Majestic Hotel
#16 of 30 in Harrogate
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,610 reviews
0.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Cedar Court Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ascot House Hotel Harrogate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ascot House Hotel Harrogate

Property: Ascot House Hotel Harrogate
Address: 53 Kings Road, Harrogate HG1 5HJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Harrogate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Harrogate
#2 Romantic Hotel in Harrogate
#2 Family Hotel in Harrogate
#5 Business Hotel in Harrogate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ascot House Hotel Harrogate 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Ascot House Hotel Harrogate reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ascot Hotel Harrogate
Ascot House Hotel Harrogate Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing