We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent centrally located hotel”
Review of The Majestic Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Majestic Hotel
Ranked #18 of 30 Hotels in Harrogate
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Excellent centrally located hotel”
Reviewed January 25, 2014

An overnight stay on a travelzoo package including dinner with wine. Room very good size with king size comfy bed & brilliant view over front of the hotel, large clean bathroom with lashings of hot water. Staff very helpful and friendly. Dinner was excellent quality & waiter more than happy to serve small carafe of both red & white wine to accommodate our different taste. Breakfast was delicious with healthy options available together with all the usual delicious not so healthy suspects for those not feeling guilty after Christmas indulgences. Harrogate cente only a 5 minute walk away with a good variety of shops ( including a good range of independent shops) and plenty of pubs & restaurants. This big, grand hotel is clean, well decorated and lovingly maintained - a lovely place to stay.

Room Tip: There is some construction work being carried out close to the hotel but we were not disturbed at al...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mlawsonmags
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
V_Johnson_GM, General Manager at The Majestic Hotel, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Dear mlawsonmags,

Thank you for posting your review of the Majestic Hotel, Harrogate. It was a pleasure to read and so glad to see that our team were accommodating to your needs.

They will enjoy your acknowledgement and it encourages them to provide great service.

Hoping to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards, Vince
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,691 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    755
    887
    552
    305
    192
See reviews for
335
1,409
34
345
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (684)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2014

It was my husbands 70th birthday on thursday and i planned an over night stay with dinner bed and breakfast . He could'nt have been more pleased with his stay (being a very picky person) he could find no faults at all much to my delight. The room was beautiful the food very nice indeed the staff exceptional and the whole experience was fantastic. Would definately book here again without hesitation ,our thanks to all at the Majestic

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marlowe78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
V_Johnson_GM, General Manager at The Majestic Hotel, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Dear marlowe78,

Thank you for psoting your 5 star review of the Majestic Hotel. I'm really pleased that you were delighted with your choise for such a special occasion and hope to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards, Vince
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WALES
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed January 22, 2014

We stayed at the spacious and welcoming Majestic prior to Christmas. Our room was extremely comfortable, peaceful and with a modern bathroom - superb.
The food was very good and the hotel 's close proximity to Harrogate was a bonus.The Staff were friendly and helpful. We will hopefully make a return visit to this lovely hotel and explore more of the area.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CELTICDUO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
V_Johnson_GM, General Manager at The Majestic Hotel, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Dear CELTICDUO,

Thank you for posting your 5 star review of the Majestic Hotel, Harrogate. I'm really pleased that you had such an enjoyable pre Christmas stay and hope to welcome you back in warmer times when there is so much to explore locally.

Looking forward to welcomeing you back.

Kind regards, Vince
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate
1 review
Reviewed January 22, 2014

Beautifully grand hotel, five minute walk to Harrogate centre. Could do with updating in some of the rooms, ours was a bit tired looking but comfy bed and very clean. Walls very thin, could hear conversations of people walking down corridors, and toilet made funny noise when flushed but nothing that would put us off staying again. Fantastic breakfast, parking on site (£3.50 per day), elegant staircases and chandeliers everywhere, efficient staff. Paid a little more than would for normal weekend away, but would definitely recommend for a special occasion!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Rebekah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
V_Johnson_GM, General Manager at The Majestic Hotel, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Dear Rebekah M,

Thank you for psoting your review of the Majestic Hotel. I'm so pleased that you chose to visit us and glad that you enjoyed this visit.

Hoping to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards, Vince
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chippenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
468 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 310 helpful votes
Reviewed January 21, 2014

We booked their dinner B&B with a free bottle of wine deal when we stopped off on a journey north to Scotland. Much better than a dreary motorway motel!
This listed Victorian hotel has been tastefully restored following a major fire several years ago. You would never know there had been a fire and major water damage.
Pluses – Atmospheric rooms (particularly the dining area); friendly staff; great Table d’hôte dinner; big bedroom; big buffet breakfast; great value at £115.20 wine inlcuded
Minuses – Charged for car parking (only £3.50 but a bit miserly); charged a £2.50 credit card fee (c’mon, who doesn’t pay by card these days!).

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travlintone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
V_Johnson_GM, General Manager at The Majestic Hotel, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Dear Travlintone,

Thank you very much for your 5 star review of the Majestic Hotel. We do have some extremely good deals on offer especially at this time of year and I'm very glad you took advantage of one.

Where clients are seeking our best value this does mean that certain elements such as car parking which many of our competitors cannot provide, are treated separately. We do try to keep the costs down.

On credit card payments, I'm afraid everyone charges now as the transaction costs 1-2% and more are so much higher than the debit transcations costs (20p)

Overall I hope you were still pelased with the value and will return soon.

Kind regards, Vince
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louth, Lincolnshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2014

Excellent 3 day break with very comfortable room and modern bathroom overlooking the front gardens of this very grand hotel. Very friendly service and excellent evening meal and breakfast ( all part of a 'Telegraph' deal)swimming pool a bonus and the pleasures of Harrogate on the doorstep..

Room Tip: Premium room on first floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Burwellhouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
V_Johnson_GM, General Manager at The Majestic Hotel, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
Dear Burwellhouse,

Thank you for posting your review of the Majestic Hotel, Harrogate. It was a pleasure to see that we met your expectations and hope to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards, Vince
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate
1 review
Reviewed January 20, 2014

Absolute great hotel... friendly staff, great service.....would be my first choice of hotel to stop in when passing by Harrogate. Thank you for a wonderful stay, A big thank you to Catherine Mansfield for all her support and hospitality...... Myself and MDG Entertainment where guest to a wedding... this where a great venue... Michael Gladman

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Michael G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
V_Johnson_GM, General Manager at The Majestic Hotel, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Dear Michael G,

Thank you so much for your 5 star review. Your recognition of Katherine is really appreciated and she is without doubt a real asset to our hotel.

We'll look forward to wecloming you back when you are next passing by.

Kind regards, Vince
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Harrogate hotels
0.2 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#14 of 30 in Harrogate
1,259 reviews
0.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Cedar Court Hotel
0.1 mi away
Crowne Plaza Harrogate
Crowne Plaza Harrogate
#10 of 30 in Harrogate
107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Rudding Park Hotel
Rudding Park Hotel
#1 of 1 in Follifoot
4,534 reviews
0.6 mi away
The West Park Hotel
The West Park Hotel
#2 of 30 in Harrogate
588 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ascot House Hotel Harrogate
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Majestic Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Majestic Hotel

Property: The Majestic Hotel
Address: Ripon Road, Harrogate HG1 2HU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Harrogate
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Harrogate
#6 Romantic Hotel in Harrogate
#6 Family Hotel in Harrogate
#9 Luxury Hotel in Harrogate
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Majestic Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 170
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Victorian landmark, the four-star Majestic Hotel has 170 bedrooms and sits in 12 acres of landscaped grounds in the centre of the spa town of Harrogate. Just a mile from the train station and 10 minutes walk from the famous Betty’s Tea Rooms, it’s the perfect location to enjoy Harrogate’s quaint shops and spas; and you can also venture out to the wild landscape of the Yorkshire Dales. With a pool, jacuzzi, steam room and beauty salon, as well as tea rooms, a bar and the Majestic Restaurant there’s everything you need to relax after a day of sightseeing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your The Majestic Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Harrogate
Majestic Hotel Harrogate
The Majestic Hotel Harrogate, Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing